Chachic's Book Nook

Europe 2014: Barcelona Update

13 Comments

Hola! After Paris, the next leg of our trip was Barcelona. To be perfectly honest, I wasn’t really excited to visit Barcelona because I hadn’t heard a lot about the city. As a result, I was pleasantly surprised at how vibrant the city was. It’s a place where we found delicious food (all those Spanish dishes like tapas, jamon and paella), architectural masterpieces, lovely artwork and warm, friendly people.

A book I’ve read set in Barcelona:
The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

A book set in Spain that is in my wishlist:
Small Damages by Beth Kephart

I would gladly go back to Barcelona just for the food:
Barcelona - tapasBarcelona - pintxos Barcelona - paella Barcelona - jamon

There were so many creative and original art pieces all over the city and I was tempted to get some as souvenirs but decided not to since I don’t really have a place of my own to display them in.

Barcelona - graffiti Barcelona - portrait Barcelona - original ar

Plaça de Catalunya is a lovely park for tourists and locals:

Barcelona - Plaça de Catalunya Barcelona - Plaça de Catalunya (2)

A post about Barcelona would not be complete without talking about the architect Gaudi. I wasn’t familiar with Gaudi’s work prior to our trip in Barcelona but I’m impressed by his style. I like how he was inspired by nature and how there’s an almost whimsical aspect to his designs, making them seem like objects out of fantasy novels. Some shots from Casa Museu Gaudi:

Barcelona - Casa Museu Gaudi Barcelona - Casa Museu Gaudi2

Casa Batllo, probably my favorite Gaudi-designed house:
Barcelona - Casa Batllo Barcelona - Casa Batllo (2)

And of course, the awe-inspiring Sagrada Familia, which is still under construction after more than a hundred years:
Barcelona - Sagrada Familia1 Barcelona - Sagrada Familia2 Barcelona - Sagrada Familia Barcelona - Sagrada Familia

Have you been to Barcelona? What were your favorite aspects of the city? Have you read books set in Barcelona or Spain that you think I will enjoy reading?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

13 thoughts on “Europe 2014: Barcelona Update

  1. I know of Barcelona because of the soccer team in the Spanish La Liga. That’s my favorite team. I would love to one day go to a game in Barcelona. I’m jealous of you!

    I saw yesterday in your post about Paris that you had listed some books set in Paris for you to read. I would recommend Charles Dickens’ classic A Tale of Two Cities as one of the cities was Paris(the other London). It is set during the French Revolution.

    • LOL I didn’t even pay attention to anything sports-related in Barcelona. But if your favorite team is there, then I hope you get to visit it someday.

      I don’t read a lot of classics but thanks for the recommendation! I think that’s one of the titles that I missed reading when I was younger.

      • If you enjoy books, you should try some of the classics. You really begin to understand some of the modern references to things like ‘Achilles’ Heel’ and ‘Quixotic’ when you are fluent in the language of Homer’s Iliad and Miguel De Cervantes’ Don Quixote. I came to have an understanding of how truly terrible the French Revolution was for the nobles and elites by reading Dickens’ A Tale of Two Cities.

        Just my two cents! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Europe 2014: Milan Update | Chachic's Book Nook

  3. The food in Barcelona looks AMAZING! I felt my mouth watering as you listed the various foods you guys tried while you were there, and I took mental notes to try them someday too. Actually, I do want to visit Barcelona, and Gaudi happens to be a big reason why! I’m fascinated by his aesthetic.

    • Oh yes, loved the food in Barcelona. I wouldn’t mind having paella on a daily basis. There was also a sandwhich place near the flat where we stayed at and even that was really good (and affordable) – they used feta cheese and had avocado sauce. You’ll love Barcelona if you’re a Gaudi fan, you can do a walking tour like we did. 😀 I wish there were YA books set in Barcelona, those would be fun to read.

  4. Pingback: Isla and the Happily Ever by Stephanie Perkins | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Best of 2014 | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. My friends just visited Barcelona last month and have got me intrigued about it! I’m not really a foodie–need external influence for that–but I love cities with great, vibrant architecture. Oh, and a pivotal scene from Isla and the Happily Ever After is set in Barcelona.

    • I’m sorry I missed replying to your comment! Yeah, you should definitely visit Barcelona if you’re into architecture. You’ll have fun looking at the buildings there. And yep, I remember that scene from Isla. Sadly, I thought the descriptions of Barcelona in that book were a bit weak.

  7. Pingback: I’m Off to Experience Life as Karou | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: Europe 2014: Aix-en-Provence Update | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Europe 2015: Kutna Hora Update | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

