Chachic's Book Nook

Diving Into a Series

19 Comments

World of the Lupi

Some of the World of the Lupi books in the bookstore

It has been a little over two weeks since I started reading Tempting Danger, the first book in the World of the Lupi urban fantasy series by Eileen Wilks. I’m currently in the eighth book in the series, there is one more waiting to be read and then a new one will be published next week. I’ve been looking for another urban fantasy series to follow for a while now and I don’t know if I was just in the right mood when I started with the Lupi books but I’m just glad it worked out for me. I like diving into a series that can keep me occupied for a while – it’s nice to not have to worry about what to read next. Plus, I’ve made the decision to review the series as a whole instead of posting a review for each book (partly because most of my friends haven’t read the series so I’d like to avoid spoilers) so I can just keep reading. No need to pause to let one book sink in and write a review of it. Since this series has been going on for a few years, there are a lot of books in it and it feels good to NOT have to wait for sequels to be published. Although I will encounter that situation once I finish going through all the ones that are out now.

I can’t remember the last time I had a nice glom of a series like this. I did reread the earlier Kate Daniels novels fairly recently, in preparation for Magic Rises, but that was a reread instead of devouring a new-to-me series. One reason for this lack of series engagement is that I discovered most of the series that I currently follow back when only a couple of books were out (e.g. there were only two books in Laura Florand’s Amour et Chocolat series when I first started reading it). Another part is that I just haven’t been hooked by a series. There was a time when I would have to buy a complete set of a series before starting it but then it came to a point when I would only read the first two or three books and then give up. So I made the decision to give the first book a try and then just grab copies of the next books as I go long. This way, I also feel like I don’t have to make a commitment to finish a series once I start it. I just go with what I feel like reading. We can’t really predict how we’ll react to the books that we read, right? As much as I would have loved to be blown away by some of the series that I’ve tried, it just didn’t happen.

Since this World of the Lupi glom has been taking up a lot of my time (and I’ve also been giving up sleep for it), I thought it would be a good idea to start a conversation about it. What was your last good series consumption and when was it? What are some of your favorite series that you know you’ll follow until the last book has been published? What are some of the series that you tried but didn’t feel compelled enough to continue?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

19 thoughts on “Diving Into a Series

  1. Hi Chachic, I found you through Goodreads….I was following your conversation with my GR friend Estara about the World of the Lupi Series and thought I’d come check out your blog.

    Anyway, I love the World of the Lupi series. I need to take it up again, I have Blood challenge waiting in my TBR.
    You asked about other series – Ones I am totally committed to: Kate Daniels, Mercy Thompson (Patricia Briggs,) Liaden Universe ( I just re-read much of the early backstory in preparation for a new release) , Vorkosigan Saga, and the In-death series by j.d. robb.

    I reallyl loved Laurell K. Hamiliton’s Anita Blake series up until about book 9. Its heart breaking to have to give up on a series but after Danse Macabre I knew that was it for me. Another series I dropped was Christine Feehan’s Carpathians and, more recently, J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood.

    • Hi Laura, thanks for dropping by my blog! Hope you like what you’ve seen so far. 🙂

      So you haven’t read Blood Challenge and the books that come after that? I hope you get to read them soon! Blood Challenge is my favorite in the series so far. Her writing just keeps getting better so I have high hopes for the next installments.

      Kate Daniels is my favorite urban fantasy series so it’s good to know that you’re a fellow fan (see the blog’s header? I love that it reminds me of Kate and curran). I’ve read the first three books in the Mercy Thompson series and the first book in the Alpha & Omega series but I wasn’t invested enough to continue reading. I feel a little sad about that because so many other blog buddies love those series. I’ve only read Young Miles in the Vorkosigan Saga but I’m planning to read the ones about Cordelia eventually. This is the first time I’ve read of the In Death series, I should probably check it out.

      I’ve heard of fans who got frustrated with the latter Anita Blake books so they stopped reading the series. I guess maybe that’s why I never added that series in my wishlist.

    • Yay, the more threads connect us all, the more fun. Also, you really need to pick up the series again, agreed ^^.

      • I have the paperbacks sitting in my bedside table 🙂 I keep getting distracted. So many books catch my eye….I’m kind of like a toddler LOL.

  2. Pingback: Books for September | Me and My Books

  3. the In Death series is basically romantic suspense. Each book is a stand alone mystery but when you read the series the overall arc keeps developing some of the repeat characters.

    Its too bad that Mercy Thompson didn’t really grab you but that’s the way it goes.
    You might like the Jeaniene Frost series with Cat and Bones. I was lukewarm when I started it but came to really like it.

    As for Vorkosigan saga, I really liked the first two books with Cordelia (Cordelia’s Honor has Shards of Honor and Barrayar in it). They were good. Barrayer has Miles’ mom showing us how a kick ass heroine should do her job 🙂 I can’t pick a favorite but I loved The Warrior’s Apprentice for action and humor and A Civil Campaign for plain old fun!

    I have a lot of books that are part of a series on my GR shelf (http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/2906277-laura-kyahgirl?order=d&shelf=part-of-a-series&sort=rating )
    if you’re looking for ideas. For urban fantasy/PNR I loved the P.G. Hodgell books, the Elantra books by Michelle Sagara, Thea Harrison’s Dragon bound books.

    Nice talking to you 🙂

    • But the In Death series is about one couple? It doesn’t change its focus to a different couple in every book? I’m not really a big fan of romantic suspense but I’ve read and enjoyed books in that genre.

