Chachic's Book Nook

January 2014 Recap

13 Comments

January has come and gone and I wasn’t able to post any reviews. The reviewing slump that I talked about in December is still in place. That’s a shame because I came across several books that I really enjoyed reading. Instead, here’s a recap of the novellas and novels that I read the previous month.

I wasn’t able to read Christmas stories while I was in Manila in December so I made up for it by reading as many as I can in January. These are the titles that I devoured:

All I Want for Christmas by Chris Mariano, Chrissie Peria and Miles Tan
A Rose in Winter by Laura Florand
Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor by Lisa Kleypas
A Kiss for Midwinter by Courtney Milan

My favorite out of all these is A Rose in Winter, it was such a cozy Christmas read and very atmospheric. It made me want to explore Provence (similar to how I felt about Paris when I started Laura Florand’s Amour et Chocolat books). Another Christmas novella that I loved is Snowfall by Mary Ann Rivers, it’s not included in the list because I managed to read that in December. Moving on to the other books that I’ve read in January:

For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund – I got this book from Janice from the 2012 YAckers Secret Santa and I realized that I still haven’t read it. This was my first Diana Peterfreund novel and I liked it. Found it easy to get into and finished it fairly quickly.

Across a Star-Swept Sea by Diana Peterfreund – I read The Scarlet Pimpernel a few months ago because I wanted to know the story before reading this retelling. I didn’t like The Scarlet Pimpernel as much as I was expecting but I didn’t have that problem with Across a Star-Swept Sea. Like with the first book, I got through it in a short span of time. Looking forward to reading the author’s contemporary YA (NA?) series.

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge – Such a lovely retelling of Beauty and the Beast! I’m a sucker for fairy tales retold but I can’t remember the last time I enjoyed one as much Cruel Beauty. Beautifully written.

The Rosie Project by Grame Simsion – I read this one because my friend Maggie loved it. I found it hilarious, I laughed out loud at some scenes. The main character reminded me of Sheldon from The Big Bang Theory, has a brilliant mind but is socially inept.

Black Dog by Rachel Neumeier – I was pretty curious about Rachel’s foray into urban fantasy so I said yes when I was offered a galley. Solid worldbuilding, interesting characters and a potentially sweet romance. Can’t wait for the sequel! This felt like a YA version of Eileen Wilks’ World of Lupi series.

Song of Scarabaeus and Children of Scarabaeus by Sara Creasy – Got the first book from Angie through the 2013 YAckers Secret Santa. I keep saying I’m not into sci fi but I think it’s just a matter of finding the right books that will work for me. Really liked Song of Scarabaeus and I dived into the sequel right after finishing the first book. I thought the second book wasn’t as good as the first but the latter half of the novel picked up so I thought it finished on a nice note.

So, so, so. Those are my January reads. I am eternally hopeful that I will manage to come up with a review this month but it looks like February is going to be busy with real life stuff (going to move to another flat in the middle of the month) so we’ll see. What were the books that you’ve read in January? Any particular title that stood out for you?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

13 thoughts on “January 2014 Recap

  1. I really need to finish Across a Star-Swept Sea! I’ve had it checked out for a month or so but haven’t had time to get around to it.

    “So, so, so.” 😀

    • Are you a fan of The Scarlet Pimpernel? I should have mentioned that I also decided to read that because so many Sounisians love that book.

      Haha I’ve used “so, so, so” several times here on the blog.

      • I do enjoy it, although it’s been several years since I last read it and I suspect some elements would make me wince a lot more these days.

      • I think that is a common reaction to most readers who loved the book when they were younger. It’s not that some sections made me wince, I was more frustrated at how long it took people to figure out the identity of the Scarlet Pimpernel.

  2. It seriously pleases me to hear that you enjoyed For Darkness Show the Stars AND Across a Star-Swept Sea. Those are the only two books written by Diana Peterfreund that I’ve read so far, and they’re absolutely lovely. They’ve pretty much cemented my love for her, and I can’t wait to read her other stuff too!

    • I read both of those books fairly quickly, I think I even stayed up later than usual to finish them. I’m trying to think of why I didn’t exactly love them (although I did really like them) – I think both books would have been stronger if the characters were a a few years older? I’m really curious about her Secret Society books and her recent NA title.

  3. Review slumps are the WORST. Also, I love your like of Diana Peterfreund’s For Darkness Shows The Stars and Across A Star Swept Sea. I am also happy you enjoyed Cruel Beauty.

    Hope the slump ends soon. Maybe change up the review style? That helps me sometimes.

    • They really are the worst! I’ve had this one for a while and it really sucks. I remember you were encouraging me to read Diana Peterfreund’s books and I kept that in mind when I picked up her books. 🙂 Have you read her contemporary novels? Cruel Beauty is just beautiful, I’m glad you also enjoyed that one.

      I know, I’m thinking of maybe writing shorter reviews. Otherwise, I’ll probably just continue this monthly recap.

  4. Pingback: February 2014 Recap | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Black Dog by Rachel Neumeier | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: March 2014 Recap | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: May 2014 Recap | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: June 2014 Recap | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

