Chachic's Book Nook

Europe 2014: Paris Update

22 Comments

Bonjour! There are so many things that I want to share about my first time in Europe, I don’t even know where to start. I thought I would do an update of each city that we visited. These will be picture-heavy posts, mostly from my Instagram account. It’s funny because at the end of each day, I would spend time uploading pictures (staying up late to do so) because I wanted to write captions while everything was still fresh in my mind. To make these travel posts a little more book-themed, I thought it would be a good idea to include a list of books I’ve read/plan to read set in the cities we visited.

Books I’ve read set in Paris:
Amour et Chocolat series by Laura Florand – All’s Fair in Love and Chocolate, The Chocolate Thief, The Chocolate Kiss, The Chocolate Rose, The Chocolate Touch, The Chocolate Heart, The Chocolate Temptation
Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
Just One Day by Gayle Forman

Books set in Paris that are in my TBR pile:
The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris by Jenny Colgan

Ahh, Paris. I feel like Paris will always have a special place in my heart since it was the first European city that I visited. It’s such a beautiful city, oozing with its own charm – even a normal street or building looked wonderful in my eyes. I was surprised at how well-kept the old structures are – the bridges, the palaces, the museums, etc. We don’t really have things like that in the Philippines. But then again, we probably get more natural calamities like typhoons and earthquakes back home. Moving on to the pictures…

Here’s the iconic Eiffel Tower – before and after dinner shots, with the latter captioned by my friend as “Does the moonlight shine on Paris?”

Paris - Eiffel1 Paris - Eiffel2

Sacré-Coeur and around the Montmartre area:

Paris - Sacre Coeur Paris - view from Sacre Coeur Paris - Montmartre Paris - carousel

Arc de triomphe and Champs Elysee:

Paris - Arc de triomphe Paris - Champs Elysee2

The opulence of the Palace of Versailles:

Paris - Versailles1 Paris - Versailles2 Paris - Versailles3 Paris - Versailles4

Museums Orsay and Louvre – the former was previously a train station while the latter was a palace:

Paris - Orsay Paris - Louvre

Notre Dame and Point Zero, as mentioned in Anna and the French Kiss:

Paris - Notre Dame Paris - Point Zero

The bookstore Shakespeare and Company – several friends who knew I was in Paris kept saying that I should visit this place. What’s great is that all five of us ended up buying something from this bookstore:

Paris - Shakespeare and Company Paris - Shakespeare and Company2 Paris - Shakespeare and Company3 Paris - Shakespeare and Company4

Hope you had fun going through these pictures. They were all taken using my phone camera and some filters were applied in Instagram. If you know of any books set in Paris that you think I’ll enjoy reading, please feel free to recommend them!

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

22 thoughts on “Europe 2014: Paris Update

  1. Yay, lovely pictures. I think I’m going to be going to some of the same places. 🙂 Excited to check out Shakespeare & Co as well.

    • I’m glad you like them! I really wish we were in Paris at the same time. Let me know what your itinerary is and maybe I can give you tips? 😛 Will you be in the Paris the whole time or will you travel to other cities as well?

      Shakespeare and Company stamps the books that you buy from them, which is nice because the books can serve as souvenirs. 🙂 My friends and I all bought collector’s editions of The Little Prince then I also got American Gods. They also have nice postcards that feature the store.

      • Well, I would like to go to Shakespeare and Co. And INSIDE the Louvre (and perhaps the Musee d’ Orsay) because last time we just walked by since we didn’t have time (we were only there 2 days I think). We’ve been to Notre Dame, the Catacombs, seen the Eiffel Tower (but we too lazy to go up!), and the Arc de triomphe and Champs Elysee.. but I think some of those might be revisited if we’re going with the parents/sister. I think I’d like to spend maybe a couple of days doing the tourist thing and then a couple of days like.. walking and just exploring possibly? If you have suggestions would love to hear them! 🙂 Will be in Paris 5 1/2 days – but one day is the wedding, and then in London / Bath for a week after that.

      • Also: It would have been SO COOL if we were there the same time! Argh, right now I’m stressing majorly about the wedding though. I have the dress etc, but it’s like: makeup, a purse, do these shoes go etc.. and a lot of last min decisions going on here.

      • Oh you’re going to Paris for a wedding! Who is getting married? I can understand the stress, I get the same way when I have to attend a wedding.

        Yes, definitely go to Shakespeare and Company. We weren’t able to go inside Notre Dame since they were closed when we got there. We also didn’t go up the Eiffel Tower, just took pictures from the viewing deck. I think going inside both the Louvre and Orsay is a good idea. The Louvre is very grand and I liked the sculptures inside but I prefer the impressionist paintings in Orsay and wish I got to spend more time in that gallery. Will you be going to Versailles as well? If you’re planning to go to several museums/monuments, the Paris Museum Pass would be a good idea: http://en.parismuseumpass.com/ We got the 2-day pass and we were able to use it in the Louvre, Orsay and Versailles.

        Walking around sounds like a good idea – we did a fair bit of that. My feet were killing me at the end of each day. I liked the Montmartre are leading up to Sacré-Coeur, there are some nice cafes and shops there.

        I haven’t been to London or anywhere in the UK – we didn’t plan on going there since that requires a different kind of visa for us. Hope you have fun there though!

  2. I’m loving the tidbits of your trip to Europe that you’ve shared! It sounded like you had an AMAZING time.

  3. Great photos! I love Paris. If you get back, try to browse through the books sold by the bouquinistes, the book sellers in green stalls along the River Seine. They have an interesting history. 🙂 Best of luck to you, and happy travels!

  4. Ah, I miss this place. It was too bad I only got to stay there for a day (and my camera ran out of batteries, too, pfft). Definitely going back here when we go to Europe for WYD again. 🙂

    • You only got to stay in Paris for one day? That’s not enough time! Although you kind of had a Gayle Forman moment right there. 😛 Are you planning to go back to Europe for WYD anytime soon?

      • Well, I got to stay for 2 nights, but it’s just one full day of touring. It was a short stopover for our trip, since my friend and I had to go to Vienna the following day. That’s why when I go back, I really plan to stay longer 🙂 And yep, planning to attend WYD again! It’s in Krakow, Poland in 2016, so there’s still time to save. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Europe 2014: Milan Update | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Snapshot From a Book: The Chocolate Touch | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: Amour et Florand: How did you discover Laura’s books? | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: Best of 2014 | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: I’m Off to Experience Life as Karou | Chachic's Book Nook

  10. Pingback: Europe 2014: Aix-en-Provence Update | Chachic's Book Nook

  11. Pingback: Europe 2015: Prague Update | Chachic's Book Nook

  12. Pingback: Europe 2015: Kutna Hora Update | Chachic's Book Nook

  13. Pingback: Top Ten Places I Want to Visit Because of Books | Chachic's Book Nook

  14. Pingback: Loveless. Childless. Clueless. by Miren B. Flores | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

