Chachic's Book Nook

The Chocolate Touch by Laura Florand

13 Comments

My love affair with Laura Florand’s Amour et Chocolat contemporary romance series started with The Chocolate Thief. I was captivated by that first book and I knew I would want to read the rest of the novels as soon as they came out. I have been really curious about The Chocolate Touch ever since I found out who the two main characters are going to be – both Dominique and Jaime were mentioned in the first book. I was lucky enough to get a review copy of this and I read it as soon as I could. I was a bit bummed that The Chocolate Touch’s cover didn’t follow the design of the first two and I don’t think the couple in it is a good representation of the characters. But that’s a minor quibble that has nothing to do with the contents of the novel.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

The Chocolate TouchDominique Richard’s reputation says it all — wild past, wilder flavors, black leather and smoldering heat. Jaime Corey is hardly the first woman to be drawn to all that dark, delicious danger. Sitting in Dom’s opulent chocolaterie in Paris day after day, she lets his decadent creations restore her weary body and spirit, understanding that the man himself is entirely beyond her grasp.

Until he touches her…

Chocolate, Dominique understands — from the biting tang of lime-caramel to the most complex infusions of jasmine, lemon-thyme, and cayenne. But this shy, freckled American who sits alone in his salon, quietly sampling his exquisite confections as if she can’t get enough of them — enough of him — is something else. She has secrets too, he can tell. Of course if she really knew him, she would run.

Yet once you have spotted your heart’s true craving, simply looking is no longer enough…

A draft of my review for The Chocolate Touch has been sitting on my dashboard for weeks. I don’t know why but I just couldn’t find the right words to describe what it’s like to be immersed in Laura Florand’s delectable version of Paris. But let me try. What I love about the Amour et Chocolat books is that even though each book features a French chef or chocolatier, their personalities are so distinct that reading about them never gets boring. Plus I feel like the writing in each has a different tone – The Chocolate Thief is deliciously entertaining, The Chocolate Kiss is whimsical with magic realism feel to it while The Chocolate Touch has such a sweet and endearing romance. This latest installment in the series is filled with warmth that’s very comforting, like drinking hot chocolate on a rainy day. Kind of similar to how Jaime visits Dom’s chocolaterie everyday, consuming his creations and letting them revive her both physically and emotionally. I liked the contrast between Dom and Jaime – how he initially felt that he’s such a brute compared to how delicate she looks and that he has to be careful with how he treats her. But appearances can be deceiving and Jaime has a core of steel that makes her the perfect match for Dom. I had so much fun reading about the tentative nature of how they got to know each other. Both of them have complicated pasts and there’s a reason for why they feel like they don’t have much to offer (even though they both think the world of the other person). Here’s a snippet that I particularly liked:

He didn’t talk, but a man who had Paris in the springtime didn’t need to talk. Better not. Better just to concentrate on the cool breeze off the river, stirring his shaggy black hair, the bridges that stretched away through the centuries, that fresh young green on the trees along the quays. Evening was falling later and later. The sun was only starting to set now, easy blurred shades of pink and gold and gray through low strips of clouds. The sky above them was blue, clear, but blurring toward gray. Half the world looked in love, couples strolling hand in hand along the Seine. At the edge of that sunset, in the west, far away along the river that simmered with pink and gold, the Eiffel Tower rose, gentled by the low haze.

Lovely writing right there. Laura Florand sure knows how to set a scene. And write mouth-watering descriptions of chocolates, caramels and pastries. Just thinking about them is making me hungry, I may have to hunt down some desserts tomorrow. Another aspect of the book that I really enjoyed is seeing how Dom and Jaime relate to their friends and family. It was nice to see characters from the earlier novels, especially the members of the Corey family. They’re just too funny. If you’re a contemporary romance reader and you’ve never read any of Laura Florand’s books, then you must give them a try as soon as you can. Highly recommended for fans of chocolates, Paris and romance. It goes without saying that I cannot wait for the next book in this wonderful series. To get a better idea of The Chocolate Touch’s setting, check out the author’s pictures of the real-life chocolatier who inspired the book.

Reading order of the Amour et Chocolat books:
All’s Fair in Love and Chocolate
The Chocolate Thief
The Chocolate Kiss
The Chocolate Rose

The Chocolate Touch ebook

Other reviews:
Angieville
See Michelle Read
A Girl, Books and Other Things
Smexy Books

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

13 thoughts on “The Chocolate Touch by Laura Florand

  1. Honestly, I just want to reread KISS and TOUCH back to back now.

  2. I definitely agree about the cover — oh, well, as you say, a quibble. Dom is my favorite of Florand’s male leads; how about you?

  3. I’m glad you liked it! After reading this one, though, I realized that Ms Florand’s style and me aren’t suit for each other. I can appreciate her skills but her style just drives me up the wall.

    • Aww Alex, sorry to hear that Laura Florand’s writing style doesn’t work for you. Like I keep saying in cases like this, we can’t always like the same books and it’s hard to predict which are the ones we’ll end up liking. 🙂 Glad you gave her books a try!

  4. I am a horrible person for not having read this series yet, even though I’ve got the books already! Again, it sounds absolutely awesome, and I just need to read it ASAP. Will make it my goal before I hit Singapore next week!

  5. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples V | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Europe 2014: Paris Update | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: Snapshot From a Book: The Chocolate Touch | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: Amour et Florand: How did you discover Laura’s books? | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Cover Reveal: All For You by Laura Florand | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

