Chachic's Book Nook

Top Ten Books On My Fall 2013 TBR List

10 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. I keep seeing US book bloggers tweet about having spice pumpkin lattes so it must be autumn over there. Wish that drink was available here because I wouldn’t mind giving it a try. Like I said before, there really aren’t any seasons here in Singapore so when I say “my fall TBR list”, I’m referring to American fall months. So I did a lousy job with my summer TBR list, I only read 2 out of 10 books (and currently in the middle of the 3rd one). I didn’t even get to half of them! But then I don’t feel too bad about that because I usually just go for what I feel like reading at the moment. I’m still looking forward to reading the books in my summer TBR pile but I also wanted to talk about some titles that I want to read in the coming months.

First off, I have a friend who will be passing by Singapore from Australia at the end of the month so I ordered three Aussie YA books (from Booktopia, thanks to Maggie for recommending the site) that I’ve been wanting to read:

Girl DefectiveWildlifeAlaska

Girl Defective by Simmone Howell – I haven’t read anything by this author and I think this one would be great to start with as I’ve seen rave reviews from Aussie bloggers.

Wildlife by Fiona Wood – I enjoyed reading Six Impossible Things and I have a feeling Wildlife will be even better because I heard that it has an older feel to it.

Alaska by Sue Saliba – I’ve heard that the writing is lovely in this one and I just couldn’t resist that pretty cover.

Next are several fall releases that I’m looking for:

Friday Brown UKFangirlWhere the Stars Still ShineJust One YearThe Dream ThievesUntoldShadows

Friday Brown / Friday Never Leaving by Vikki Wakefield – Continuing with the Aussie YA theme, I can’t wait to read Friday Brown because All I Ever Wanted was just lovely. I think it’s awesome that this title is readily available now that it has US and UK editions.

Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller – I heard that this even better than Trish Doller’s debut novel, Something Like Normal. I’m excited to find out if that’s true!

Just One Year by Gayle Forman – Ahhh, I really can’t wait to read this companion novel to Just One Day! I want to know what happens to Allyson and Willem after the end of the first book.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – Having enjoyed Attachments, I have a feeling I will like Rainbow Rowell’s YA novels too.

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater – Looking forward to learning more about the boys and Blue. So many friends have raved about this sequel, I hope I end up loving it as well.

Untold by Sarah Rees Brennan – I’ve been wanting to read this since I finished Unspoken last year. How can I not when it ended the way it did?

Shadows by Robin McKinley – It’s a Robin McKinley novel! Of course, I want to read it.

So many good titles are being released this fall. I noticed that all of the titles in this list are YA. If I do get to read all of these, I’ll probably mix them up with some adult reads. Keeping my fingers crossed that I’ll be able to follow this list! What about the rest of you, what books are in your priority list for the coming months? Are you excited to read any of the titles in my list?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Books On My Fall 2013 TBR List

  1. It’s not autumn yet in Texas–summer doesn’t give up easy here. People can drink a pumpkin spice latte in the 90 degree weather if they like, though.

    I’m looking forward to both Raven Boys books, and Fangirl. 🙂

    • I’m currently reading a book about Texas (Nowhere But Home by Liza Palmer) and the heat and humidity keeps being brought up. I wonder if it’s worse than the weather here in Singapore or just about the same?

      Hope you enjoy reading Maggie Stiefvater’s books and Fangirl!

      • I’m guessing it depends on where in both places you live, but my bit of Texas is being a little cooler (high in the low 90s instead of the 100s) and rainy and humid right now.

        I will, I’m sure. I just have to work my way through the TBR pile to them. 🙂

      • Well, Singapore is such a small country so the weather is consisent all throughout. Low 90s in Fahrenheit will be around low 30s in Celsius, that’s usually the temp over here.

        Having way too many books is a good problem to have. 😛

  2. Great books! I’m in the middle of Fangirl and is AWESOME! I hope you get to read ’em all 😀

  3. Fangirl and Shadows both made their way onto my list as well. So excited to read another Robin McKinley work!
    I haven’t read Something Like Normal, but I was pretty impressed with Where the Stars Still Shine overall.
    I hope you’re able to get to all of your fall reads in the next few months!

    • Amanda, good to know we have some similarities in our lists! I reread The Blue Sword recently and it was just as good as I remembered. I’m excited to read Shadows. And I really hope her next book will be the sequel to Pegasus.

      Lucky, you’ve read Where the Stars Still Shine already! Good to know that you were impressed with it, that must mean it’s really good.

      I really hope I’ll be able to read these soon, preferably by the end of this year.

  4. Yay Aussie YA!!

    Oh my gosh, Chachic, your comment about lack of seasons (and pumpkin spice lattes) made me so sad!! It feels like it’s starting to cool down here and I can’t wait for some chilly nights curled up with a blanket and a good book.

    I’m so excited for you to read Friday Brown. I’m going to start Dream Thieves this week and Just One Year whenever I get my grubby hands on it!!

    • Woohoo, Aussie YA! Thanks again for recommending Booktopia, Maggie. They sent me an email that the package has been delivered today. 😀 Can’t wait to get those books.

      You know when I was younger, I would get confused about seasons because of the books that I read. Like when they say school starts in September (it starts in June back home) during autumn when leaves turn orange/brown and start to fall. Because that definitely didn’t happen in the Philippines. Haha. But I’m fine with tropical weather now, not sure if I can ever get used to living in a country with changing seasons. I’m just not a fan of the heat and humidity and they do to books! Boo spots and yellow pages.

      Will keep you posted when I start Friday Brown, I know that’s one of your favorites. I’m excited for The Dream Thieves and Just One Year as well!

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

