Chachic's Book Nook

Blogger Meet Up: Alexa of Alexa Loves Books

2 Comments

Alexa of Alexa Loves Books and I are both Filipino book bloggers but while I’m based in Singapore, she’s based in New York. This is why we haven’t had the chance to meet in person until yesterday. I think Alexa is such a sweet person, she keeps leaving thoughtful comments on my blog and we’ve also chatted online about what it’s like to be away from family and friends in the Philippines. She recently went back home to get married (check out her lovely wedding video) and this weekend, she and her hubby, Mr. A, traveled to Singapore for a short vacation. I’m so glad they both agreed to meet up with me!

Alexa and Chachic

We had lunch at Thai Express and just kept talking about so many things over grilled chicken and Pad Thai. We realized that all three of us studied in the same university but graduated in different years, which was probably why I never met them. It was a given that we would talk about books and blogging but what was even more fun was talking about our mutual love of postcards, animals, the Singapore Zoo and Universal Studios. We also talked about what it’s like to live abroad – Alexa mentioned that New York is similar to Singapore in the sense that they’re both the most expensive cities in their respective areas. We also had a discussion about Chasing Dreams and how we would both love to have a job that’s book-related but it’s difficult to make that happen.

Roald Dahl books in Times

I wore my Matilda stamp pendant because a I knew a fellow book lover like Alexa would recognize it and sure enough, we had quite a long discussion about the Roald Dahl books that we read and loved as kids. Even Mr. A is a Roald Dahl fan. πŸ™‚ We love Matilda because we could totally relate to her life as a bookworm but we were also quite taken with The Witches, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and The BFG. We also talked about how all three of us are part of the Harry Potter generation because we grew up reading the books and watching the movies. All throughout high school and college, the anticipation for a new book or movie in the series was there. If you’re familiar with our blogs, you would notice that both Alexa and I read a lot of YA. But we also talked about how we enjoy reading romances – more of contemporary on for me and historical for her – and we agreed that they’re good books for cleansing the reading palate.

The Dream Thieves in Times

Both Alexa and I are in the middle of The Dream Thieves

You how sometimes, you’re worried that when you finally meet someone in person, there would be awkward silences and you wouldn’t know what to say to each other? We definitely didn’t have that problem yesterday! I felt like I could talk to both Alexa and Mr. A for hours because we wouldn’t run out of things to discuss. Hopefully, this won’t be the last time we’ll see each other. It’s always a pleasure to meet book blogging buddies in person – to finally put a face to the person you have been communicating with for months (or years, in some cases). I’m thankful that I’ve had the opportunity to meet several book bloggers this year.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

2 thoughts on “Blogger Meet Up: Alexa of Alexa Loves Books

  1. Pingback: Best of 2013 | Chachic's Book Nook

  2. Pingback: Blogger Meet Up: Liyana of Liyaland | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

