September 2013 Releases

I don’t usually post releases per month but since there are several titles that I’m looking forward to in September, I wanted to talk about them here. All of these are books written by authors I’m familiar with, which is why I’m excited to read them.

Snow-KissedRitual MagicThe Dream ThievesWhere the Stars Still ShineShadows

September 1: Snow-Kissed by Laura Florand – I already have a galley of this but I haven’t read it yet so I wanted to include it in this list. Yay for a new Laura Florand novella!

Summary from Goodreads: After the utter destruction of her marriage and her happiness, Kai knew it was better to shut herself away from the world than to hurt and be hurt. Holed up in her mountain cabin, she planned to spend her Christmas alone. Until her not-quite-ex-husband shows up as the first flakes start to fall. Now should she send him back out into the cold? Or can she be brave enough to let this winter snow bind them back together?

September 3: Ritual Magic (World of the Lupi #10) by Eileen Wilks – You all know that I’ve been going through the World of the Lupi books the past few weeks. The tenth book has just been released! I’m still in the middle of the ninth book but I have a feeling I will be reading this one by the end of this week (or even earlier). Sigh, I don’t know what I’ll do when I have to wait another year for the next installment to be released.

Summary from Goodreads: On her 57th birthday, Lily’s mother suddenly loses all memory beyond the age of twelve. Lily knows her mother was attacked by something more than magic. More… and darker.

When Lily and Rule discover that others suffered the same, mysterious loss — at the same time on the same night—their investigation into the darkness begins. Joining them is someone Lily never thought she’d see again: Al Drummond, who once tried to destroy her. He also happens to be dead. But the mysterious attacks were caused by a power strong enough to affect matters beyond the world of the living.

With some victims losing years of memory and others their lives, Lily must discover what on earth — or beyond — connects them.

September 17: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater – I have seen nothing but praises in the blogosphere about the sequel of The Raven Boys. I look forward to reading about Blue and the boys again.

Summary from Goodreads: Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same. Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life. Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after…

September 24: Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller – I really enjoyed reading Something Like Normal last year and I can’t wait to read Trish Doller’s latest. I’ve seen the snippets that she’s posted on Tumblr and they’ve made me look forward to this release.

Summary from Goodreads: Stolen as a child from her large and loving family, and on the run with her mom for more than ten years, Callie has only the barest idea of what normal life might be like. She’s never had a home, never gone to school, and has gotten most of her meals from laundromat vending machines. Her dreams are haunted by memories she’d like to forget completely. But when Callie’s mom is finally arrested for kidnapping her, and Callie’s real dad whisks her back to what would have been her life, in a small town in Florida, Callie must find a way to leave the past behind. She must learn to be part of a family. And she must believe that love – even with someone who seems an improbable choice – is more than just a possibility.

September 27: Shadows by Robin McKinley – I’m a big fan of Robin McKinley’s writing and I’m so excited she has a new book this year (even if it’s not the sequel to Pegasus, which I’m still anxiously waiting for). This is bound to be a good one.

Summary from Goodreads: Maggie knows something’s off about Val, her mom’s new husband. Val is from Oldworld, where they still use magic, and he won’t have any tech in his office-shed behind the house. But—more importantly—what are the huge, horrible, jagged, jumpy shadows following him around? Magic is illegal in Newworld, which is all about science. The magic-carrying gene was disabled two generations ago, back when Maggie’s great-grandmother was a notable magician. But that was a long time ago.

Then Maggie meets Casimir, the most beautiful boy she has ever seen. He’s from Oldworld too—and he’s heard of Maggie’s stepfather, and has a guess about Val’s shadows. Maggie doesn’t want to know . . . until earth-shattering events force her to depend on Val and his shadows. And perhaps on her own heritage.

In this dangerously unstable world, neither science nor magic has the necessary answers, but a truce between them is impossible. And although the two are supposed to be incompatible, Maggie’s discovering the world will need both to survive.

I’m looking forward to reading these! What about you, are you excited for any September releases?

19 thoughts on “September 2013 Releases

    • Rachel, Where the Stars Still Shine is a standalone contemporary YA novel. I really enjoyed the realistic voice of the main character in Something Like Normal so I look forward to reading Trish Doller’s second novel.

      Yes, no point in sticking to a book budget in September when there are so many good titles out there. Ritual Magic is already waiting in my Kindle and I have the galley of Snow-Kissed in my laptop. Two down, three more to go. 🙂

  1. Ha – you’ll have to join the rest of us who have had to wait a year for the next Lupi book 😉 It’s been very nicely timed on your part, I have to say!

