Chachic's Book Nook

WWW Wednesdays: November 6

16 Comments

WWW Wednesdays

WWW WEDNESDAYS… is a weekly event where you share (1) What you’re currently reading, (2) What you recently finished reading, and (3) What you think you’ll read next.

I can’t believe it’s only Wednesday because I’m ready for the weekend! Anyway, I thought it would be a good idea to post a quick update by participating in WWW Wednesdays.

Truly

Yesterday, I finished reading Truly by Ruthie Knox, a contemporary romance novel that was made available in serial form. It’s one of my favorite romance reads this year and the whole book is now up on Wattpad if any of you would like to check it out. Before that, I finished read the two volumes of the Saga graphic novel series by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples that are currently out. Another really good read! Hopefully I can review them soon.

The Scarlet Pimpernel

I’m in the middle of The Scarlet Pimpernel on my Kindle. This title has been recommended several times for fans of Megan Whalen Turner’s writing and I decided to bump it up since I’m curious about a retelling of it (Across a Star-Swept Sea by Diana Peterfreund). I also started Fire and Hemlock by Diana Wynne Jones, which was supposed to be my Halloween read but I haven’t been able to get back to it.

The Boneshaker

I’m planning to start on The Boneshaker by Kate Milford because the YAckers will be discussing it this month. A few weeks ago, I mentioned that I wanted to read The Book Thief by Markus Zusak before the movie comes out and I still haven’t done that. Although I haven’t seen an announcement on when the movie will be released in Singapore.

What about the rest of you, what book have you just finished, what are you reading and what are you going to read next?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

16 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays: November 6

  1. I’ve read The Scarlet Pimpernel! I don’t think it’s the perfect book at all, but I do love some of the main parts. I don’t want to say what I love because I don’t want to spoil it for you, though. If you can get your hands on it, I recommend you watching The Scarlet Pimpernel with Anthony Andrews, Ian McKellen and Jane Seymour. It was made in the early 1980s, and I love it!! I think Peterfreund loves that movie too.

    • Quinn, I agree with you, The Scarlet Pimpernel does have it faults. I can see why other readers love it but I just didn’t enjoy it as much as I expected to. Diana Peterfreund mentioned on Twitter that I don’t have to read The Scarlet Pimpernel in order to appreciate Across a Star-swept Sea because the former is “very much a product of its time” and I think she’s right. Thanks for the heads up about the movie, I’ll try and see if I can find a copy of that.

  2. I just finished The House of Hades, which was a spectacular addition to one of my favorite series. I’m reading Allegiant, which I’m hesitant about but will definitely continue because I need to know how it ends. And then I think I’ll take a break from young adult and read some adult with Take a Look at Me Now!

    I hope you continue enjoying The Scarlet Pimpernel. I haven’t read it yet, but I have read Across A Star-Swept Sea, which I loved.

    • Alexa, I don’t read that series but I know so many readers were excited for The House of Hades. That’s nice that you really enjoyed reading it. 🙂 I’ve also been hearing a lot of buzz about Allegiant but that’s another series that I don’t follow.

      Okay, I just remembered that I haven’t read any of Diana Peterfreund’s books but I have both For Darkness Shows the Stars and Across a Star-Swept Sea in my TBR pile! I’m also curious about the Secret Society Girl books.

  3. The Boneshaker is so good!!! I love Kate Milford’s writing.

    I just finished reading Saving Thanehaven (which I didn’t like all that much). I’m planning to start Of Beast and Beauty tonight-a YA break from the MG Cybils reading. Then I will read The Storybook of Legends by Shannon Hale to get back on the Cybils books. I have SO MUCH TO READ.

    • Oh that’s good to know! I’ve never read anything by Kate Milford so I’m looking forward to The Boneshaker. This is the first time I’ve heard of Saving Thanehaven and I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t really like it. I hope Of Beast and Beauty is better! I’m a sucker for Beauty and the Beast retellings so I have that one in my TBR pile too. Let me know what you think of it.

      I’m not surprised that you have to read so many books. I’m not even on the Cybils panel and I still feel overwhelmed with the number of books I want to read before the year ends.

      • Of beast and Beauty is really good. I loved the way she played with the different elements of the tale. I think you will enjoy it.

      • Oh you’re done reading it? That was fast. Good to know that you enjoyed reading it. Are you planning to write a review of it? I’ll try and read it soon but like I said, there are way too many books clamoring for attention in my TBR pile.

  4. I love The Scarlet Pimpernel! And I’ve been meaning to read Boneshaker for awhile. I’m excited to see what you think of these.

    • Rosie, it makes me sad to say this but I didn’t love The Scarlet Pimpernel. Maybe if I read it when I was younger? It just felt like the descriptions were a little over the top and it took too long for Marguerite to figure out the identity of The Scarlet Pimpernel. I can see why other readers love it though. I hope you get to read The Boneshaker soon (or maybe in December when you’re not so busy with school).

      • I know that a big part of the reason I love the Scarlet Pimpernel was that I loved it as a kid, so there is alot of nostalgia surrounding it for me. I might even like the 1982 movie better than the book (don’t tell anyone!) so I would recommend giving that a try even if you weren’t in love with the book.

        Nakakinis naman ang homework, eh. Wala akong horas para magbasa. December, hurry up :-).

      • I know about nostalgic reads. I feel the same way about books that I loved as a kid. I’ll try to find a way to see that movie now that I’ve read the book. I’m just not sure if I’ll be able to find a copy of it.

        Haha mas mabuti na ang homework kaysa actual work. At least you’ll have a break in December! I’m also looking forward to December because I’m coming home for Christmas. 🙂

  5. I also read The Scarlet Pimpernel when I was a kid. I think what I love most about it now is the book it could be if written for modern tastes — if that makes sense. I think it is a PERFECT choice for retellings because of what modern writers can DO with it — so much space there to deepen characterization.

    I just finished the first half of the forth book of the amazingly massive INDA series by Sherwood Smith. Next up, finishing the rest of it! If I’d known how huge a work this was, I probably wouldn’t have started it, but I’m glad I did.

    • I agree with you, I’d be interested in reading retellings of The Scarlet Pimpernel to see what authors will do with the story. So far, Across the Star-swept Sea is the only retelling that I know that’s based on that book. Let me know if you come across another title.

      That is a pretty long series. I think I started reading it when only two books were out so I didn’t read them all in one go. It’s good that you’re enjoying it even if it’s taking you a while to finish the series. I haven’t read a Sherwood Smith novel in ages! I should pick up one of her newer books soon. I want something similar to Crown Duel or Sasharia en Garde.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

