Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: Elizabeth the First Wife

6 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I wonder if followers of this blog have noticed that I always publish my Want Books posts on Saturdays? I don’t post every week but I like highlighting books on this meme because I usually go through the posts whenever I’m in the mood to buy some books. I have a Goodreads wishlist but I feel like my Want Books choices are higher priority. Today’s pick comes from a recommendation by my friend Angie of Angieville. Angie’s reviews are so convincing that there have been times when I’ve grabbed a book as soon as I finished reading her review. A few months ago, she reviewed Elizabeth the First Wife by Lian Dolan and it’s been on my wishlist ever since. She mentioned that it’s similar to Seeing Me Naked by Liza Palmer and What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty, which I both loved so I really want to see if I’ll like Elizabeth the First Wife just as much.

Elizabeth the First WifeHere’s the summary from Goodreads:

Elizabeth Lancaster, an English professor at Pasadena City College, finds her perfectly dull but perfectly orchestrated life upended one summer by three men: her movie-star ex-husband, a charming political operative, and William Shakespeare. Until now, she’d been content living in the shadow of her high-profile and highly accomplished family. Then her college boyfriend and one-time husband of seventeen months, A-list action star FX Fahey, shows up with a job offer that she can’t resist, and Elizabeth’s life suddenly gets a whole lot more interesting. She’s off to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival for the summer to make sure FX doesn’t humiliate himself in an avant-garde production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream.

I don’t think I’ve seen anyone else talk about this book so if you’ve read it, let me know what you thought of it. What about you, what book is at the top of your wishlist? Hope you’re all enjoying a good book this weekend.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

6 thoughts on “Want Books: Elizabeth the First Wife

  1. I read this and HELEN OF PASADENA a few months ago after Angie’s reviews too and really enjoyed them both. I think you’d especially like this one.

    • You’ve read this! And you liked it as well. I should really check it out then, I have a feeling I’ll enjoy reading it. So this one is better than Helen of Pasadena?

  2. Still haven’t read HELEN OF PASADENA yet. But I really do think you’d enjoy this one, Chachic. 🙂

    • Angie, I have been really tempted to grab the Kindle copy of this because of your review. I’ll probably give in when I feel like I’m in the mood to read it. 🙂

  3. I have never heard of this book before, but it sounds fascinating. I really can’t wait to see what you think of it when you finally get to read it! Your reviews will definitely sway me either way 🙂

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

