My Commenting Habits

typewriter weheartit

Image from We Heart It.

It looks like talking about comments is becoming a yearly habit for me – I had a post in 2011 and another in 2012. It’s a topic that I like revisiting because most bloggers will be able to relate to it. I think it’s also a good idea to look back and see what have changed in my commenting habits and what that stayed the same. None of you will find it surprising when I say I love getting comments on my blog posts. I’ve said it before: comments are like candy or chocolate (I prefer the latter). I usually publish a post at night and it’s always nice to wake up and find notifications for comments received the next day. I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels this way. I do get bummed when I don’t get any comments on some of my posts but I don’t let it get to me. I know that doesn’t mean that no one has read my post, it probably just means that people are too busy to comment.

I’m grateful for all the comments that I receive so I make it a point to reply to all of them. I may not be able to reply to comments right away but I do reply when I find the time for it. I think I got the habit from some of my blogging friends back when I first started – when I drop by their blogs again, I notice that they reply to the comments that I leave behind and that usually prompts me to comment back. I feel like replying to comments is a nice way of showing your appreciation to the commenter and it encourages them to reply back so you start having a discussion. I wonder if the rest of you do this as well, do you go back to blog posts that you’ve left comments on to see if the blogger replied?

I used to be better when it comes to reading posts and commenting on the blogs that I follow. I would go through my entire feed reader and comment on most of the posts that I find interesting – if it’s a review of a book that I’ve read or I’m curious about or if it’s a discussion post that I feel like contributing to. But nowadays, I rarely have time to do that. We all know how real life gets in the way of reading and blogging. I still drop by the blogs I follow but I don’t get to read or comment on them as I would like to. If there’s a blog post that you think I would like, feel free to send me a tweet or message about it because I’m more likely to check it out if someone points me in the right direction. There are also times when I read blog posts on my smart phone and it’s not easy to comment using that device so I usually send a tweet instead. I’ve found that sometimes, it’s more convenient to have conversations on Twitter rather than back and forth in the comment section on a blog post.

In terms of blogging platforms, I’m really happy with how WordPress handles comments – threaded discussions, no Captcha and even non-bloggers can leave comments without signing in (they can just enter their name and email address). I also like how WordPress has notifications when another WordPress blogger replies to a comment that you left on their blog. WordPress also sends a notification when there’s an incoming link from another WordPress blog, like when a fellow blogger links to your review. It’s nice to know when you get a signal boost like that and more often that not, I end up leaving a comment on a post when someone was nice enough to link back to my blog. Of course, this is just a personal preference and it doesn’t make me less likely to leave comments on another blogging platform. I just find WordPress more convenient in this sense. I also notice that some people click the “like” button on WordPress rather than leaving comments so maybe that’s their way of saying they agree with the post even though they don’t have anything specific to say about it.

So how many times did I mention the word “comment” in this post? LOL. How about the rest of you, what are your commenting habits? Do you reply to all the comments in your blog? Are you a serial commenter or are you more of a lurker in terms of commenting?

15 thoughts on “My Commenting Habits

  1. I haven’t been blogging much for the whole year and I’ve been commenting on other blogs even less than that. I changed to an iPhone earlier in the year and now I read most everyone’s blogs(including yours!) on my phone when I have little bits of time. It has definitely affected the number of comments I leave:-/ You are always so great at commenting back and I agree with you–it is awesome to wake up and have those comment notifications! Anyway, I am still reading, just hit commenting:) I miss chatting with you, though!

    • Flann! I haven’t been to your blog for ages so I can’t even remember the last time I left a comment there. I’m so sorry about that! But I can relate to slowing down when it comes to blogging because I’ve also done that this year and last year. Aww I’m touched that you still read my blog on your phone – I really don’t mind that you can’t always leave comments. I do miss chatting with you, we should exchange tweets or emails more often!

  2. I love that you do these posts on commenting! It really makes me think about my own habits when it comes to this aspect of blogging. I used to be more vigilant about commenting every day, but as you’ve mentioned, real life often gets in the way. I do try to leave thoughtful comments — often in bulk. The one thing I need more practice in is replying to comments! I rarely get to do that, and I think I should. Great post, as always!

