Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: One and Only

9 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

So I still haven’t read anything by Diana Peterfreund but I will try to read For Darkness Shows the Stars as soon as I can. She recently released a new adult title under her pen name Viv Daniels and it looks really good! I enjoy reading books that have a college setting since they remind me of my own experience as a college student. I think the last book set in college that I read was Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and that turned out to be such a good read that I’m hoping I’ll find other titles that are just as well-written or even better. One and Only by Viv Daniels looks promising.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

One & OnlyOne night they can’t forget…

Tess McMann lives her life according to the secrets she’s sworn to keep: the father who won’t acknowledge her, the sister who doesn’t know she exists, and the mother who’s content playing mistress to a prominent businessman. When she meets the distractingly cute Dylan Kingsley at a prestigious summer program and falls in love, Tess allows herself to imagine a life beyond these secrets. But when summer ends, so does their relationship – Dylan heads off to Canton College while Tess enrolls at the state university.

One love they can’t ignore…

Two years later, a scholarship brings Tess to Canton and back into Dylan’s life. Their attraction is as strong as ever, but Dylan has a girlfriend… who also happens to be Tess’s legitimate half-sister. Tess refuses to follow in her mother’s footsteps, which leaves her only one choice: break the rules she’s always followed, or allow Dylan to slip away for a second time.

…And only one chance to get things right

What about you, what book is at the top of your wishlist? Have you read any good new adult novels lately?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

9 thoughts on “Want Books: One and Only

  1. Wow!! That does sound pretty intriguing at least, though it has soap opera potential (which I love if it’s done right, but can ruin a book if the author lets get things go over the top)

  2. You must read For Darkness Shows the Stars and Under a Starlit Sea SOON! The two heroines are complete polar opposites, so it’s amazing that she still managed to make it work. They’re pretty good foils for one another.

    Hmmm, not sure if this is considered new adult, but I’ve been reading a lot of Lauren Blakely’s books lately. Trophy Husband, Playing With Her Heart and Far Too Tempting. The first one has both main characters hosting their own web shows (one a fasion vlog, the other a gaming one) and the girl is older and decides to hook herself a trophy husband (aka hot younger arm candy) to get back at her ex who dumped her the day before her wedding for a younger woman he met in Vegas. The second is set in Broadway, so it’s actress/director but both of them have issues from previous relationships that they need to work out first. The last is about an indie rock star who wrote the “essential breakup album” and the music critic who’s interviewing her about her creative process. Except now she’s got a huge case of artist’s block and she doesn’t know how to fix it.

    • Hahaha Kim, you created a new title for the sequel. Under the Starlit Sea = Across the Star-swept Sea. Don’t worry, I’m planning to read For Darkness Shows the Stars soon. And I can read the sequel now that I’ve also finished The Scarlet Pimpernel.

      I’m not familiar with Laren Blakely’s books but I’ll check them out and see if they look interesting. Thanks for giving summaries of the book.

  3. I loved For Darkness Shows the Stars! I’m also looking forward to reading One and Only too, because it sounds amazing even if I don’t read a lot of NA. I hope you get to read it soon!

    • You’ve also read the sequel, right? I really should read them soon since I still haven’t had a chance to try Diana Peterfreund’s writing. One and Only looks pretty good, I’ll let you know what I think when I get to read it.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

