Want Books: You Had Me at Hello

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

Mhairi McFarlane's books

I first found out about You Had Me at Hello by Mhairi McFarlane from Nomes’ Faves of 2013 list. I’m always curious whenever a friend recommends a new-to-me chick lit author. I like the typography in the book cover and the premise seems interesting. I saw it in the bookstore yesterday but I resisted getting a copy even though there was an ongoing sale and I could get it for 20% off (you should all congratulate me for my restraint). I’m in the process of packing because I’m moving to a different flat soon – so I’m putting off buying physical copies of books until I’ve moved. Today, I just finished packing two suitcases full of books. I shouldn’t be surprised that I have that many books here with me even though I’ve been in Singapore less than two years, right?

You Had Me at HelloAnyway, here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Rachel and Ben. Ben and Rachel. It was them against the world. Until it all fell apart.

It’s been a decade since they last spoke, but when Rachel bumps into Ben one rainy day, the years melt away.

From the moment they met they’d been a gang of two; partners in crime and the best of friends. But life has moved on. Ben is married. Rachel is definitely not. In fact, the men in her life make her want to take holy orders…

Yet in that split second, Rachel feels the old friendship return. And along with it, the broken heart she’s never been able to mend.

What about you, what book is at the top of your wishlist? Did you add any books on your wishlist after seeing them on another blogger’s best/faves of 2013 list?

9 thoughts on “Want Books: You Had Me at Hello

    • Let me know what you think when you get to read it! I hope you like it although I saw some reviews on Goodreads that said You Had Me at Hello is better than Here’s Looking At You.

      Thanks, Alex!

      • YES. I loved you had me at hello so much that i preordered here’s looking at you — and, maybe my expectations were too high but I was disappointed :/

        Hope you get a chance to check the book out. I think you would like it a lot!

      • Sorry to hear that you found Here’s Looking at You disappointing! Thanks for the heads up though, I should just check out You Had Me at Hello then. 🙂

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

