Chachic's Book Nook

EWein Special Ops: Introduction and How I Discovered Her Books

19 Comments

EWein Special Ops

I’m so glad that EWein Special Ops is here! EWein Special Ops is a blog event celebrating Elizabeth Wein’s wonderful novels. I have been a fan of her work for YEARS and I’ve been wanting to organize something like this for a while now. I’m glad I’m able to do it before the year ends. Watch out for guest posts from authors, fellow bloggers and fans throughout the week. On Twitter, I’m using the hashtag #EWeinSpecialOps if you want to keep track of tweets. If you’re interested in writing about anything related to EWein’s novels in your own blog at any point during this week, give me the link to the post and I’ll spread the word about it. As an aside, I love that I was able to find a picture of a younger EWein feeding a bird because I think it’s perfect for the event poster. I hope you all like it too.

Foxing The Sunbird

First page of my first copy of The Sunbird

To start things off, I thought it would be a good idea to talk about how I was introduced to EWein’s writing. I first found out about her back in 2008. That was before I had this book blog and at that time, I mostly got recommendations for the books that I read from Sounis, the LiveJournal community for fans of another author: Megan Whalen Turner (MWT). If you have been following my blog for a while, then you’re aware of how big a fan I am of MWT’s books. I even hosted a Queen’s Thief Week last year. So whenever someone recommends a book for readers who love MWT’s work, I sit up and pay attention. EWein’s Lion Hunter series kept being recommended in Sounis, by MWT herself, by R.J. Anderson (author of Knife, Ultraviolet, etc.) and other fellow Sounisians. I knew I had to get my hands on those books as soon as I could. When I went to the local bookstore in Manila to look for the books, I discovered that they only have copies of the last three books in the series: The Sunbird, The Lion Hunter and The Empty Kingdom. I was assured that I could start the series with The Sunbird so this was fine with me. I fell in love with the book and with its main character, the young Telemakos. I read the other two books soon after and they further cemented EWein’s status as one of my favorite authors. I was sorry that The Winter Prince and A Coalition of Lions wasn’t available in the Philippines but luckily, I traveled to the States in 2009 and I was able to grab copies there.

I was ecstatic when I started hearing the buzz that EWein will be releasing Code Name Verity in 2012 because of course, I wanted more of her writing. I knew it was going to be an amazing book, even if it’s different from her Lion Hunter novels, and I was right. I fell just as hard for Verity’s story as I did for Telemakos’. I guess it goes without saying that I was delighted to hear about the release of Rose Under Fire this year and I will always be excited for any new EWein title that will come out in the future.

EWein my own copies

My copies of Elizabeth Wein’s books

That’s the story of how I discovered EWein’s writing, what’s yours? Were her books recommended by someone you trust or you just happened to come across them in the bookstore? Were you introduced to her work through her earlier Lion Hunter novels or through Code Name Verity? For those who first found out about her by reading Code Name Verity, did that make you more curious about the rest of her books? One of the reasons why I’ve wanted to host an EWein week on my blog is to spread the word about the Lion Hunter series because I really think it deserves more attention. And now the Lion Hunter books are readily available in ebook format from Open Road.

I will be traveling from Singapore to Manila today (yay, I’ll be home for Christmas!) so I won’t be able to reply to comments right away but I would love to hear from all of you.

Rose Under Fire US edition

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

19 thoughts on “EWein Special Ops: Introduction and How I Discovered Her Books

  1. Sounis for me too! Tried The Winter Prince in 2009, fell in love with it, never looked back. (On top of that, Sounis introduced me to the Vorkosigan Saga! Sounisians have the best taste.)

  2. My friend Elena was the one who totally book pushed Code Name Verity on me, as it was one of her favorite reads last year. She gifted me with a copy for my birthday! I didn’t read it right away, but once I had, I really liked it. I’m very curious about her other series, thanks to the posts you’ve been doing. It really sounds fantastic! Your celebration is going to be pretty awesome, I’m sure!

