Want Books: Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

Christmas is just a few weeks away! Only two more work weeks until I can go on vacation and fly home to Manila for the holidays. Really looking forward to that. I always feel like reading Christmas stories every December. I already have Snowfall by Mary Ann Rivers waiting in my Kindle since I loved her The Story Guy. Book pusher Angie has already reviewed it here and looks like it’s going to be just as good as Mary Ann Rivers’ debut. I’ve asked Angie for other Christmas recommendations and one of the titles that she mentioned was Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor by Lisa Kleypas so I’ve added it straight to my wishlist.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Christmas Eve at Friday HarborONE LITTLE GIRL NEEDS A FAMILY
One rain-slicked night, six-year-old Holly lost the only parent she knew, her beloved mother Victoria. And since that night, she has never again spoken a word.

ONE SINGLE MAN NEEDS A WIFE
The last thing Mark Nolan needs is a six-year-old girl in his life. But he soon realizes that he will do everything he can to make her life whole again. His sister’s will gives him the instructions: There’s no other choice but you. Just start by loving her. The rest will follow.

SOMETIMES, IT TAKES A LITTLE MAGIC…
Maggie Collins doesn’t dare believe in love again, after losing her husband of one year. But she does believe in the magic of imagination. As the owner of a toy shop, she lives what she loves. And when she meets Holly Nolan, she sees a little girl in desperate need of a little magic.

…TO MAKE DREAMS COME TRUE
Three lonely people. Three lives at the crossroads. Three people who are about to discover that Christmas is the time of year when anything is possible, and when wishes have a way of finding the path home…

What about you, what book is at the top of your wishlist? Are you also in the mood to read Christmas stories once December starts? Feel free to recommend some of your favorite Christmas reads.

9 thoughts on “Want Books: Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor

  1. I think I’ve read that Lisa Kleypas book, and if I have I liked it. I’ve only read a few of Lisa Kleypas’ contemporary novels, but I’ve liked them. I just can’t remember which ones I’ve read.

    I’m thinking I should read some Christmastime books, too, to get me in the holiday spirit.

    • Out of all of Lisa Kleypas’ books, I think I’ve only read Blue-Eyed Devil and I enjoyed it but I didn’t love it as much as I was expecting. I should give her other novels a try.

      I love reading Christmas stories in December! I feel like it makes me appreciate the holiday more. I recently finished reading Snowfall by Mary Ann Rivers (it’s included in the Heating Up the Holidays anthology) and I thought it was lovely.

  2. I read it when it came out and it’s a pretty sweet story! I even liked the movie about it though they changed a few things.
    I hope you like it, btw, have you read A Wallflower Christmas by the same author?

    • Oh there’s a film based on this book? That’s interesting! Good to know you enjoyed reading the book and watching the movie.

      Nope, I haven’t read A Wallflower Christmas yet. I should probably check that out too.

  3. Pingback: Want Books: A Rose In Winter | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

