Chachic's Book Nook

Tricksters

18 Comments

I have a confession to make. I’m really behind when it comes to movies and TV shows because I spend most of my free time sleeping, reading or blogging. There are times when my friends would ask me to watch a movie and then I’d say that I won’t be able to join them because it’s a sequel for something that I haven’t seen yet. Anyway, I was really curious about Thor: The Dark World since so many people seemed to enjoy it. I watched the first Thor movie on Friday night so I could watch the sequel with my flatmates on Saturday (note that I still haven’t seen the Avengers, Captain America or any of the Iron Man movies). I’m talking about seeing these movies here on my blog tonight because they are the reason why I wasn’t able to read or blog this weekend. Also, I wanted to bring up something that I’m interested in.

Thor 2

I guess it’s not surprising that I thought Loki was such a great character in both Thor movies, I liked him a lot more than Thor. While I’m not really familiar with Norse mythology, I’ve seen Loki mentioned in other books before as the trickster god. I find gods (or even mortal characters) like that intriguing. I was reminded of how much I liked the trickster god Kyprioth in Tamora Pierce’s Daughter of the Lioness duology and I think most of you know that I’m a big fan of Eugenides, the patron god of thieves in Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief series. Vessel by Sarah Beth Durst also has a trickster god called Korbyn but I kind of felt like he wasn’t as mischievous as the other two.

Loki from Thor

Image from Tumblr.

I Googled tricksters and found that Wikipedia has a definition of it:

The trickster deity breaks the rules of the gods or nature, sometimes maliciously (for example, Loki) but usually with ultimately positive effects (though the trickster’s initial intentions may have been either positive or negative). Often, the bending/breaking of rules takes the form of tricks (e.g. Eris) or thievery. Tricksters can be cunning or foolish or both; they are often funny even when considered sacred or performing important cultural tasks. An example of this is the sacred Iktomi, whose role is to play tricks and games and by doing so raises awareness and acts as an equalizer.

I like how cunning tricksters are and how things will never get boring when they’re involved. Sometimes they’re good guys but they can also be villains and more often that not, it’s difficult to decipher what their intentions are. I brought it up here because I would be interested in hearing about other well-written fantasy novels or series that have tricksters in them since I only know of the titles I mentioned above. Have you read any other books that have trickster characters in them? Or maybe TV shows or movies? Are you interested in tricksters like I am or you don’t really care for them? As always, let me know what you guys think. Hope you all had a good weekend, I felt like it went by so fast.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

18 thoughts on “Tricksters

  1. THE TRICKSTERS by Margaret Mahy. Srsly. Because if you aren’t familiar with Margaret Mahy’s *wonderful* books of magic and mayhem, you should be!

    • Oh I read The Changeover and loved it. I’ve had The Tricksters on my wishlist for a while now but I believe it’s out of print so it isn’t that easy to find a copy?

  2. I’m glad you liked the Thor movies! Loki is one of the best characters in all of the recent Marvel movies, and I love watching the ones with him! Thor 2 makes a lot more sense if you’ve seen the other films, which were quite good, so hopefully you’ll have a chance to catch those too. 🙂

    • My co-workers are saying that the Iron Man and Avengers movies are even better than the Thor ones so I look forward to seeing those. I just have no idea when I’ll be able to catch up on them.

  3. Loved the first Thor movie and adored The Avengers movie which features both Loki and Thor, too. You have to see it next!

    • Yep, planning to watch the Iron Man movies and Avengers next! I’m just not sure when I’ll be able to do that because I also want to finish the books that I’m currently in the middle of.

  4. Neil Gaiman’s American Gods. Anasi Boys, too, because well, Anasi 😀

  5. Anansi is a trickster. Not to mention Coyote. Love how he was handled in Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson series, but not so much in Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark-Hunter series (which I only read now out of habit, since the series has definitely deteriorated over the years). Oooh, and Puck/Robin Goodfellow! He’s in Julie Kagawa’s Iron Fey series, but I didn’t love him so much there because he morphed into a generic YA love triangle other guy. Still, Puck always has his moments no matter how badly he’s handled. :p

    • I’ve read the first three Mercy Thompson books and I don’t remember Coyote in there. LOL but then again, I don’t remember much in that series. I’ve also read the first book in Julie Kagawa’s series and I enjoyed it at that time but never felt the need to read the sequels. You’re right, Puck is another interesting trickster! Let me know if you come across any other titles that have characters like him. 😛

      • Coyote shows up in the fifth book I think. When things start getting interesting as more of Mercy’s backstory and origins are revealed. Puck shows up Mercedes Lackey’s Elemental Masters series, specifically in Wizard of London. Lackey tends to pad her books with lines from Shakespeare though.

      • Ahhh so that’s why I haven’t met Coyote. Too bad I don’t feel like continuing with the series. Hmm I think I’ve read one of the Elemental Masters books, I would have to look it up on Goodreads.

      • You should read Fire Rose. It’s an earlier book of hers that’s set in the Elemental Masters universe. And it’s a Beauty and the Beast retelling. Though honestly I was more interested in the magic system than in the Beauty and the Beast part. As for Mercy Thompson, it’s still on auto buy for me because of the Daniel dos Santos cover art. LOL.

      • Oh I’ve read Fire Rose! I’m a fan of Beauty and the Beast retellings so I picked it up. I think I read it before I started my blog so I don’t have a review of it.

  6. I’m glad to hear that you liked both Thor movies! I watched the first around October, and the second when it came out, and liked both. While Chris Hemsworth is certainly something to look at (read: eye candy), I really liked Loki too! He’s such a fun character, and it’s always interesting to try and see what a trickster will do next… even though I’ve never really been good at predicting that! Thanks for writing this post — your own suggestions and the comments are giving me ideas for what series/books I should potentially check out.

    • Hey, you watched the first Thor movie fairly recently as well! Good to know I wasn’t the only one who had to catch up. 😛 Chris Hemsworth really is eye candy – I had to laugh that they included a shirtless scene in there. I know, it’s always interesting to try and predict what a trickster will do and it’s fun when they end up surprising you. Hope you get to check out the books mentioned here. Let me know when you get the chance to read them.

  7. Pingback: Book to Movie Adaptations | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