    • I think it’s a good idea to talk about comments on a regular basis since all bloggers will be able to relate to it. Same with me, I would check my feed reader and comment on a daily basis back when life wasn’t so busy. But nowadays I check posts in bulk and that’s how I leave comments as well. I love that you leave thoughtful comments and that you try to do that in every post that you visit – it’s always nice when you shower comments on my blog. πŸ˜€ I forgot to mention that I think it’s also easier for me to reply to comments since I don’t get that many at any given time. Maybe it’s more difficult for you since you get more comments on your blog posts? πŸ˜›

  3. It can be SO hard to keep up with comments. I do my blog reading about once a week, and I try to comment on blogs of people who have recently visited us, because of course it shouldn’t just be a one-way street. We at least try to respond to comments on our own blog too, because we like the conversation. Even that can be overwhelming, though.

    I agree that WordPress makes it much easier to comment, although I’m still trying to figure out some technical issues with spam.

    Wendy @ The Midnight Garden

    • It can be tough to keep up with comments, I agree. I mostly catch up on blog reading during the weekend and like you, I also try to comment on blogs of people who have recently left a comment here because yes, I want to show them that I appreciate their effort. But yeah, I’m not as good as it as I’d like to be. I don’t get to reply to comments everyday so there are times when it takes a couple of days for me to respond. But like I said in my reply to Alexa above, it’s probably easier for me since I don’t get too many comments on my blog posts. πŸ˜›

      WordPress is awesome with comments. Your spam filter isn’t working? I think mine is doing a good job of weeding out spam comments.

  4. I definitely like going back and checking if if the blogger replied to my comment on his or her post. Although I don’t think I am a serial commenter. I do a lot of lurking with occasional commenting. It depends on whether I have enough to say about the review/post. And I still find it exciting when I get comments on blog posts, at least as much as I ever did when I first started to blog. So I try to make it a point to reply to them. But I don’t get a lot, so it’s still quite manageable. Like you said, it probably gets harder to reply to all, that is if you get a ton of them. Anyway. comments are awesome! Haha. We get to come across a lot of really cool people through them no? (Us included. Hihi.) πŸ˜€

    • Tin, I’ve noticed that you check back to see if I reply to your comments here and sometimes, you would comment back. Thanks for doing that. πŸ˜€ I think I used to be a serial commenter but nowadays, I tend to comment only when I have something substantial to say. Either that or I’ll reply with something simple like “SOLD!” when I come across a review that convinces me to read a book. Me too, I still get excited whenever I receive comments, it really doesn’t get old. Yep, comments are great and it’s a nice way of having discussions with interesting people. πŸ™‚

  5. I’ve been so bad with posting on my own blog lately but I still try to comment on people’s blogs whenever I can. As for the comments I receive on my blog, I always try to reply back to them (although I don’t know if my commenters ever come back to look–but I hope that they do!). Sometimes I prefer to tweet people if I like their posts because like you said, a tweet is more immediate, and I don’t know, it feels even more personal somehow.

    • Sandy, I think a lot of us have slowed down when it comes to blogging. I’ve learned to not worry too much about it and just blog whenever I feel like it. Sometimes it can be frustrating because I WANT to blog, I just don’t always have the time to sit down and churn out a review or a discussion post. I do come back and check out your blog whenever I leave a comment. πŸ˜› But yes, tweeting is also convenient because I’m always on Twitter ever since I switched to a smartphone last year.

  6. I agree. I have so much less free time these days. I’ll read through my feed on days I have extra time, but I don’t always have the time to comment. Or I have X-Amount of time and I can spend it blogging or reading blogs. I do try to comment back, but sometimes it takes a while because I see the comments in my email from my smart phone and then they’re old news when I’m on the computer. Stupid technology!

    • Same with me. If I have enough free time, I also have to consider blogging so I don’t always have time to visit other blogs and comment even if I want to. Haha yeah, it’s nice that you see a comment notification in your email right away but sometimes you tend to forget about it if you haven’t logged into your blog for awhile.

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Things I Am Thankful For | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: Thank You, 2013 Top Commenters | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

