Book to Movie: Catching Fire and Ender’s Game

It’s funny because last week I mentioned that I don’t get to see movies that often and yet this weekend, I was able to watch both Catching Fire and Ender’s Game. I haven’t reread these two books recently but I remember loving them when I first picked them up so of course, I was looking forward to the movie adaptations. So yes, I wasn’t able to work on book reviews this weekend because I watched movies instead! Good thing these movies are based on book so I can talk about them here on the blog. πŸ™‚

Catching Fire movie poster

Good thing I had a friend that warned me that Catching Fire is a pretty long movie so I didn’t drink anything before seeing it because I didn’t want to get up in the middle of the movie to go to the bathroom! I thought the movie was done very well, the cast did a great job of portraying their characters. It felt like the whole movie stayed true to the essence of the book. It’s an action-packed film that was also filled to the brim with emotion. I think it’s the kind of movie that people will be able to appreciate even if they haven’t read the book (as long as they’ve seen the first movie). I felt like it took a while to get my head out of the Catching Fire world and I spent the next day searching for videos of cast interviews because I wanted to see more of them. I think JLaw is awesome and I’m pretty sure most of you will agree with me on this one.

Ender's Game movie poster

It’s been years since I read Ender’s Game but I remember thinking that it’s such a brilliant book and I was amazed by it even though I’m not much of a sci-fi reader. I haven’t had a chance to pick up the sequels and I’m wondering if I should do so if they’re going to make movie adaptations of them. Anyway, the Ender’s Game movie was less accurate than Catching Fire in terms of following the events and details of the book. Don’t get me wrong, Asa Butterfield was great as Ender but I was able to empathize more with book Ender rather than movie Ender. To be fair, there was a lot that happened in the book and they can’t include everything in the movie so they just squeezed in the most important events. Also, they had to make it less violent in order to appeal to a younger audience, I guess. I did like seeing the sci-fi setting come alive on the big screen. I had fun watching the kids in action in the battle school and command school. I watched the movie with a friend who just finished reading the book so I’m not sure how the movie will work with someone who hasn’t read the book.

Have you seen these two movies? If you have, what did you think of them? Did you read the books prior to watching the movies? Usually, I make a point of reading books before seeing their movie adaptations but there are so many movies based on books that are about to be released. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to keep up with everything so I’ll probably just stick to the ones I’m interested in. I’m currently in the middle of The Book Thief by Markus Zusak because I want to read it before the movie comes out. How about the rest of you, do you also read books before watching movies?

8 thoughts on “Book to Movie: Catching Fire and Ender’s Game

    • You only have to wait a few days until December arrives! Yeah, I heard from a friend that they didn’t want to show the two movies at the same time over there. Hmm you’re right, those two posters look similar. I don’t think I’ve seen the King Arthur movie though.

      • I’m kind of fuzzy on Ender’s Game too. But I probably won’t reread it since I have a huge tbr pile as usual.

        That King Arthur movie was… strange. Trying too hard to make Guinevere into some Boadicea wannabe. But I give it points for moving the focus away from the love triangle of the medieval french romances to a somewhat more period-equivalent setting. It’s better than the Mists of Avalon miniseries at any rate.

      • I didn’t get to reread Ender’s Game before the movie because there wasn’t enough time. Haha I’m in the middle of several books now. I should try and finish one of them as soon as I can!

        Hmm really? Maybe I’ll skip it then if it was weird.

  1. I used to be like that, wanting to read the book first before the movie comes out. But then, I find that there is a greater chance of me not liking the movie that much, because I have the tendency to nit pick on the stuff that was in the book, but that they did not include in the film. So, if I watch the movie first and then read the book next, I hardly ever get disappointed or get nit picky, because the books, almost always offer more than what could ever fit in the movie adaptation. Does that make sense? Haha. πŸ˜€

    • I should have mentioned that I don’t do it for all of the shows/movies that I watch. Like I enjoyed watching the first season of Game of Thrones but I didn’t feel the need to read the books. Or I loved BBC’s Sherlock and yet I haven’t read all of the books.

      I see your point, you prefer watching the movie first so you wouldn’t be as disappointed if they don’t include details in the book. I think that makes sense but I don’t do it because I don’t want the movie to influence how I picture the characters when I read.

  2. I’m going to watch Catching Fire tomorrow with my sister, which I’m pretty psyched about! All I’ve been hearing about the movie so far is very positive, and that has me looking forward to seeing how it comes alive on the big screen. Plus, I’m a bit of a Jennifer Lawrence fangirl so I’m excited to watch her play Katniss again!

    • Yay, I hope you enjoy watching Catching Fire with your sister! Has she read the books too? Yeah, I don’t think I’ve heard of negative comments about the movie from friends and fellow bloggers. JLaw is awesome, I’m a fan of hers too. πŸ˜€

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

