Want Books: The Ghost Bride

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I keep visiting bookstores here even though I rarely end up buying anything because books are so expensive in Singapore. I just enjoy browsing and getting ideas on which titles look interesting – I can take note of them and then buy copies online later on. The Ghost Bride by Yangsze Choo caught my eye when I dropped by the bookstore earlier today because of its pretty cover and intriguing title. I read the summary at the back and was curious enough to add the book to my wishlist. I don’t get to read as many Asian titles as I’d like so it’s always a good thing whenever I find something appealing.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

The Ghost BrideLi Lan, the daughter of a respectable Chinese family in colonial Malaysia, hopes for a favorable marriage, but her father has lost his fortune, and she has few suitors. Instead, the wealthy Lim family urges her to become a “ghost bride” for their son, who has recently died under mysterious circumstances. Rarely practiced, a traditional ghost marriage is used to placate a restless spirit. Such a union would guarantee Li Lan a home for the rest of her days, but at what price?

Night after night, Li Lan is drawn into the shadowy parallel world of the Chinese afterlife, where she must uncover the Lim family’s darkest secrets — and the truth about her own family.

I’ve never heard of the tradition of ghost brides until I saw this book and I have a feeling it will be fascinating to read about it. While I’m not a big fan of ghost stories, I like that this book has a supernatural aspect instead of being a straight up historical fiction novel. As always, let me know if you’ve read this title because I’d like to hear your thoughts about it. Have you read any Asian books that you would strongly recommend? What book is at the top of your wishlist?

8 thoughts on “Want Books: The Ghost Bride

  1. There are so many great stories that could be told based on Asian culture(s). I think back to the Korean folktales my mom used to tell me as a kid and I’m like, How is this not a book or movie? However, since I was a kid, I’ve barely read any Asian titles. I do watch Korean dramas and movies though! Haha. This looks really interesting and the concept of “ghost bride” is so creepy.

    • Hey, come to think of it, I don’t think I’ve read a Korean-themed book. Are there any good ones that you can recommend? I’ll check them out. I used to watch Korean TV shows like Princess Hours, My Girl and Full House but I haven’t watched any new ones recently.

      I would like to read more Filipino fiction too but it’s also hard to find titles that I’m interested in. I mostly read Filipino chick lit since there aren’t that many Filipino YA novels. I’m hoping that will change though and that we’ll have a vibrant YA pool like Australia does.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

