Foodie Reads

Soup and salad from Poulet

If you browse through my Instagram stream, my photos mostly involve books, food and postcards. I think that’s proof enough that I enjoy eating good food just as much as I enjoy reading a good book. So I’m delighted whenever I come across novels that focus on food, whether the characters are chefs or foodies just like me. I love reading books that make me hungry or crave for a certain dish or pastry while I’m reading – which is not always a good thing because there are times when I don’t have access to the type of food described in the book. Nevertheless, I still enjoy reading mouthwatering descriptions to the point where as a reader, you almost feel like you can taste what the author has imagined.

Here are some of my favorite foodie reads:

The Chocolate Thief by Laura Florand and the rest of the Amour et Chocolat books – Chocolate and Paris are the main ingredients for Laura Florand’s delicious romances, I can’t get enough of her books.

Truly by Ruthie Knox – Loved how honey was described in this one and it was also great how the characters went on a food trip around New York. I never knew taco could be sexy until I read this!

Nowhere But Home by Liza Palmer – It was lovely how Liza Palmer highlighted the warmth and comfort that a well-cooked, favorite meal brings to any person.

Seeing Me Naked by Liza Palmer – Seeing Me Naked wasn’t as focused on food as Nowhere But Home was but I thought it was great that the main character is a pastry chef.

Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen – I loved how food and cooking was combined with magic in this book.

Dessert and coffee from Tiong Bahru Bakery

What about you, what are your favorite reads that have food as one of the main aspects of the story? I would love to get some good recommendations! I’ve made myself hungry while writing this post but since it’s almost midnight, I should go to bed instead.

11 thoughts on “Foodie Reads

  1. Oh, very tempting to buy all the titles on this list that I don’t already have. Also, I just noticed that SAA has a story free on Kindle today — Waking Kate. The story’s out officially tomorrow.

  2. Well, there’s all the butterbug stuff in A Civil Campaign, but I doubt that’s exactly what you’re thinking of. πŸ™‚ I love all the books I’ve read from your list, so I’ll have to keep a lookout for the others.

      • Lol! You should really read the Vorkosigan books. πŸ™‚

        I guess it’s just Laura Florand and Garden Spells (which is my favorite Sarah Addison Allen book). I intend to read Truly because you and Brandy both liked it.

      • I’ve read Young Miles but I don’t remember what butterbugs are.

        Garden Spells is my favorite Sarah Addison Allen book as well, although the rest of her titles are quite lovely too. Oh I hope you enjoy Truly since you also liked Laura Florand’s books.

  3. Great idea, Chachic. Nowhere But Home and the Amour et Chocolat series would definitely make my list. Along with Sunshine, Bet Me, How to Save a Life, and How Green Was My Valley.

    • Ooooh cinnamon buns in Sunshine and chicken marsala in Bet Me! I should bump up How to Save a Life since I already have a copy. How Green Was My Valley is in my wishlist because I know you loved it.

  4. Pingback: Links from around the web 12-4-2013 | By Singing Light

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

