Chachic's Book Nook

Top Ten Things I Am Thankful For

8 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. Thanksgiving is not celebrated either here in Singapore or back home in Manila but I think it’s always a good thing to remind ourselves of things that we are thankful for. It’s a good way of focusing on the positive instead of negative things in our lives. I’ve chosen to put together a list centered on reading and blogging:

Books – I think this is a given but I wanted to include it in the list because I really can’t imagine what my life would be like if it didn’t have books in it. I’m especially thankful for amazingly well-written books that become favorites after I read them.

My Kindle – I’m thankful that an e-reader makes it a lot easier for me to read on the train or in a plane whenever I travel. I like the flexibility of having a wide range of choices while carrying just one device.

framed postcards

Bookish postcards – I’m a big fan of postcards because I think it’s fun to get a little something in the mail aside from bills. Postcards that have book-related designs are the best.

Goodreads – I’m grateful that a site like Goodreads lets me keep track of my books because they’re all over the place. Some of my physical books are here in Singapore while some are in Manila. Then I also have ebooks in my Kindle. There are times when I even forget if I already own a book or not.

TumblrTumblr is great for the times when I don’t feel like blogging but I want to go online and browse through stuff.

Comments – I’m always thankful for the comments that I receive in my blog posts. I really appreciate that other people take the time to read my posts and comment.

Movie adaptations of books – In spite of the fact that in most cases, the book is better than the movie, I still enjoy watching scenes and characters from books that I’ve read come to life on the big screen. Plus, movie adaptations bring more attention to the books, encouraging more people to pick them up.

Friends in real life who read – I rarely get to discuss books with real life friends because they seldom read the same titles that I do. So it’s a good thing when a friend gets to read something that I’ve also read and we can talk about it. This is also why I try to give books as birthday or Christmas gifts as much as I can.

YAckers

YAckers – I don’t get to participate in all the monthly discussions but interacting with the YAckers ladies is a lot of fun.

Book blogosphere community – Last but definitely not the least, I’m thankful for all the lovely people in the blogosphere. I like being part of a community where books and reading is such a significant aspect of everyday life.

What about the rest of you, what are you thankful for?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Things I Am Thankful For

  1. It’s good to be grateful, have a happy Thanksgiving. kelley—the road goes ever ever on

  2. I think, no matter what day of the year it is, it’s always a good idea to be grateful for everything in your life. I know that, personally, it reminds me that in spite of the many things that I’m still waiting on or haven’t gotten, there are so many blessings that I’ve been given. I loved seeing your list today, and I’m happy to report that I’m grateful for a lot of these things as well!

    • I agree, it’s always a good idea to be thankful for the blessings that we receive in our lives. I may not be totally happy with where I am right now but there are still a lot of things that I’m grateful for. I’m glad you feel the same way!

  3. I love Goodreads, too. I wish I’d joined it sooner, because some days I still don’t know if I’ve read a book or not.

    Bookish postcards are not something I’ve ever thought about collecting, but they do sound like fun.

    • I joined Shelfari first and then transferred my shelves to Goodreads because I noticed that it has more fun features. I think it’s great for keeping track of books that we own or have read.

      I’ve always liked sending and receiving postcards so when I discovered bookish postcards, I wanted to get my hands on them! They represent an overlap of two things I love: books and postcards.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

