Want Books: Hate is Such a Strong Word

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

As if I don’t have enough Aussie YA books in my wishlist, I keep adding more and more of them whenever I come across an intriguing title featured by an Aussie blogger. I think I first heard about Hate is Such a Strong Word by Sarah Ayoub when my friend Nomes revealed the cover on her blog Inkcrush. Whenever Nomes features a new Aussie novel on her blog, my usual reaction is “I WANT THAT! Why is it only available in Australia?!” So off the title goes to my wishlist. I’m a fan of Hate is Such a Strong Word’s cover, I like all the background text and how the book’s title pops out. Normally, I don’t like seeing actual people or models in book covers but I’m fine with the two characters in this cover since I don’t think they’re the main focus of the cover design.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Hate is Such a Strong WordSophie Kazzi is in Year 12 at an all-Lebanese, all-Catholic school where she is invisible, uncool and bored out of her brain. While she′s grown up surrounded by Lebanese friends, Lebanese neighbours and Lebanese shops, she knows there′s more to life than Samboosik and Baklawa, and she desperately wants to find it.

Unfortunately, her father has antiquated ideas about women, curfews and the Lebanese ‘way’. Bad news for Sophie, who was hoping to spend Year 12 fitting in and having fun – not babysitting her four younger siblings, or studying for final exams that will land her in an Accounting course she has no interest in.

Just when it looks like Sophie′s year couldn′t get any more complicated, Shehadie Goldsmith arrives at school. With an Australian father and a Lebanese mother, he′s even more of a misfit than Sophie. And with his arrogant, questioning attitude, he also has a way of getting under her skin…

But when simmering cultural tensions erupt in violence, Sophie must make a choice that will threaten her family, friends and the cultural ties that have protected her all her life.

Are her hates and complaints worth it? Or will she let go… and somehow find her place?

Seems like a fun contemporary novel. I don’t think I’ve read a book with a Lebanese main character before. What about you, what book is at the top of your wishlist?

Hope you’re all having a lovely weekend! I had a pretty fun Saturday – met a friend for lunch. She’s currently in the middle of The King of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner (can you guess who recommended the series to her?) so of course, we talked about Gen. Then we dropped by the Public Garden bazaar this afternoon. Here are some pictures:

Public Garden

washi clouds at public garden

wpid-IMG_20130921_175744.jpg

wpid-IMG_20130921_173219.jpg

wpid-IMG_20130921_185544.jpg

2 thoughts on “Want Books: Hate is Such a Strong Word

  1. Hate is Such a Strong Word sounds like an excellent contemporary novel! I’d love to give it a read, and like you, I think the fact that the MC is Lebanese is absolutely fascinating. ALSO, that bazaar looks fabulous! I want to go and see it if it’s still around when I’m there this week.

    • It really looks good. It was one of the titles that I was thinking of getting when I ordered books from Oz. Sigh, maybe I can include it in my next batch.

      The bazaar was just a weekend thing but you can visit Paper Market if you want to get those MT washi tape rolls. 😀 And there are lots of postcards all over Singapore, more than what’s available in Manila.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

