Chachic's Book Nook

WWW Wednesdays: November 20

13 Comments

WWW Wednesdays

WWW WEDNESDAYS… is a weekly event where you share (1) What you’re currently reading, (2) What you recently finished reading, and (3) What you think you’ll read next.

Yay, it’s Wednesday and the middle of the week. Just a few more days until the weekend. I’m looking forward to this weekend because I’ll be seeing two movie adaptations: Catching Fire on Friday and then Ender’s Game on Saturday. I hope I’ll be able to squeeze in some reading time as well. So here’s a quick mid-week update care of WWW Wednesdays.

The Boneshaker

I just finished reading The Boneshaker by Kate Milford, which we are discussing in the YAckers book club. I had a hard time getting into it because I found the first half slow but things picked up towards the end. But by that time, I just wasn’t invested in the characters so I didn’t like it as much as I was expecting. Still, check it out if you’re a fan of MG fantasy because it might be something that you’ll enjoy.

Welcome to Envy Park

I just started reading Welcome to Envy Park by Mina V. Esguerra, a Filipino chick lit novella, on my Kindle. It’s always fun to read Mina’s books because I can relate to the characters. Even more so for this one because the MC worked for five years in Singapore and is now back in Manila. I’m liking it so far. I’m also in the middle of The Book Thief by Markus Zusak but I have the paperback and I usually leave my copy at the flat. Since I do most of my reading on the train, I haven’t made that much progress on it. This made me realize that I’m really using my Kindle a lot more these days so maybe I should get more ebooks rather than physical copies in the future.

For Darkness Shows the Stars

As for my next read, I haven’t really decided what to pick up next. I think I’ll just go with what I feel like. If I’m in the mood for fantasy, maybe For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund, followed by Across the Star-swept Sea. Or the Touchstone trilogy by Andrea K. Höst. If I’m in the mood for contemporary YA, I’m considering Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell (since I enjoyed reading Fangirl), Girl Defective by Simmone Howell and Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller. As you can see, there are way too many tempting options in my TBR pile. But I think having a hard time deciding what to read next is a good problem to have so it’s all good. 🙂

What about the rest of you – what book have you just finished, what are you in the middle of and what are you planning to read next? Have you seen Ender’s Game or Catching Fire? If yes, what did you think of it?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

13 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays: November 20

  1. Ooh! Ooh! Read the Touchstone Trilogy.

    Alternately, if you read For Darkness Shows the Stars and Across the Star-swept Sea, you can let me know whether I should drop everything and read them, too.

    Sounds like you have a lot of great books lined up!

    I haven’t even touched my Kindle for two months — the INDA series took forever and I’m busy anyway — but I did pick up Envy Park. I think I have 5? books by Mina V. Esguerra now. Someday I need to actually read them!

    • I’ll try to read the Touchstone trilogy before the year is over because I know you and Estara both loved it. 🙂 Will definitely let you know what I think of For Darkness Shows the Stars and its sequel when I get to read it. I forgot to mention that I’m also interested in Sorrow’s Knot by Erin Bow.

      Yes, a lot of great books liend up! If only I had more time to read. Oh you’re finally finished with the Inda series? What did you think of it? You picked up Welcome to Envy Park! I think that’s so cool that you have copies of Mina’s books. Just wait until you’re in the mood to try one of them. 😛

      • Oh, I’m in the mood! But I don’t have time! But contemporary romances may be perfect when I finally do take a break for a day or two.

        I really, really enjoyed the Inda series — even though I didn’t fundamentally believe that the Marlovan society would work, that didn’t bother me or interfere with the reading experience. I’m glad everyone pushed me to try Sherwood Smith this year (finally).

      • Oh yes, I know the feeling! I’m also in the mood to read all of the titles I listed above but I don’t have enough time to read all of them. Contemporary romance is good when you’re interested in something light and fun.

        That’s good that you really enjoyed the Inda series! I read it a few years ago and haven’t been able to reread it so I don’t remember a lot of the details. Let me know when you get to try Sherwood Smith’s Crown Duel because I’d like to hear what you think of it. The prequel to Crown Duel is A Stranger to Command and is set centuries after the Inda series.

      • Oh, I *have* read Crown Duel/Court Duel and A Stranger to Command — probably you were among those who nudged me toward those. I loved them! http://www.rachelneumeier.com/2013/09/03/recent-reading-crown-duel-court-duel-a-stranger-to-command-by-sherwood-smith/

      • Oooh I don’t remember if I’ve read that post! I should check it out.

  2. I just finished re-re-re-reading Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones, I am currently reading The Amulet of Samarkand by Johnathan Stroud, and I am planning to read Winterling by Sarah Prineas next (I was actually thinking I would read The Boneshaker next, but I can’t seem to find it anywhere.).
    I haven’t seen Ender’s Game, but I am dying to! I loved the book.

    • Oooh Howl’s Moving Castle! I can’t remember the last time I reread that book. Have you seen the Hayao Miyazaki adaptation for that? I loved it. What do you think of The Amulet of Samarkand so far? I remember really enjoying that series but I can’t remember the details anymore. I’ve heard good things about Winterling but I haven’t read it. I hope you manage you find your copy of The Boneshaker! Maybe you’ll like it more than I did.

      I loved Ender’s Game too so I’m excited to see the movie. I haven’t read the sequels though.

      • I like The Amulet of Samarkand. I read Heroes of the Valley by Stroud a few years ago and loved it, but I only just picked up Bartimaeus. I love Bartimeaus, he is cunning. C=
        And yes! I have seen the Miyazaki adaption of Howl’s Moving Castle. I loved it. Every movie he makes is amazing!
        As far as the Ender’s Game sequels go, I heard they weren’t as good as the first one, so if you end up reading them and thinking otherwise…=P I’d love to know.

      • Oh I haven’t read Heroes of the Valley yet. I have a copy of that back home in Manila so I have no idea when I’ll be able to read it. Yeah, Bartimeaus is hilarious. He was the reason why I kept reading that series. 😛

        The Hayao Miyazaki adaptation of Howl’s Moving Castle was just lovely! I need to watch more of his movies.

        Really? That’s funny because I’ve heard that Speaker for the Dead is just as good as Ender’s Game, maybe even better. I’ll let you know if I ever get to read it!

  3. Let’s see – I’m currently reading The Host by Stephenie Meyer (which is a surprising choice to me, but my sister begged), I just finished Lover Unleashed by JR Ward (as part of the BDB Party) and I’m planning to finish a Love Reborn and Lover at Last by JR Ward. 🙂

    • LOL I haven’t read The Host and I’m not really planning to but I do understand why you picked it up. Sometimes, I also read books that have been recommended by relatives or friends.

  4. Pingback: Shoot That Book: The Book Thief | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

