Chachic's Book Nook

Top Ten Things On My Reading Wishlist

17 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is things/themes that I would like to see more of in the books that I read. In no particular order, these are the things that would interest me:

Filipino YA – I’ve mentioned this previously and I’ll probably keep bringing it up: I would love to read Filipino YA novels, whether they’re fantasy or contemporary. I’ve envied Australia for its wealth of amazing YA novels for a while now and I’ll keep my fingers crossed that the Philippines will produce its share of YA books that readers all over the world can enjoy.

Fairy tales retold – I love fairy tale retellings and would love to see more of them.

Court or political intrigue – I find it fascinating when characters maneuver court intrigue really well.

Magnificent or awe-inspiring mythical creatures – Like a dragon or a pegasus or a flesh-eating water horse.

Books set all over the world – Most of the books that I’ve come across are set in the US, UK and Australia (or in fantasy worlds). Some are set in France. I would like to read more from other countries, maybe in Asia or South America.

Travel – I don’t get to travel as much as I’d like so I enjoy reading travel books because I get to live vicariously through the characters. The opposite theme for this (coming home) is also something I’m interested in.

Foodie novels – I love to eat so it’s only natural that I love reading about characters who share this particular interest.

Family and awesome parents – I always appreciate books where the main characters’ families have a strong presence in the story because my own family is very important in my life.

Friendship – Similar to what I wrote above, I value my friends as well. As much as I love romance novels, I also think friendship stories are great and we need more of them.

Main characters who are readers or book bloggers – It’s always fun to read a book that has a character who loves to read. And I don’t think I’ve read a book that has a book blogger.

What about you, what are the things that you’d like to see in the novels that you read?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Things On My Reading Wishlist

  1. Court or political intrigue

    YES. Weird how I love reading about something that would be horrible in real life. :p

  2. >Fairy tales retold

    I vote for this one! Though there are still plenty out there I haven’t read. CRUEL BEAUTY, SCARLET, CINDER…

    >Foodie novels

    Ooh, me, too! Especially foodie fantasy, since I don’t expect I’ll ever read all that many contemporaries.

    >Friendship

    Yes to this, but you know, I would especially love to see a friendship story that shows a real, nonsexual friendship between guy and a woman. That’s hard to pull off — but I would like to see a few more authors try. CITY OF BONES by Martha Wells came close.

    I’d add: more YA fantasy that is NOT primarily romance. I don’t want to see all of YA fantasy turn into a subset of paranormal romance, and sometimes I think it’s heading that way.

    • Oh there are several fairy tale retellings that I still haven’t read but I want to see more of them. Cruel Beauty was a really good read, I hope you enjoy it. I still haven’t read Cinder.

      Foodie fantasy novels would be great! Food is usually mentioned in fantasy novels but not in great detail.

      I agree, it would be nice to read about a male-female platonic friendship because that really happens in real life (I have a couple of guy friends myself). It is hard to pull off though.

      Yes to more YA fantasy that isn’t about the romance! I mean I love the romances in my favorite YA fantasy novels but it would be nice to have something different from time to time.

  3. Great list! I want awe inspiring mythical creatures too!!! 🙂

  4. Great list! I recently read Obsidian by J L Armentrout and that was brilliant because the main character was a book blogger!!! Fairy tale retellings are so much fun too.

    My TTT 🙂

  5. Love everything on this list. I didn’t put some of the stuff like retellings and court intrigue on mine because I read as much as I can get my hands on so they didn’t occur to me. I was thinking of things that are lacking. And friendship and family stories made my list.

    • Why am I not surprised that you agree with my choices? 🙂 I should do what you did – read all the retellings and court intrigue books that I could get my hands on. There really should be more stories about friendship and family. I’m sure so many readers will be able to relate to those themes.

  6. Basically, every single thing you’ve put on your Top Ten Tuesday list this week is something I would like to see more of myself! Filipino YA would be AMAZING, I think, if someone would give it a shot. (I think I might have to make an effort to write now… Or at least that’s how this post makes me feel!)

    • We really need more Filipino YA, right? I’ve been wondering why YA hasn’t developed in the Philippines when there are so many readers reading US, UK or Aussie YA. You should totally go for it! 😀

  7. It’s a lovely list!!!
    I particularly love fairy tales retold, though I know it take some serious skill to pull that off.

  8. You have to read “My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me.” It’s a collection of modern authors retelling fairytales. They also have a mythological one called “Orpheus XO.” LOVE LOVE LOVE.

    • Cassie, thanks for the recommendations! Is it a collection of short stories? Because to be honest, I’m not much of a short story reader. I have no idea why but I have a hard time finishing anthologies (when I don’t have the same issue when it comes to novellas or novels).

      • Not really, but kind of. Some are very long and some are short depending on the fairy tale. I think a few are excerpted online so you could start there. 🙂

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

