Chachic's Book Nook

Favorite Literary Couples V

15 Comments

Okay, this post is really late. Every Valentine’s Day, I usually publish a list of my favorite fictional couples from the books that I’ve read in the past year. Unfortunately, the past week has been insanely busy and I wasn’t able to work on my list. During the work week, I was in Kuala Lumpur for a training program and then Saturday is moving day for me. Frankly, I’m exhausted and I’ve barely started unpacking. However, I wanted to put up this post before the end of the weekend. You can check out posts from years past through these links: 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013. Isn’t it awesome that I’ve been doing this for five years? πŸ™‚


Image from We Heart It

I’m so happy I discovered Laura Florand’s books early last year (I will be eternally grateful to my friend Michelle for the recommendation) because I adore her romances. They’re sweet, funny and absolutely delectable. Perfect for any reader who enjoys both love stories AND desserts. It’s SO hard for me to choose a favorite couple out of all the books that she’s written because I love them all. But I’ll narrow it down to two couples, one from each of her series: Jaime and Dominique from The Chocolate Touch (Amour et Chocolat) and Allegra and Raoul from A Rose in Winter (La Vie en Roses)

May and Ben from Truly by Ruthie Knox – I had so much fun reading this serial online. Really enjoyed the tension between May and Ben. I loved that eating good food is something that they both enjoy doing. My favorite scenes in the book were whenever Ben wanted to have May try a restaurant with dishes that she’s never had before.

Lily and Rule in the World of the Lupi series by Eileen Wilks – While these two got together fairly early in the series, what I love is how their relationship continued to grow as they learned more about each other. I also enjoyed getting little details about their lives like who prefers cleaning their place vs. doing laundry because of certain personality quirks. I also love that their families are such a huge part of their relationship.

Cassandra and Kaoren in the Touchstone trilogy by Andrea K. Host – Amazing slow burn romance. I’m a sucker for stoic and unreadable characters because you never know what’s going on under the surface. I’m excited to reread this trilogy and dive back into this world. Also looking forward to reading more of Andrea’s books – and hoping that they will also have love stories that I could root for.

Natividad and Ezekiel from Black Dog by Rachel Neumeier – This is a tentative and understated romance, they haven’t gotten together during the course of the book but I’m being hopeful that things will develop in the sequel. I can’t wait to read it! It would be interesting to find out more about Ezekiel.

Because I can never stick to just five, here are the runners-up:
Carrie and Brian from The Story Guy by Mary Ann Rivers
Story and Daniel from Officer off Limits by Tessa Bailey
Nyx and Ignifex from Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge
Cath and Levi from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Tiger Lily and Peter Pan from Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

That’s it for the romances that I fell in love with in the past months. Have you read some of the books mentioned here? Who would make it to your list of favorite couples if you had one? Hope you all had a great Valentine’s weekend. I’m off to read a few more chapters of The Chocolate Temptation by Laura Florand before going to sleep. Good thing I have some good chocolates on hand.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

15 thoughts on “Favorite Literary Couples V

  1. I did something a little different for my couples list this February. I played matchmaker and paired a literary character from one book with another. Hee hee. I haven’t read any of the books you’ve mentioned here, just yet. I am taking a little break from YA. Once I get back to it, I might just read me some Rainbow Rowell. Fangirl sounds charming, and Tiger Lily too. (chocolate covered pistacchios and almonds!)

    • Oooh matchmaker for characters from different books? Sounds interesting! Haha I’m not sure if I can wrap my head around that idea though. Whoa, you haven’t read any of the books I included in my list?! I would love for you to pick up any of these titles. πŸ˜€ I hope you end up loving the couple in them as much as I did. Half of the books here are adult titles in case you’re interested in them while you’re on YA break.

      The chocolates are delicious! But they aren’t chocolate-covered nuts, they’re chocolates with pistachio/almond/hazelnut filling. πŸ˜› Wish they were available in Singapore instead of just Malaysia.

  2. Yes Ezekiel-we need lots more of him. (Sarah Prineas has read the sequel already and said on Twitter Ezekiel fans will be happy with it.)

    It is hard to narrow down the couples in Laura’s books just one, isn’t it? I think Dom and Jaime’s story is my favorite so they would be my fav couple too. But Patrick is my favorite hero and Magalie is my favorite heroine.

    • I saw Sarah Prineas’ tweet about the sequel and I’m so jealous she got to read it already! Good to know there will be more of him in the next book. πŸ™‚

      Yep, so difficult to choose just two couples from all of Laura’s books – I love so many of them. Hmm I would have to think about who my favorite hero and heroine is. I finished The Chocolate Temptation just now and Patrick is in the running for my favorite hero. But I found Magalie a bit too stubborn towards the end. Maybe Cade or Allegra or Sarah? Argh, again it’s so hard.

  3. it’s so cool you have done this for five years now! i love this feature and think it doesnt matter how late you post it πŸ™‚

    i am not acquainted with so many of these (i think i am behind in my reading from not keeping in the loop last year).

    as for my list of fave couples, they would probably not be from romances. i tend to like random couples from contemporary titles. i have been thinking of doing a blog post on my fave couples. i like melina marchetta’s boys, and jaclyn moriartys πŸ™‚ plus cath crowley.

    • Nomes, isn’t it awesome? I’m glad I’ve still been able to do this list this year even though I don’t have as much time to blog.

      It would be lovely if you pick up any of these titles – I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you’ll like them. πŸ™‚

      Same for me! Not all of these books are romances (I just counted and four of them are while six aren’t). I usually just like couples and romance in the books that I read even if they’re not the focus. πŸ™‚ Melina Marchetta’s boys are quite amazing. Jonah and Tom. ♥ You have just reminded me that I need to read mroe Aussie YA.

  4. I’m fairly predictable when it comes to my favorite literary couples (and I have a vlog going up tomorrow highlighting some of them)! So, I’ll just comment on YOUR answers instead. I do love Cath and Levi (they were super cute!), and Nyx and Ignifex (they were complex and explosive!), but Tiger Lily and Peter Pan gave me the most feels.

    • Oooh I should check out that vlog post when it goes up! I’d be interested in finding out who your favorite fictional couples are. Yay, glad you agree with some of my choices. Cath and Levi were really cute, I really liked the college setting of their romance. I felt that Nyx and Ignifex’s love story was such a unique take on Beauty and Beast. I think Tiger Lily and Peter Pan’s romance was so bittersweet and the writing was just beautiful – I kept highlighting so many passages.

  5. I have been inhaling all of Laura Florand’s books too, having read 3 in the last few weeks. I don’t think I could choose a favourite couple though. Not all of her books work for me, but the ones I love I really, really love!

    • Oh yay, you’re going through Laura Florand’s books! That makes me happy. Which are the ones you’ve loved? πŸ™‚

      • It’s easier to say which ones I liked less than the others, which for me were The Chocolate Heart, The Chocolate Kiss and Snow Kissed. Other than those three books I could quite happily get immersed in Laura Florand’s books. The thing with the two Chocolate books is that I might have overdosed as I read those straight after the one before it too. Maybe I should just reread them all to see if that is the case.

  6. Pingback: February 2014 Recap | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples VI | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples VII | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples VII | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

