Want Books: Pearl in the Sand

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

Pearl in the SandI can’t remember where I first heard about Pearl in the Sand by Tessa Afshar. I do remember being drawn by the cover and then hesitating after seeing the premise and finding out that it’s Christian fiction. I wasn’t interested in this historical fiction novel until fellow YAcker Sandy mentioned that it has a sweet romance and is not at all preachy in spite of its biblical background. She definitely made me curious about the book!

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Can a Canaanite harlot who has made her livelihood by looking desirable to men make a fitting wife for one of the leaders of Israel? Shockingly, the Bible’s answer is yes. Pearl in the Sand tells Rahab’s untold story. Rahab lives in a wall; her house is built into the defensive walls of the City of Jericho. Other walls surround her as well – walls of fear, rejection, and unworthiness. A woman with a wrecked past; a man of success, of faith… of pride. A marriage only God would conceive! Through the heartaches of a stormy relationship, Rahab and Salmone learn the true source of one another’s worth and find healing in God.

As always, let me know what you think if you’ve read this book or any other book written by this author since I haven’t tried her work. And please feel free to share what book is at the top of your own wishlist.

2 thoughts on “Want Books: Pearl in the Sand

    • If I get to read this before you do, I’ll let you know what I think. I’m glad I was able to bring this title to your attention, that’s one of the reasons why I do my Want Books posts. πŸ™‚

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

