Chachic's Book Nook

Top Ten Books in Sci-Fi

13 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week, we got to choose what genre to focus on for our lists. I wanted to highlight sci-fi because it’s a genre that I haven’t fully explored. In no particular order, here are the sci-fi books that I’ve enjoyed reading:

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Silent Blade by Ilona Andrews

Silver Shark by Ilona Andrews

Touchstone trilogy by Andrea K. Höst

And All the Stars by Andrea K. Höst

Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Song of Scarabaeus by Sara Creasy

Young Miles by Lois McMaster Bujold

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

… and I’m one short. I couldn’t even make it to ten! I wasn’t sure if dystopian or post-apocalyptic novels are considered sci-fi so I decided not to include them (in any case, I haven’t read a lot in that sub-genre either). I guess it’s pretty obvious that I need to read more from this genre. Would you happen to have any recommendations for me based on the titles listed above? Connie Willis and Linnea Sinclair are already on my TBR pile.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Books in Sci-Fi

  1. I haven’t heard of some of these and I tackled this genre as well. I’m kind of guilty for lumping everything under the science-fiction/speculative-fiction umbrella. Close enough, right?

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    • Oh you did sci-fi as well! I would have to check out your post. I believe speculative fiction is the umbrella term and sci-fi and fantasy fall under that. I ruled out fantasy as my genre choice for this week because it would be difficult to narrow down my favorites to just ten, I love way too many fantasy novels.

  2. Sharon Lee and Steve Miller’s Liaden Universe – start with Agent of Change, although that’s not the official starting point, it is were things take off, I think. (It’s like Kate Daniels, even the authors suggest starting with book 2 these days). The Liaden Universe books also usually have an underlying romance included (and lots of capable women, but that goes without saying, otherwise I wouldn’t recommend in the first place).
    Be aware that if you like it there are many more books in the same universe, if not all with the same characters.
    https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/288771.Agent_of_Change?from_search=true

    • Love your comment about capable women! I think I’ve heard of this series before but I haven’t tried any of the books. I have to look up and see Agent of Change. So is the series like Kate Daniels, where you have to read the books in order? Or do they stand well enough on their own?

      • Certain of the sequences follow each other, but while the whole story follows one clan, there are time skips and more than one couple in the clan – the currently written books do pick up the overall plot and advance the timeline for all the couples involved. It’s a bit of a family saga focussed on romantic couples and because they have a destiny (it is space opera, after all) they get persecuted or go on the offensive and go after their enemies and try to find solutions to their problems.

        Some of the sequences stand alone, duologies or trilogies, but the overarching plot follows this one family.

        BAEN is offering various of the books free on their site (as a gateway drug ^^), Agent of Change is one of them (a ya series in the Liaden Universe also has its first book free: Fledgling – the protagonist there is related to the clan, although she doesn’t know it at the start, one of the previous heros shows up under a different name). It is NOT sf romance though, this series, beloved characters can die, though mostly they don’t.
        http://www.baenebooks.com/c-65-liaden-universe-series-by-sharon-lee-and-stever-miller.aspx
        Also great about the BAEN site – you can read about 12 chapters for free in all their linked single books and if you don’t know whether you like a book by then, I don’t know.

        But Agent of Change – here you can have it (in all formats, they even let you enter your Kindle e-mail and send it DIRECTLY to your Kindle) for free.

      • Thanks for clarifying things and providing more information about this series. That’s pretty neat that a free copy of Agent of Change is available in all formats! I should grab a copy of that so I can read it some time.

  3. I love Saga, and everything by Ilona Andrews or Lois McMaster Bujold. You might try Tanya Huff’s Confederation series. It has some interesting aliens, and a humorous space-military feel that reminds me of Miles a little.

    • I love Saga, and everything by Ilona Andrews or Lois McMaster Bujold. You might try Tanya Huff’s Confederation series. It has some interesting aliens, and a humorous space-military feel that reminds me of Miles a little.

      Yes to Ilona Andrews and Saga! Writing this post has made me want to reread Silent Blade and Silver Shark so I might just do that. I still need to read more of Bujold’s books, I’ve only read Young Miles. I’m planning to read the Cordelia books next when I find the time. Thanks for the Tanya Huff recommendation. 🙂

  4. Sci-fi is really not my thing. Evidence: the only one of these books I’ve read is A WRINKLE IN TIME.

    • Brandy, sci-fi is not really my thing either but because I enjoyed the books listed here, I thought I should try more from the genre. You haven’t been tempted to try the Vorkosigan Saga by Lois McMaster Bujold? That series keeps getting recommended in Sounis.

      I think you might enjoy reading Andrea K. Host’s novels even if you’re not a sci-fi fan, they’re pretty easy to get into. And I love reading Ilona Andrews’ books – I first fell in love with their Kate Daniels series and then devoured the rest of their novels.

  5. I agree with Estara about the Liaden books, and with Caitlinstern about Huff’s Valor series.

    The Chanur series by CJ Cherryh is one you might really enjoy, very SF and light on the romance, but I bet you would enjoy the female-centered society. Also CUCKOO’S EGG by the same author. Cherryh does the best alien species!

    Elizabeth Moon’s HUNTING PARTY or TRADING IN DANGER are easy to enjoy. THE SPEED OF DARK is completely different, not an adventure novel at all but a brilliant exploration of character, one of the best books I ever read.

    Brandy, you haven’t read the Vorkosigan books? ???!

    • Wow, thanks for all these recommendations! I should come back to this thread the next time I’m in the mood for some sci-fi, I’ll try and add these titles to my Goodreads wishlist so I can keep track of them. I still have some books on my TBR pile that I need to prioritize.

  6. Pingback: March 2014 Recap | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

