Typhoon Haiyan / Yolanda

Typhoon Haiyan Philippine flag

Image from CBCNews Canada

Some of you might have heard of Typhoon Haiyan (called Yolanda back home) that swept through the Philippines late last week. I would like to thank all of you who have reached out to me to ask about my own family and friends – they’re doing okay because Manila wasn’t hit hard by the typhoon. It’s the provinces south of Manila, in the Visayas region, that badly need help. The news, pictures and videos that I’ve seen are devastating. My heart goes out to all the Filipinos who have suffered losses because of this calamity. There’s not much that I can do right now except spread the word about organizations currently doing relief operations in the area. For those who are interested in helping typhoon victims, I’m sharing links to news sites that have compiled lists of organizations you can donate to:

Rappler
CNN
Huffington Post
CBS News

The first link is for those based in the Philippines and the rest are international. I’m sorry for the links within links but I’m not affiliated with any of these organizations so I thought it would be a good idea to offer several choices.

Edited to add: just found out about this auction that some authors have put together for Typhoon Haiyan victims. Please check it out if you’re interested.

7 thoughts on “Typhoon Haiyan / Yolanda

  1. thanks for that post – answering two of my questions at once, how are you and how can I help! Glad to hear all is well with you. xx

    • I’m glad you find the post helpful! I was debating whether to put something up here on the blog since I’ve been retweeting a lot of information about the typhoon.

  2. I was worried but you seemed OK on twitter, so I didn’t want to bother you. Glad your loved ones are safe! The “after” videos online have been really crazy. I am donating to Shelterbox.

    • Yeah, I figured people would assume I’m okay (and my family and friends too) based on my tweets but I thought it would still be a good idea to post something on the blog. But feel free to tweet or message me anytime! I would never think that you’re bothering me, Janice. πŸ˜› The videos and pictures are just heartbreaking, aren’t they? It makes me so sad.

      Shelterbox seems like a good choice. At this point, so many organizations are doing relief operations that the difficulty lies in which one to support. I’m coursing my donation through my mom, who has friends in Oxfam and Doctors Without Borders. But I’m also thinking about Red Cross.

  3. In this difficult situation, the Filipino people will always be survivors and will remain resilient amid the grief and pain so many were going through, having lost so much. Filipinos are strong and will rise again. Just would like to share this. Take care. Be Strong and God Bless.

    http://nihawma.wordpress.com/2013/11/12/how-to-help-the-victims-of-typhoon-yolanda-codename-haiyan/

    http://nihawma.wordpress.com/2013/11/13/google-person-finder-for-typhoon-yolanda-codename-haiyan/

    • Alexa, I’m glad your family and friends are safe as well! The least I could do right now is to spread the word about how people can help so I’m more than happy to do it.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

