Chachic's Book Nook

December Slump

13 Comments

I’m pretty lucky that I haven’t experienced a reading slump in ages. However, I find myself in the middle of a reviewing slump. I have been in denial about it but as my list of books to be reviewed just keeps getting longer, I think it’s time to admit that I’m in a slump. It’s not that I don’t want to review the books that I read – I really want to because I’ve gone through some pretty good ones lately and I would love to spread the word about them. But the words aren’t coming and I don’t want to force myself to review when I’m not in the mood to do so. Factors that have contributed to this include being really busy at work and just wanting to relax and read on week nights. And on weekends, I usually hang out with friends or catch up on chores. Reading is easier because I can squeeze it in whenever I have some free time like when I’m on the train. I’m hoping this is just a phase and when things calm down, I might be able to come up with decent reviews again. Maybe I can even work on mini reviews instead.

In the meantime, here’s a list of some lovely books that I’ve recently read and would love to review if only I had the time and inclination to do so:

Truly by Ruthie Knox
The Chocolate Heart by Laura Florand
The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Sorrow’s Knot by Erin Bow
Snowfall by Mary Ann Rivers

TrulyThe Chocolate HeartThe Dream ThievesThe Book ThiefSorrow's Knot

I feel kind of bad that I haven’t been able to review these because I would really recommend them to other readers. I guess I’ll just wait and see how it goes. Oh and only a few more days until I fly home to Manila and EWein Special Ops starts! Watch out for that.

EWein Special Ops

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

13 thoughts on “December Slump

  1. Oh, The Book Thief! ❤ I am so excited for the movie!

    Regarding the reviewing slump, I agree that busyness is always a factor. It's hard to concentrate when you're thinking of work, no? But there had been times when I was too busy with work that I was in the mood to write just so I could relax. So I guess mood is also a factor. 🙂 Mini-reviews do help a lot with the slump, as in my case.

    I hope you get back from your reviewing slump soon. I'd love to read what you think about The Book Thief. 🙂

    • I’m excited for the movie as well! I bumped it up my TBR pile because I thought the movie will be shown soon but looks like it won’t be released in Singapore until February.

      Yeah, mood is definitely a factor. I do agree that there are times when I find it relaxing to blog when work gets too busy but nowadays when I keep working overtime, I just want to spend my downtime away from the computer. I’ll try to see if I can work on mini reviews soon. 🙂

  2. For me, I think it’s important not to think of reviewing as an obligation, but as something I sometimes do for fun — not of any particular books or new books or books that are generating buzz, but just when I feel like it, and only if I feel like it. Although in my case, a lot of the time I’m not writing a review exactly, but more a reaction.

    Anyway, while I hope you pull out of your slump, I’m glad you’re not in a *reading* slump. That’d be dire.

    I started The Book Thief and . . . honestly? I didn’t like it, and put it down. I know, right? Everybody loves it but me. I did think it was well written and clever, but something about the tone put me off. Maybe I should try it again sometime.

    • Yes, definitely! I blog because it’s fun and I don’t pressure myself because I don’t want it to feel too much like work. I only review books that I want to talk about, whether it’s because I thought it was good or I didn’t enjoy it as much as I was expecting. And yes, my reviews are mostly reactions as well.

      I know, I’m so glad I’m not in a reading slump! I keep wishing I had more time to read because there are way too many good books in my TBR pile.

      Hmm maybe you can give it a try again next time? Because to be honest, I only ended up loving the book towards the end. In the middle of it, I thought it was okay but I was wondering why so many readers adored it.

  3. I know what you mean on the reviewing slump. I’m actually in the process of writing a bunch of mini-reviews of books I read in the past year or two, but slumped too much to review. That gives me a balance between wanting to spread the word about books I loved, and the realization that after enough time goes by from when I’ve read a book, a full-length review just isn’t gonna happen.

    • Yes, I feel exactly the same way – when it takes me so long to review a book, it’s highly unlikely that I can come up with a full review. I really should work on mini reviews right after I finish reading, maybe that will make things easier for me. So I wanted to write a review this weekend but it didn’t happen, I had to catch up on chores instead. Hope your mini reviews are going well!

      • I think my blogging hiatus from late 2012 made me more realistic about what’s feasible with blogging and what is not. I’m also using Google Calendar more and scheduling posts ahead of time rather than posting spur-of-the-moment, so that I don’t neglect my blog too much. I’m starting a new job with the new year, and my goal is not to get so bogged down and psyched out that I go on hiatus again, especially when I feel like I’m finally getting caught up. 🙂

  4. Sometimes I find, when I’m in a slump, that if I can just make it to the computer I can end up enjoying writing something…but sometimes making it to the computer ends up being Candy Crush, and so Not Useful. I hope your travelling goes well, though, and am looking forward to the E. Wein fun!

    (and someday I will try the Book Thief again….Rachel, if you are reading this, you are not alone!)

    • Charlotte, you’re right, there are times when I don’t even open up my laptop. I just check social media and email on my phone. This is probably another reason why I’ve been in a slump. But yeah, sometimes when I do make it to the computer, I just end up browsing Tumblr or Twitter. I’m so excited to go home for Christmas and also for the EWein blog event. 😀

      Sorry to hear The Book Thief didn’t work for you either. Hopefully, you’ll get to try it again in the future.

  5. I’m pretty sure I’ve been through that same reviewing slump! I usually just list my notes for the ones I’d like to review eventually, and then get around to reviewing them when I’m in the right mood. I always work better when there are a bunch I have to do in bulk for some reason. Also — yay for it almost being the holidays! Enjoy Christmas back home 🙂

  6. Pingback: January 2014 Recap | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