    That Trish Doller cover is very pretty – I’ve not read any of her novels but have heard her name mentioned very often, will have to check that one out.

    Li

    • Li, it’s going to be tough for me to wait for another year after I finish Ritual Magic! I wish we had an idea of how many books there will be in the series so we’ll know what to anticipate. Tempting Danger was published in 2004 so the series is almost 10 years old. I wonder how long it will keep going.

      Yep, Where the Stars Still Shine has a lovely cover. Trish Doller currently has one book out: Something Like Normal. Let me know when you get the chance to read either that or her sophomore novel.

  2. I downloaded Snow-Kissed on Sunday and hope to get to it this week! Where the Stars Still Shine is so good. It’s even better than Something Like Normal in my opinion, but also more gut wrenching. (For me anyways.)

    • Brandy, have you read Laura Florand’s Turning Up the Heat? I think it’s similar to Snow-Kissed in the sense that they both feature couples who are having marriage problems. Hey, you’ve read Where the Stars Still Shine! That’s good news that you think it’s even better than Something Like Normal. That makes me even more excited to read it.

      • I have Turning Up the Heat on my Nook too, but still haven’t read it. I was sort of swamped with MG/YA galleys for a few weeks that kept me busy. I’m pretty much done with those now so will be going on a binge soon.

      • Yay for contemporary romance binge reading! Hope you enjoy reading the titles waiting in your TBR pile. I look forward to hearing what you think of them.

  3. September is usually a big month for releases, isn’t it? I’m excited for most of those on your list as well as Untold by Sarah Rees Brennan and More Than This by Patrick Ness, which I am reading now.

    • I thought of adding Untold to my list but I looked it up and it seems like it’s already been released in the UK? I was surprised by that, maybe I should grab a UK edition so I could read it right away.

  4. Oh I am practically bouncing in my chair just thinking about The Dream Thieves and Shadows! I’m a little nervous about Shadows because it sounds kind of like Dragonhaven where there’s magic woven into the world we already know, and Dragonhaven didn’t work for me.

    • Oh I didn’t even read Dragonhaven, I got the feeling that I wouldn’t like it as much as her other novels. You’re right, Shadows is similar to Dragonhaven in the sense that it’s urban fantasy instead of epic fantasy. Sunshine was like that as well, right? I’m keeping my fingers crossed that Shadows will work for both of us!

  5. Hello! I noticed that you like crafting with washi tapes too! My friends and I made a magazine that promotes local creativity and imagination and it’s called Katha. You can get it for free, yay! Here’s the link from issuu: bit.ly/katha-issue01
    Feel free to share the love! Thanks and have a great night! 🙂

  6. I’m a little nervous about Shadows, but I hoooppppe it works. At one point, I thought it was set in the same world as Sunshine, which gives me hope because that is one of my favorite McKinley books. Snow-Kissed was harrowing, but beautifully written, of course.

    • You’ve read Snow-Kissed! Sigh, I really should bump it up. I’m planning to read a contemp after I’m done with the World of the Lupi so maybe I can squeeze that in. Although I want to reread The Chocolate Touch as well so I can finally write a review of it.

      I’m hoping Shadows will work for all of us. To be honest, I didn’t love Sunshine but I did enjoy reading it. My favorite Robin McKinleys are Beauty and The Blue Sword. 🙂

      • Oh, The Blue Sword is in my top five books ever of all time, so yeah. But I did like Sunshine a lot.

        And I hear you on the Chocolate Touch review! I adored that book, and I keep meaning to actually write about it. And all of Laura’s books, actually.

      • You haven’t reviewed any of Laura’s books? Maybe you can just do mini-reviews of the whole series, that would be easier to write that full-length reviews. I feel guilty because I got an advanced review copy of The Chocolate Touch but I still haven’t reviewed it!

  7. I really liked Where The Stars Still Shine! It’s a wonderful novel, and I still have warm fuzzy feelings for it even though I read it in July, before I left for the Philippines. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it just as much! And I’m reading The Dream Thieves right now, and Maggie’s writing is MAGICAL, as always.

    • Warm fuzzy feelings are good. I would want to have a similar experience when I get to read Where the Stars Still Shine. Ahhh The Dream Thieves! I’m not surprised that you’re loving it.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

