WWW Wednesdays: September 11

WWW Wednesdays

WWW WEDNESDAYS… is a weekly event where you share (1) What you’re currently reading, (2) What you recently finished reading, and (3) What you think you’ll read next.

I’ve seen WWW Wednesdays around the blogosphere but this is the first time that I’m participating. You know when you feel like publishing a post on the blog but don’t have the energy to write a review? I think memes like WWW Wednesdays are a good idea for times like these.

Butterfly SwordsWhat you’re currently reading: I’m currently in the middle of Butterfly Swords by Jeannie Lin, a Chinese historical romance. I’m enjoying it so far and I find it interesting because this is the first time I’ve read an Asian historical romance.

Blue Sword

What you recently finished reading: I just finished rereading one of my favorite novels, The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley. It’s this month’s pick for our book club discussion. It was just as lovely as I remember it and I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of rereading it. I need more books like that in my life.

Eleanor and Park US

What you think you’ll read next: I haven’t read any contemporary novels, both adult and YA, in a while so I’m thinking I can read either Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell or Paper Chains by Nicola Moriarty next. Or any other contemporary book in my TBR pile.

What about the rest of you, care to answer the three questions above?

24 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays: September 11

  1. What I just finished reading: THE BLUE SWORD, because you and Heidi made me take it off the shelf. : )

    What I’m (re)reading now: YOU BE THE JUDGE by Cole — which is nonfiction, a book about breed type and structure.

    What I’m soon going to be reading: SOLVING THE MYSTERIES OF BREED TYPE, by Beauchamp, because it’s about time I got around to starting the revision I’ve been putting off, and that means nonfiction only for the next few weeks. : (

    What I would like to read soon: Have you read IT TAKES TWO TO TANGLE by Theresa Romain? Laura Florand recommended it and I just picked it up. I would like to read it soon! But I probably won’t until October sometime.

    • I finished The Blue Sword in one day! I stayed up late to read it even though I already KNEW what would happen. So I feel no guilt that Heidi and I convinced you to pick it up again. 😛

      Haha hope you’re enjoying those non-fiction books about breeding? I’m sure they’re very informative.

      I haven’t read It Takes Two to Tangle, I don’t think I even have it on my Goodreads wishlist. But I have gotten several recommendations from Laura – I should have mentioned that Butterfly Swords is one of her recs.

      • I do enjoy nonfiction but you have NO IDEA how much I long for a book with a PLOT after a month or so of deprivation. I think I knew that about the Butterfly Swords because I did pick it up, which I wouldn’t have without a recommendation.

        Yes, I really enjoyed The Blue Sword again!

      • I can’t even remember the last time I read a non-fiction book, I tend to get bored with them so I stick with fiction. I can’t just imagine how you crave for a fiction novel when you go so long without one.

  2. I haven’t heard of any of those books! I am currently reading The Mad Earls Bride by Loretta Chase, I just finished Deep Rising by N. R. Rhodes and not real sure what is up next..I have a lot of review books to get too so I am going to say what ever speaks to me at the time..lol.

    • Hope you’re enjoying your current read! I usually just go with whatever I feel like reading and I don’t pressure myself with review books (which isn’t that hard since I don’t have a lot of them). 😛

  3. I like this meme – just need to find the time to actually do it!

    Have you read the related McKinley? THE HERO & THE CROWN, I think?

    What I’ve finished reading: Sarah Rees Brennan’s UNTOLD – 2nd book in a trilogy, some seriously laugh-out-loud exchanges as you would expect from a SRB…

    What I’m reading: Kate Elliott’s THE CONQUERING SWORD (IIRC, couldn’t swear to the title) – many people appear to have a soft spot for her Jaran SFF books, I can see why (this is the third in the quartet and I’ve been reading them over the last couple of weeks)

    What I’m reading next: Umm… probably the final Jaran book, it’s a long one!

    Li

    • Yep, I’ve read all of Robin McKinley’s novels except for Dragonhaven and Deerskin. I don’t think I’ll enjoy the former and I’m saving the latter for when I’m in the mood for it.

      Oooh you’ve read Untold! I have that in my TBR pile. I’m not surprised that it had you laughing. I look forward to reading more about Kami and Jared.

      Hope you’re enjoying Kate Elliot’s series, you must be if you’ve been reading them over the last couple of weeks. It’s nice when you can have a series glom like that, right? I don’t think I’ve done that with an epic fantasy series recently.

    • Wait, Alexa, you’ve never read ANY of Robin McKinley’s books?! You must give them a try soon. Start with The Blue Sword or Beauty. 🙂 Those are two of my favorites.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

