Chachic's Book Nook

Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013

27 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. I love this week’s topic because I feel like I’ve been very lucky in terms of new-to-me authors I’ve discovered this year.

Laura Florand1

Laura Florand – I can still remember ordering Laura’s The Chocolate Thief and The Chocolate Kiss from Amazon when I was in the States earlier this year. I fell in love with her Amour et Chocolat series right away and she’s become an auto-buy/auto-read author for me.

Mary Ann RiversThe Story Guy is one of my favorite reads this year and I’m glad I got to follow it up with Snowfall before the year ended. I’m amazed at how much emotion was packed in these novellas.

Ruthie Knox – Another romance author I fell in love with this year! I’ve read most of her backlist and Big Boy and Truly are the ones I liked best. Messy, realistic and complicated relationships make wonderful reads.

Tessa Bailey – If you’re a fan of steamy romance, then I highly recommend this author’s Line of Duty series. They’re so much fun to read.

World of the Lupi

Eileen Wilks – I glommed through the World of Lupi series a few months ago and I can’t remember the last time a series hooked me like that.

Vikki Wakefield – Contemporary Aussie YA novels keep blowing me away with how good they are, All I Ever Wanted was no exception.

Rainbow RowellAttachments and Fangirl were both excellent reads even though they’re very different from each other. I really should bump Eleanor and Park up my TBR pile.

Markus Zusak – I really have no idea why it took me so long to read The Book Thief. It was as good as I was expecting and yes, it made me cry.

Andrea K. HostAnd All the Stars surprised me with all its sci-fi goodness and I can’t wait to read more books by the same author.

Brian K. Vaughn – Had so much fun reading the Saga graphic novels that I’ve been recommending it to everyone I know who reads comics. Can’t wait for Volume 3!

I think that’s a pretty good list of authors from various genres. I would gladly go through the backlist of all of the authors mentioned here (even though that may take a while). How about you, who are some of the amazing authors you’ve discovered this year?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

27 thoughts on “Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013

  1. I really need to try Andrea Host! I know both you and Rachel Neumeier really like her.

  2. I have The Book Thief on my TBR list and I’ve heard so many great things about it 🙂

  3. Yes, yes, yes you musst read Eleanor & Park. I loved all of Rowell’s books, but E&P is my favorite. I’ve been super into romance novels lately, and now I have some new authors to try out. Thanks!

    I need to read The Book Thief. I’m just so sure it will be heart-wrenching, and I haven’t been in that mood lately. Okay, I’m rarely in the mood, but every once in awhile I am. It will be my next one, for sure.

    • I will definitely read Eleanor & Park although I don’t think I can get to it this year. I love reading romance novels, they’re just so easy to get into. Let me know what you think when you’ve tried the authors I’ve mentioned here. 🙂

      I know exactly what you mean! I put off reading The Book Thief for exactly the same reason. I finally decided to read it because I thought the movie will be released here soon but it won’t be shown until February.

  4. Oh, I need to try that Aussie author you mentioned!! I love Aussie authors.
    :d
    Glad you discovered so many good books 🙂

    • And all the Stars and the Touchstone Trilogy have Aussie heroines ^^ – one is science fantasy set on our Earth (mostly in Sydney) and the Touchstone is portal science fantasy (which means the Aussie heroine suddenly finds herself somewhere else).

    • Oh Vikki Wakefield is the only YA contemporary Aussie author in the list but Markus Zusak and Andrea Host are also Australian. 🙂 Love Aussie authors too, I should read more of their books next year. I still have Wildlife, Alaska and Girl Defective in my TBR pile.

  5. Laura Florand is on my list too of course (thanks to you!). Also Rainbow Rowell.

    It looks like I need to give Andrea Host a try in 2014.

    • Woohoo, Laura Florand! She really is one of my favorite discoveries this year. I’m so happy that you’ve also enjoyed her work because it’s so much fun to discuss the books with friends. Yes, Rainbow Rowell is another good discovery this year.

      I think you would enjoy reading Andrea Host’s books – you can start with And All the Stars which is a sci-fi standalone or maybe one of her fantasy books.

  6. I keep hearing glowing things about Rainbow Rowell’s books! I have Attachments sitting on my shelf so I definitely need to get around to reading it soon 🙂

    • If you already have a copy of Attachments then I recommend that you bump it up. 😀 That was my first introduction to Rainbow Rowell and I really enjoyed it. Hope you like it too!

  7. I read ATTACHMENTS over the summer and wasn’t impressed (I’m not a fan of epistolary novels, though…), so it took until this week to read Rowell’s two YA novels. I just finished ELEANOR AND PARK yday and started FANGIRL! I’d been planning to finally read Zusak this year…but may not have time until 2014. Sad, sad, sad! Haven’t read or heard of a lot of your authors. I’ll have to look into them!

    • Sorry to hear that Attachments didn’t work for you but it looks like you’ve enjoyed reading Rainbow Rowell’s YA novels? I really like that they’re all standalones and each has a different tone and feel. It took me YEARS to read Markus Zusak so I can relate to how it’s taking you so long to give him a try – don’t worry, you’ll get to it eventually. 🙂 Have fun checking out the other authors in my list!

  8. Rainbow Rowell seems to be on at least half of the TTT lists this week. I really must get to meet her in 2014. Lovely to see a book blog from Singapore, I’m glad you can find lots of Aussie titles up there. I haven’t read Vikki Wakefield soon, I’ve heard so many good things about her.

    • Wow, looks like Rainbow Rowell is a popular choice! Good to know that there are a lot of readers who are fans of her work. Hope you enjoy reading her books next year. 🙂 Yep, I’m based in Singapore but I’m from the Philippines – I just moved last year for my current job. We get some Aussie titles in Singapore (not in Manila) but usually if I know someone traveling from Australia, I just ask them to get books for me.

  9. I want to read all the authors on this list I haven’t read yet. When I am on vacation (like now) and get to catch up on blog posts I feel like: oh man, I wish I had time to read. Gah, it’s so hard to read nowadays!

    • Which ones are the authors in this late you’re interested in? 🙂 Aww Janice, sorry to hear that you haven’t had that much time to read! Still busy with work? I haven’t been able to blog a lot but I still read. I hope you find some time to read during your vacation? But don’t feel pressured to do so, you should just relax.

  10. I also read The Book Thief for the first time this year, and it was INCREDIBLE. I was blown away by how cleverly and imaginatively written it was. I also enjoyed The Chocolate Thief, as you already know!

  11. Pingback: My Favorite Top Ten Topics | Chachic's Book Nook

  12. Pingback: Top New-To-Me Authors I Read For the First Time In 2015 | Chachic's Book Nook

  13. Pingback: Top New-To-Me Authors I Read For the First Time In 2016 | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

