Touchstone Trilogy by Andrea K. Höst

I really liked Andrea K. Host’s And All the Stars last year and even included it in my best of 2013 list. I have been meaning to read the rest of her books since then. I know that several friends (namely Rachel, Estara and Li) have loved the Touchstone trilogy so I requested a review copy from the author and started reading it as soon as I was in the mood for sci-fi. I used to say that I’m not much of a sci-fi reader but given how much I enjoy reading Andrea K. Höst’s novels, it seems like I should read more from that genre. I read the omnibus version of the trilogy so this is a review for all three books – Stray, Lab Rat One and Caszandra – although I wouldn’t be mentioning any spoilers.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Touchstone TrilogyOn her last day of high school, Cassandra Devlin walked out of exams and into a forest. Surrounded by the wrong sort of trees, and animals never featured in any nature documentary, Cass is only sure of one thing: alone, she will be lucky to survive.

The sprawl of abandoned blockish buildings Cass discovers offers her only more puzzles. Where are the people? What is the intoxicating mist which drifts off the buildings in the moonlight? And why does she feel like she’s being watched?

Increasingly unnerved, Cass is overjoyed at the arrival of the formidable Setari. Whisked to a world as technologically advanced as the first was primitive, where nanotech computers are grown inside people’s skulls, and few have any interest in venturing outside the enormous whitestone cities, Cass finds herself processed as a ‘stray’, a refugee displaced by the gates torn between worlds. Struggling with an unfamiliar language and culture, she must adapt to virtual classrooms, friends who can teleport, and the ingrained attitude that strays are backward and slow.

Can Cass ever find her way home? And after the people of her new world discover her unexpected value, will they be willing to let her leave?

Aussie teen Cass tells her story in diary format, so a big factor of the reader’s enjoyment of the Touchstone trilogy is based on how well you can relate and connect with her character. At first I thought it wasn’t going to work for me since I’m not a big fan of stories where the main character is stranded somewhere by herself. However, I found it easy to like Cass and the pace picked up considerably once she was rescued and brought to the alien planet Tare. Cass is smart, funny and has realistic reactions to finding herself suddenly stuck in an unfamiliar world. I know from personal experience how difficult it is to adjust to living in a foreign country, finding yourself in another planet with a drastically different civilization and language is probably a thousand times worse. I could definitely understand her homesickness and loneliness. I also feel like Cass handles herself quite well in spite of the physical and emotional obstacles in her path. Plus, I always think it’s a good thing when the main character of any novel is a book lover. Some excerpts:

“I’ve spent my life with stories of people who don’t walk away, who go back for their friends, who make that last stand. I’ve been brainwashed by Samwise Gamgee.”

_____________________________

“I’ve spent my whole life reading books. I vaguely remember Mum reading to me in our own bedtime sessions, and our house is practically a library. The way I think, the way I act, most of that’s because of the books I’ve read.”

How can I not like someone who says things like that? I was also fascinated with the technologically advanced world that Andrea K. Höst created – with nanotechnology and tiny computer interface that can be injected in human brains. You can do all sorts of amazing things with the interface like record what you’re seeing, watch movies, read books and play interactive games. In this world, there are also psychic space ninjas called Setari who are specially trained military personnel tasked with keeping the known planets and the space around them safe. Setari have special talents like telekinesis and enhanced sight/senses. Due to certain developments, Cass spends most of her time with the Setari and even befriends some of them. To be honest, I was a little confused with the number of Setari and their talents but I didn’t let that bother me and just kept reading.