    • Aww that’s so sweet of your friend Elena to give you a copy of Code Name Verity for your birthday! I think it’s always a good idea to share favorite books with friends. 🙂 I hope you get to try Elizabeth Wein’s other books soon.

  3. Also found the books through Sounis. Seriously, Sounis is the best place for finding book recommendations.

  4. I was working at a base library in Germany and reading as many of our new YA books as I could get to. I picked up Coalition of Lions and was blown away! Have been a fan ever since.

  5. That’s a lovely collection of Wein novels! I’ve the Verity and Rose books in e only, unfortunately.

    CNV was my first Wein, and that’s because of all the buzz around it in the book blogosphere when it came out – I held off reading it for a while purely because of the hype, but have to say it was worth it!

    Li

    • When I went home a few months ago, I brought back all my copies of EWein’s books to Singapore so I could take that picture. I also have ebook copies of most of them. 🙂

      I was thrilled when CNV started generating a lot of buzz even before it was released. I knew EWein deserved to get all that attention even before I read the book. So glad you gave it a try in spite of the hype and that you ended up loving it!

  6. WOW.
    What an awesome week – I’m over here from SLJ’s blog (Liz @ Tea Cozy).

    I had the privilege of meeting EWein just randomly when I had read her Coalition of Lions books, communicated with her via email, and interviewed her for a Blog Blast Tour… after which I moved to Scotland for five years, RIGHT before CNV was published! When we moved back, I got a British preview copy of CNV and I said to her, “This is award-winning. This is BIG.” It makes me really happy each and every time I hear people talk about her books to say, “I was right, I was right, I was right.” It’s the best kind of “I told you so” to say.

    I’m excited you’re introducing more people to her earlier works. They’re just brilliant.

    • Welcome to EWein Special Ops, Tanita! I hope you have fun going through the posts. 🙂

      That’s awesome that you’ve met EWein in person. She’s such a lovely person, I bet it would be fun to have a conversation with her. I think that’s cool that you predicted that CNV would be big and would win awards. You really have the right to say “I told you so” or “I knew it”! I’ve always known that she’s a brilliant writer and I was hoping (and keeping my fingers crossed) for CNV’s success but I wasn’t able to predict how big it got.

  7. I heard about CNV randomly on the interwebs and was intrigued by the setting (WW2!), the characters (a spy! be still my heart!), and the cover (gorgeous). I was actually in the middle of another book but set it aside to borrow CNV from my store. Best decision ever.

    • Good thing the buzz about CNV made you curious about it! Such an amazing book. So because I know you’re a fan of spy characters, I’m pretty sure you’ll like Telemakos from the Lion Hunter books too. 😀

  8. Hi everybody – I AM LATE TO THE PARTY AS USUAL!!! But thank you, wow, merci mille fois for all this love! It is kind of embarrassing. I have to say that I recognize quite a few of the party girls here and I’m just so grateful for this celebration!

  9. I’m disappointed I missed this week by traveling to see relatives and all, but on the plus side it looks like now all the posts are posted? You have the most creative events (and I fully intend on going back and reading up on your entire Queen’s Thief week posts and Marchetta Madness ones).
    I loved reading about your history with Elizabeth Wein’s works and seeing all your copies of her books (it’s so cool when you have different copies of the same books!).
    I was first introduced to her works through Code Name Verity. I’ve since read Rose Under Fire and I’ve purchased the ebook of The Winter Prince, although I have yet to read that. I hope to soon, though!

    • Amanda, all the posts are up so you can just go over them whenever you have time. 🙂 I hope you have fun going through Marchetta Madness and Queen’s Thief Week.

      I don’t mind getting multiple copies of favorite books. I used to have more than one copy of The Sunbird but I’ve passed them along to friends to introduce them to EWein’s writing! One of the copies of Code Name Verity and the two copies of Rose Under Fire that I have were received as gifts, people are so generous. 🙂

      Yay, I’m so glad you’re interested in the Lion Hunters series. I hope you enjoy reading The Winter Prince. And remember, if that doesn’t work for you, you can give A Coalition of Lions and The Sunbird a try.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

