EWein Special Ops: Guest Post from Maggie

My good friend Maggie of Young Adult Anonymous generously got me a signed copy of Code Name Verity a few months ago, so I knew she would be perfect for EWein Special Ops.

Please welcome Maggie!

Young Adult Anonymous
____________________

I’m a book hoarder. When I love a book, I get as many editions as I can. My justification is that not only am I filling up my shelf, but I’m also creating a shelf for my future child. I see myself as a curator overseeing the portraits of characters that I hope will line the walls of my child’s mind. However, I still read primarily for myself. What I love about reading is that even though I’m no longer a child, I can still be shaken and affected so much by what I read.

One of the books that shook me to my core was Code Name Verity. I was sitting on an uncomfortable, backless stool in the ER, having accompanied by stepbrother after he drunkenly sliced his finger open at 3am, and I needed something to distract me from strangling the drunken mess in front of me. Enter Verity. For the next few hours, as we were moved from room to room, I stayed in Ormaie with Queenie. I was transfixed by this story of friendship, survival and war.

It’s like being in love, discovering your favorite author. I have been in love with Elizabeth Wein ever since that night and fell even more so with Rose Under Fire. I love that her characters are ordinary girls put in extraordinary circumstances. They are badass and fierce, but also scared and flawed. There’s a realness to them that went straight to my heart.

Maggie CNV

I don’t think it’s a coincidence that Wein’s books are ones that create an instant bond with other book lovers. I’ve made some great friends through book blogging and for my birthday this year, Mandee of Vegan YA Nerds got me this necklace:

Maggie CNV pendant

These are special books and I’m thrilled to be part of the EWein Ops team. I have told the truth.

____________________

Thank you, Maggie! I love that you’ve bonded with other book lovers over CNV. I’m so happy we’re both EWein fans.

8 thoughts on “EWein Special Ops: Guest Post from Maggie

  1. I loved the realness of Maddie and Verity in CNV too, which now makes it impossible for the reader not to be invested in them, not to root for their survival. I have yet to read Rose Under Fire. I feel like I need to prepare myself emotionally for it. Haha. That is, if it’s anything like CNV. πŸ˜€

    • Yes, I loved that the focus of CNV was the friendship between Maddie and Verity because that’s not a common theme in YA. I hope you get to read Rose Under Fire soon! You know you’ll have a lot of support from the blogosphere when you decide to pick it up. πŸ™‚

  2. I’m so out of the book blogging loop but I love this feature, Chachic! And Magz, I love your post. This is defo a book that is worth buying in multiple editions! And I’m glad you like the necklace πŸ˜‰

    • I have two editions of Code Name Verity but I would love to have more! πŸ˜› That’s always the case when it comes to favorite books. The necklace is awesome, by the way.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