One of the aspects of the story that I truly loved was the romance. I kept reading because I wanted to find out what will happen with Cass having such a big crush on someone. I thought she was destined to have “On My Own” as her theme song but fortunately, that wasn’t the case. Slowest burn romance that I’ve read in a while! It reminded me a little of the romance in Crown Duel, with a male character who’s all stoic and unreadable, skilled in combat and also a great leader. I was so absorbed by this series that I kept squeezing in time to read it even though I was supposed to do other things – like pack for a trip home or get some sleep. I even read bits and pieces of this in the car, which I don’t normally do because it makes me dizzy. I hope that gives the rest of you an idea of how engrossed I was. The story lingered in my mind days after I finished reading it, giving me one heck of a book hangover. I devoured the Gratuitous Epilogue, which features the events after the trilogy, right after I finished the three books. What’s interesting is that I think Touchstone will even be better as a reread because I wouldn’t be confused by some of the things that initially bugged me and can pay attention to other details instead. I can now safely say that I’ve become an Andrea K. Höst fangirl. Seriously, more of my reader friends should be introduced to her work. If you haven’t read any of her books, consider this a push in the right direction. I already have Medair in my Kindle and I’m looking forward to reading it.

Touchstone and hot choco

“All these planets, and none of them have chocolate. Severe oversight in world creation.”

Other reviews:
Me and My Books (contains spoilers)
The Book Smugglers – Stray, Lab Rat One, Caszandra

23 thoughts on “Touchstone Trilogy by Andrea K. Höst

  1. Considering your review slump I think you beautifully showed that the trilogy was really captivating and enjoyable to you – including the problematic bits for first time readers (as a long-time reader of epic fantasy, I never expected to know everyone named, just that enough repetition would turn up for the people important to the heroine – and so it did ^^).

    • I hope this signals the end of my review slump! I really enjoyed reading this trilogy and I know that it hasn’t gotten the attention it deserves so I wanted to blog about it. Yeah, I just went along with the story and figured the important characters will be emphasized as I read further.

  2. Ooh, compare it to the slow burn of Crown Duel and you have my attention! I have to read a lot of books on my TBR, but oh man, I have to add this one to the wishlist.

    • Yes! The male protagonist really, really reminded me of Vidanric. It would be interesting to see what you think of this. I actually thought of recommending it to you since I know you like a good romance.

  3. I’ve honestly never heard of this author! I don’t read a lot of sci-fi, but the Touchstone trilogy sounds pretty darn great. It bodes well that you were incredibly engrossed in the story and couldn’t set it down, as I’m always on the lookout for books like that!

    • Well, I’m glad you’re now aware of this author because of my review. 😀 I don’t read a lot of sci-fi either but I really enjoyed this one! So I think it would appeal to readers who aren’t into sci-fi.

  4. I’m thrilled the Touchstone books worked for you!

    I pretty much whizzed through her entire backlist when I first came across her books (thanks to Estara a.k.a. book pusher extraordinaire!) – I think these are quite different to the rest of her books (which are more high fantasy, except for AATS), but have loved all her stories. And Medair especially, so I look forward to hearing what you think.

    Li

    • I second this comment – except if we are going to do book pushing archaeology, then it’s all due to Ana’s Champion of the Rose review at the Booksmugglers and that amazing Julie Dillon cover – because that made me try the first book ^^.

      I would like to mention that the follow-up to Champion, Bones of the Fair, is also available now.

    • Li, so you loved Medair even more than Touchstone? Hmm that makes me more excited to read it! It’s funny that I’m not much of a sci-fi reader but I’ve read Andrea K. Host’s sci-fi books even before I’ve tried her epic fantasy ones.

  5. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples V | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Want Books: Champion of the Rose | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: Retro Friday: Medair by Andrea K. Höst | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: February 2014 Recap | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Top Ten Books in Sci-Fi | Chachic's Book Nook

  10. Pingback: Andrea K. Höst Week | Chachic's Book Nook

  11. Pingback: Top Ten Underrated Authors in Epic Fantasy | Chachic's Book Nook

  12. Pingback: Chocolate Book Meme | Chachic's Book Nook

  13. Pingback: Games of Command by Linnea Sinclair | Chachic's Book Nook

  14. Pingback: My 2015 Anticipated Reads | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

