Chachic's Book Nook

Authors and Book Bloggers with Good Behavior

26 Comments

Roald Dahl quote

Image from Tumblr.

Shae of Shae Has Left the Room (formerly known as Bookshelvers Anonymous) has chosen to focus on authors and bloggers with good behavior by compiling a list of them on her blog. I think it’s great to look on the positive aspects of interacting with authors and other readers instead of all the issues and drama that has been peppering the blogosphere lately. I know I’ve said this before but I just wanted to say that I try to stay away from drama because I want to keep my blog a happy place. I thought it would be a good idea to come up with my own list.

I think of authors as rock stars and I feel like one of the perks of being a book blogger is getting to interact with authors. I’m continually amazed at how nice and friendly some of them are, responding to tweets and emails about their books or even going the extra mile by sending a signed copy. Some of them are active bloggers themselves, talking about their writing process or how they promote their books. Sometimes, they even provide free content on their blog (snippets and short stories) as a way of reaching out to their fans. Most authors (probably all?) are also readers and I love getting recommendations from them. I put together a list of awesome authors, which is in no way comprehensive. I’ll probably remember to add someone after I publish this post. Oh and I feel a bit guilty about this but I thought I should mention that I haven’t even read the books of some of the authors I’ve interacted with – I’ll try to get to them soon! In alphabetical order:

Chris Mariano
Chrissie Peria
Elizabeth Fama
Elizabeth Wein
Francisco Stork
Hazel Osmond
Ilona Andrews
Julie James
Laura Florand
Liza Palmer
Mary Ann Rivers
Meg Burden
Megan Whalen Turner
Melina Marchetta
Mina V. Esguerra
Nicola Moriarty
Rachel Neumeier
Robin McKinley
Ruthie Knox
Sarah Rees Brennan
Shannon Hale
Sherwood Smith
Tessa Bailey

Mary GrandPre

Artwork by Mary GrandPré

One of the reasons why I love being a book blogger is getting in touch with fellow readers and book bloggers. I may not visit or comment on other book blogs as much as I would like but if I had all the time in the world to browse online, I would visit these blogs:

Alex of A Girl, Books and Other Things
Alexa of Alexa Loves Books
Allison of The Allure of Books
Ana and Thea of The Book Smugglers
Angie of Angieville
April of Good Books and Good Wine
Brandy of Random Musings of a Bibliophile
Capillya of That Cover Girl
Charlotte of Charlotte’s Library
Estara (who doesn’t have a blog but I wanted to include her in the list)
Flannery, Catie and Tatiana of The Readventurer
Heidi of Bunbury in the Stacks
Holly of Book Harbinger
Jamie of Perpetual Page Turner
Janice of Specfic Romantic
Jo of Wear the Old Coat
Kristen of Fantasy Café
Laura and Donna of Bitching, Books and Baking
Li of Bookdaze
Maggie and Noelle of Young Adult Anonymous
Maja of The Nocturnal Library
Mandee of The Bookish Manicurist
Maureen of By Singing Light
Michelle of See Michelle Read
Nomes of Inkcrush
Reynje of Wordchasing
Sandy of Pirate Penguin’s Reads
Shae of Shae Has Left the Room
Steph of Steph Su Reads
Tin of Rabbitin
Tina of I Like It Dog-eared
Wendy Darling of The Midnight Garden

Like I said, this is not a comprehensive list and I’d like to apologize in advance to anyone I might have forgotten to include. I like highlighting nice authors and bloggers like the ones mentioned here as a way of saying thank you to everyone who has been so wonderful. You guys make blogging worth all the effort. 🙂

Let’s spread the good will, who are some of the authors and bloggers you are thankful for?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

26 thoughts on “Authors and Book Bloggers with Good Behavior

  1. Love it, Chachic! I have my nose pressed to the screen as I study these names. Some make me squeal (because I know them and they rock) and others I’m trying to figure out who they are, because they’re not familiar but they sound like lovely people. Thank you for giving me new people to check out!

    • Shae, thank you so much for the idea for this! It’s always nice when someone highlights the positive aspects of being a book blogger. 🙂 Also, I like seeing lists like the one you put together because it will help me find new-to-me blogs. Hope you find some people you’d like to follow from my list – some of them are Filipino authors and bloggers.