      Funny that you mentioned Jeaniene Frost’s series because I just talked about how I want to read the first book: https://chachic.wordpress.com/2013/08/31/want-books-halfway-to-the-grave/

      I heard that I’d be more invested in the Vorkosigan saga if I read the books about Cordelia. I actually have copies of all of the books in the series but they’re back home in Manila. Maybe I can grab Cordelia’s Honor the next time I go home.

      Oh I’ve heard of Thea Harrison’s Dragon Bound. I’m really interested in that one.

  4. I just read your Tempting Danger post on Retro Friday and had to get my own copy! So yay! I’ll be starting a new series 🙂 As far as series goes, I think you’ve read some of the same ones I have, but if you like YA, you might like the Iron King series by Julie Kagawa. I have also read the In Death series… if we’re talking about the same one, it is by JD Robb (Nora Roberts). I absolutely and always will LOVE LOVE LOVE Patricia Cornwell’s Kay Scarpetta series. This is not a romance series, this is based on a coroner who handles high profile cases and the books are deep in forensic science. They are SO GOOD. I suppose they’d be considered forensic crime fiction? You should try it. I also enjoyed reading Cassandra Clare’s Infernal Devices series.

    • You grabbed a copy of Tempting Danger because of my review? I really hope you enjoy it! Let me know what you think when you get the chance to read it. I read the first book in Julie Kagawa’s series but thought it was just okay, I didn’t read the rest. I read the whole Mortal Instruments trilogy and had the same lukewarm reaction to it. When it comes to YA urban fantasy, I’ve enjoyed books written by Sarah Rees Brennan, Maggie Stiefvater and Laini Taylor. This is the first time I’ve heard of the Kay Scarpetta series so I’ll look it up. 🙂

      • The Iron King series really was just okay for me, too. I enjoyed it, but it took me until book two to get into it at all. I have this insane urge to complete a series NO MATTER WHAT. Right now, I’m struggling through the Fallen series by Lauren Kate. I think it might just be a little bit too young for me. But I will finish it…if it takes me a two years. I haven’t read the Mortal Instruments series AT ALL, though I probably should read it before I go watch the movie. Because I haven’t read Mortal Instruments, I can’t compare it to the Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare, though I really did enjoy the Infernal Devices.

        The Kay Scarpetta series will probably be a favorite of mine forever. I do hope you look into it and let me know what you think 🙂 I started reading them back when I was in high school, so probably fourteen years ago…yikes! Am I that old already??? Time flies when your nose is in a book 🙂

      • I used to be like that, I wanted to finish a series once I’ve started reading. But then I just ended up frustrated with some of the series that I followed and I realized that life is too short to read books that I don’t like. There are way too many good books out there, waiting to be read. 🙂

        Tempting Danger was published in 2004 – I was still in college back then! It’s been running for YEARS. I’m kind of glad I discovered it late because I didn’t have to wait a year for each book to be published. Although that’s going to happen after I finish reading the latest installment (which was just released today).

  5. The way you’re devouring this series is amazing! It’s not what I usually read but I really ought to put it on my list!

    Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Boys was a great start to a series, IMO. I love it so much that I know I’ll be reading until the last book. And with Dream Thieves to be released next week, I’m definitely excited! The last one that I really took the time out to read from one book to the other was Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton series, but that was such a long time ago! I guess I’m usually this way with manga (Hana Yori Dango, Tenshi Nanka Ja Nai) and fantasy (Discworld, Rain Wilds).

    • Chris, you don’t usually read adult urban fantasy? Have you tried the Kate Daniels series? I would recommend that and the World of the Lupi series, of course. 🙂

      I enjoyed reading The Raven Boys but The Scorpio Races is still my favorite Maggie Stiefvater novel. Although I’ve heard so many good things about The Dream Thieves from the reviews that have been popping up in the blogosphere, everyone keeps saying that it’s so much better than the first book.

      Hey, you’re right, most epic fantasy novels are also part of a series. So I’ve done this kind of prolonged series reading when starting a new-to-me epic fantasy series as well. Although I can’t remember when was the last time I did that. The ones I’ve read this year have mostly been standalones.

  6. Gillian Bradshaw is probably the closest I’ve come to this recently–I read one of her books and then have two more checked out and had to stop myself from requesting ALL of them. Lovely, lovely historical fiction.

    • I have one of her books on my TBR pile (thanks to Rachel!) so I’ll try to read it soon. I think most of her books are out of print though? They’re not available in the library here.

      • Yes, I think they are, though some may be available as ebooks. I normally can get a lot of oop books through the library system, which is nice for me. 🙂

      • Oh hey, you’re right! Some of her titles are available as ebooks. Which ones are your favorites? I should look them up. You’re lucky that you can get out of print titles in your library, I’m jealous. 😛

  7. hey again, I came back to read the comments and realized you asked me a question about the In-Death series. First off, its written by J.D. Robb, Nora Roberts alter-ego, generally the quality of the writing is pretty good. There is one main couple, Eve Dallas, the main detective and her husband, but the stories usually revolve around her and her work crew. Her partner as well as various members of the police show up repeatedly. Her husband (uber gorgeous and rich Roarke) is always in the stories. They are the main couple but developments happen in the lives of the other repeat characters. I like that there is one mystery solved in each book, and the familiar faces are revisited. Its the only super long series that I haven’t gotten completely fed up with, although I do think its time the author ended it :-).

  8. Hmm, I’m currently in the middle of two guilty pleasure series – Black Dagger Brotherhood and The Lux. They’re not the best books in the world, but I’m enjoying them and I think that’s really all that matters for me at this point! I’m following quite a few series, so I won’t share them all here, but my favorites of the moment are The Raven Cycle, Something Strange and Deadly and the Throne of Glass series.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

