Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: Y: The Last Man, Volume 1: Unmanned

6 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

Y The Last Man Volume 1I had so much fun reading the Saga graphic novels by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples that it made me want to try more comic books. A friend of mine mentioned that Brian K. Vaughan’s other series Y: The Last Man is also pretty good and that all the books in the series have already been released. So if I ever get the chance to give it a try, I can read the books in one go (no need to wait for further installments). I looked at the premise and it does look interesting so I’ve added Y: The Last Man, Volume 1: Unmanned to my wishlist.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

“Y” is none other than unemployed escape artist Yorick Brown (his father was a Shakespeare buff), and he’s seemingly the only male human left alive after a mysterious plague kills all Y-chromosome carriers on earth. But why are he and his faithful companion, the often testy male monkey Ampersand, still alive? He sets out to find the answer (and his girlfriend), while running from angry female Republicans (now running the government), Amazon wannabes that include his own sister (seemingly brainwashed), and other threats.

What about you, what book is at the top of your wishlist? Do you read graphic novels? If yes, which ones are your favorites?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

6 thoughts on “Want Books: Y: The Last Man, Volume 1: Unmanned

  1. Graphic Novels is something that I am open too. But it’s the price that gets me. Like you said, they’re pretty expensive. So far, I’ve tried a couple of Batmans and also local ones like Trese and Elmer. I enjoyed all of them. My graphic novel wishlist, has lots of titles in them already. Hihi. From the top of my head: Building Stories from Chris Ware, Blankets by Craig Thompson, Maus by Art Spiegelman, Marbles by Gilbert Hernandez, Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi. And oh, Sandman by Neil Gaiman. 😀 I am going to add Saga and Y: The Last Man on it. 🙂

    • Yeah, graphic novels are more expensive than other books but I guess they’re priced that way because of all the colored illustrations included in them. I haven’t tried Elmer, is it good?

      Blankets and Persepolis are in my wishlist too! And Sandman as well but then there are so many titles in that series. You should definitely add Saga and Y: The Last Man to your list. 😛 Let me know if you get to read them.

      • Blankets and Persepolis are great books! I really think are able to break out from the stereotypes of comics being all about superheroes and powers and alien invasions. Powerful, very human stories that I think wouldn’t work as well when in purely prose form.

        Elmer is really good too!

        Sandman (as well as adaptations of Neil Gaiman’s other work) are good starting points too. Each “volume” is usually standalone, although part of a greater, overarching narrative.

        A couple of other recommendations off the top of my head:

        Completed graphic novels:
        – Brian K. Vaughan/Niko Henrichon’s “Pride of Baghdad” – short and emotional, about a family of lions who were trapped in the city during the American invasion of Iraq
        – Fabio Moon/Gabriel Ba’s “Daytripper” (this one made me cry! And it’s only 10 issues long for the complete story)

        Ongoing series:
        – Mike Carey/Peter Gross’ “The Unwritten” (can get very meta, and is about literature as well. Ongoing series though)
        – Bill Willingham’s “Fables” (a retelling/reimagining of fairy tales that kind of deals with this question: “what if fairy tale characters all lived among us in modern times?”)

      • Yeah, Elmer is pretty good. At first I kind of had a hard time accepting chickens acting as humans, but then eventually the story pulls you in. And it turned out to be quite an absorbing read. 🙂 Sandman has a lot of titles nga. But isn’t there one in novel form? Also, on that note, I notice that nowadays they do graphic versions of some bestselling novels. Like A Game of Thrones , and Twilight, and Percy Jackson etc. I realized that just now. Haha. 🙂

  2. I LOVE the Y The Last Man Series!!!!! Saga is great too, but Y The Last Man is definitely in the running for my favorite comics series of all time. Go for it!

    • Em, so you’re saying that Y: The Last Man is even better than Saga? 🙂 Will watch out for it then. Maybe I can grab a copy during a bookstore sale or something. It’s just that I have a feeling I would want to read the whole thing once I start and it won’t be cheap to get copies of the entire series.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