  2. Lovely post! Love seeing bloggers spreading good cheer around. 🙂

  3. Thanks so much for the mention Chachic 🙂 xx

  4. Thank you, Chachic! I’m honored to be on your list. 🙂

    • Kristen, whenever I see your blog, I am reminded that I haven’t been reading as much fantasy as I would like. I have a few lined up, I should bump them up before the year ends. 😀

      • Which fantasy books do you have lined up? I hope you end up enjoying them!

      • Some of the ones on my TBR pile: For Darkness Shows the Stars, Monstrous Beauty, Days of Blood and Starlight, Among Others and The Emperor’s Soul. Oh and I also grabbed my copy of Tigana when I was in Manila last weekend. Have you read any of those? 🙂

  5. One of the main reasons I love blogging is because I get to find fellow readers and bloggers that share my love of books too. After which general fangirling will ensue. 🙂 I really appreciate it too when authors get in touch with their readers, or when I hear stories about authors being nice and awesome to their fans. It makes me feel warm and fuzzy. 🙂

    Thanks for the mention Chachic! And thanks for spreading some lovin through this post. 🙂

    • It’s always nice when an author responds to a tweet or message, isn’t it? It makes my day when that happens. I like hearing stories about authors being friendly to readers, which was why I wanted to make this list – to highlight the ones I know of. 🙂

  6. Aw, this is so lovely, thanks for the mention 🙂 Also, thanks for all the suggestions for new blogs to check out – always great to find new bookish friends!

    • Rey, I know we’ve chatted on Twitter about this but I wanted to say it again: I don’t get to visit or comment as much as I would want to but I love your blog. 😀 You make me want to shoot lomo again. Speaking of which, I forgot to grab my camera when I went home last weekend! Maybe in December. I can try looking for places that sell rolls of film first. 🙂

  7. Ah, ditto, Chachic!

    I agree that it sometimes feels as though it’s all about the controversy, but actually 99% of the book blogging community + authors are lovely people, and it’s always nice to have posts that point that out!

    Li

  8. *hugs* thanks for the shout out 😉
    Sorry I’m a bit of a lurker sometimes and not always comment 🙂 but I do love your blog so much 😀

  9. Aw, thank you! I love the fact that there’s such a strong community amongst a certain set of book bloggers. And it’s definitely good to celebrate that!

    • The strong community is only amongst a certain set of book bloggers? Hmm maybe because there are so many bloggers out there, each blogger finds his/her own set of blogger friends and the sense of community is strong in that group. Or that friendships are formed one to one.

      • Yes, I definitely think there are kind of overlapping circles of blogging friends (and reading friends, for that matter–I totally count Twitter). I know you have some blogging friends whose blogs I don’t read, for instance. Like friends-of-friends in the off-line world.

  10. Oh my, thanks for thinking of me ^^. I actually have a retired blog that’s not off the net and did some reviews there – though it basically was a personal blog and I haven’t updated it for real since… the middle of 2009.

    Hmm, you’ve covered a lot of my favourite authors and bloggers (Li, Ana/Thea, Janice, Angie, Heidi of Bunbury) already, so let’s see if I have anything to add.

    I like the Book View Cafe blog they have interesting mixes of posts and when there are new ebooks available they have excerpts from them. That actually would be two birds with one stone – as it’s authors blogging together, heh.

    Authors whose posts I regularly read on Goodreads or their LJs/blogs not mentioned:

    Andrea Höst
    C.J. Cherryh
    Sharon Lee
    Alexis Hall (he’s a lovey ^^ – I just have to finally read the book; I came across him with his romance reviews at DA)
    Martha Wells

  11. Likewise, I’m delighted to be included here! Although I’m not so good at answering fan mail… 😛 Never thought I’d say that!

  12. Awwww, thanks for including me!

    Also, this list makes me want to read Sherwood Smith!

  13. I’m so honored that you included me on your list! I completely agree about focusing on the positive side of the blogging world, and embracing those people (authors, bloggers and publishers alike) who make it such a great place. It’s a nice thing to be able to give a shout-out to amazing people — and I think you deserve one too!

  14. Pingback: Top Ten Things I Am Thankful For | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

