Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: Champion of the Rose

6 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I loved both the Touchstone trilogy and And All the Stars by Andrea K. Höst so I want to devour the rest of her books. I started reading her Medair duology this weekend because I wanted to be distracted by a good read. I’m about halfway through and I find Medair just as absorbing as her other books. I have a feeling I will want to dive into the rest of the novels that she’s written before the year is out. Next on my wishlist is Champion of the Rose.

Champion of the RoseHere’s the summary from Goodreads:

Soren Armitage is an anachronism. Proclaimed Rathen Champion by the Rathen Rose, intended to support the rule of a Rathen King or Queen.

But there are no Rathens.

Resigned to symbolising only Darest’s faded glories, Soren is not prepared for the sudden appearance of a Rathen. Now she must find and support the heir despite the machinations of the kingdom’s regent, sylvan curses, and the strange behaviour of once-dormant protective enchantments. While the odds seem stacked against her, Soren is determined to do her best to live up to the name of Rathen Champion. But what is she to do when it seems that there is something very wrong with her Rathen? Can she trust the person she is meant to protect?

What about you, what book is at the top of your wishlist? Have you recently come across an author you just want to glom into?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

6 thoughts on “Want Books: Champion of the Rose

  1. OK, so this sounds really good. Going on the (ridiculously long) TBR list.

    • Rosie! Try the other titles that I mentioned as well. And All the Stars and the Touchstone trilogy are sci fi but I think you’ll like them. I just finished the Medair duology (epic fantasy) and loved it as well.

  2. Champion of the Rose is good . . . but the sequel, Bones of the Fair, is definitely the one I preferred. I love having Aristide Couerveur take a more central role, and Gentian is a really strong protagonist, too.

  3. I seriously find that cover intriguing. I still haven’t read any Host novels, but your enthusiasm for them kind of wants to make me reconsider!

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

