Top Ten Tuesday: Best Sequels

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is best sequels. Here are some books that I thought were just as good as (or even better) than the first book in the series:

The Queen of Attolia Final

The Queen of Attolia and The King of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner – I thought The Thief was a good book but I was stunned by how amazing these two sequels are. I’ve reread them several times but they never get old. Sigh, wonder when the next book in the series will come out?

A Coalition of Lions ebook

A Coalition of Lions, The Sunbird and The Mark of Solomon duology by Elizabeth Wein – As much as I love EWein’s writing, I don’t think The Winter Prince was for me. I’m so glad my introduction to her Lion Hunters series was through The Sunbird because I fell in love with it right away.

Son of the Shadows

Son of the Shadows by Juliet Marillier – Daughter of the Forest was such a lovely, lyrical read and I delighted to discover that the sequel is just as good. I think I may even like Liadan a little bit more than Sorcha.

Blood Challenge

Blood Challenge (book 7 in the World of the Lupi series) by Eileen Wilks – My favorite out of all the books that are currently out in this series! I loved how it kept surprising me right until the end.

Silver Shark

Silver Shark by Ilona Andrews – Novellas like this are the kind that you read in one sitting. I would love to see more books about this world.

Where She Went

Where She Went by Gayle Forman – I guess I was lucky that it took me a while to read Gayle Forman’s books because I got to read this together with If I Stay and I think it balances the story arc so well.

The rest of the books in my list are more companion novels rather than sequels, even though they were published after the first book.

Fire

Fire – Loved so many things in this novel: the characters, the romance, the setting and how unique monsters in this world are.

Piper US Aussie

The Piperโ€™s Son – Together with Jellicoe Road, The Piperโ€™s Son is my favorite Melina Marchetta novel. ALL THE FEELS!

The Chocolate Kiss

The Chocolate Kiss and The Chocolate Touch by Laura Florand – I think it’s great that each of the books in the Amour et Chocolat series has a different tone and feel, makes it much more fun to read them.

Down London Road

Down London Road by Samantha Young – Even better than the first book, this was such a good romance that started off with the two protagonists not even liking each other. Love-hate relationships FTW!

What about you, do you agree/disagree with any of my choices? Have you read sequels that are just as good or even better than the first book in a series? Feel free to share what those titles are.

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Sequels

    • Sometimes while browsing through other people’s lists, I would find titles that I would have included in my own if I remembered them. Glad you agree with Melina Marchetta and Laura Florand being included here!

    • I liked Fire and Graceling about the same, I think. It was Bitterblue that didn’t live up to my expectations. There are times when I couldn’t come up with 10 books for Top Ten Tuesday either so I understand why you didn’t participate this week.

  1. Queen of Attolia! King of Attolia! Awesome awesome sequels. But I am going to stop right there before this rant gets any longer. Hihi.

    I’m pretty sure Son of Shadows would have been on my list, if I have already read it. And perhaps A Piper’s Son too, which I have neatly stored on my bedside table. Geez, I have so many books left unread. And I think I like Graceling the most in the entire series. I wasn’t quite taken in by Fire as much as you all did. But I do love The Dells and it’s colorful monsters and rolling hills. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Tin, you know you can talk as much as you want about MWT on my blog. No one’s going to stop you. ๐Ÿ˜›

      I hope you get to read both Son of the Shadows and The Piper’s Son soon! Those two titles are in my list of absolute favorites. Sorry to hear that you didn’t love Fire as much as Graceling, like I mentioned in a reply above: I had that issue with Bitterblue. I was underwhelmed by that one.

    • And I agree about Fire being awesome and Bitterblue being below par. It’s not a common opinion though, at least from what I’ve seen on Goodreads! ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad to see I’m not alone.

    • Yay, those two books are just lovely – very different from each other but beautiful in their own way. I hope you enjoy reading them just as much as I did. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I know what you mean about Bitterblue, I remember seeing so many positive reviews of it but I guess I was just expecting more from it.

  2. Goodness, where have I been? I haven’t read so many of these before! WHERE SHE WENT, DOWN LONDON ROAD, or the EWein books (do you suggest with starting with THE SUNBIRD then?). Also I totally agree on SON OF THE SHADOWS and QUEEN of ATTOLIA. And FIRE! And THE PIPER’S SON! Amazing. Also the Laura Florand books… So it looks like I just need to read those others I haven’t yet ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Haha I love your reaction! So you’ve never read Gayle Forman’s If I Stay and Where She Went? You’re in for a treat, I really enjoyed reading those two companion novels. Yes to Down London Road as well, I still have to work on my review of that. I got the recommendation for that from Angie. ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you agree with my other choices.

      For EWein’s books – you can start with any of the first three books (The Winter Prince, A Coalition of Lions and The Sunbird) but the last three books have to be read in order (The Sunbird, The Lion Hunter and The Empty Kingdom). So I started with The Sunbird then followed that up with the last two novels in the series. I went back and read the first two after that. Does that make sense? The Sunbird is a good one to start with, I think. Let me know when you get the chance to read her Lion Hunter books, would love to know what you think of them.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

