Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: Butterfly Swords

20 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I’m sure most of you have noticed that I’ve been reading quite a lot of contemporary romance lately. I just find it really easy to go through romance novels, I feel like they’re the type of books that can get me out of a reading slump (not that I’ve had one of those recently, thank goodness). What I need to try more is historical romance because I haven’t read a lot of those. Aside from Joanna Bourne, I don’t think I’ve talked about any other historical romance author here on the blog. I’m hoping that will change soon. Laura Florand, author of the Amour et Chocolat series, mentioned that she enjoyed reading Butterfly Swords by Jeannie Lin and I was immediately intrigued. Asian historical romance? I’m definitely up for that!

Butterfly SwordsHere’s the summary from Goodreads:

During China’s infamous Tang Dynasty, a time awash with luxury yet littered with deadly intrigues and fallen royalty, betrayed Princess Ai Li flees before her wedding. Miles from home, with only her delicate butterfly swords for defense, she enlists the reluctant protection of a blue-eyed warrior…

Battle-scarred, embittered Ryam has always held his own life at cheap value. Ai Li’s innocent trust in him and honorable, stubborn nature make him desperate to protect her – which means “not” seducing the first woman he has ever truly wanted…

I don’t really know much about China’s history but I have a feeling I’ll enjoy reading this one. How about you, what book is at the top of your wishlist? Who are your favorite historical romance authors?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

20 thoughts on “Want Books: Butterfly Swords

  1. Oooooh that sounds so good! I know that the Tang dynasty was China’s golden age for practically everything o.o

    Hmm, historical romance….I can only think of Lisa Kleypas, Elizabeth Hoyt (RAVEN PRINCE FTW) and more recently Deanna Raybourn. Oh! And Tessa Afshar wrote the lovely PEARL IN THE SAND, a biblical love story which isn’t preachy 🙂

    • I remember having an Asian history class back in college so China must have been covered then, I really can’t recall what was discussed though. When I find the time to read this, I can always just Google the Tang dynasty. 😛

      Lisa Kleypas has historicals? I think I’ve tried her contemps. Oh I’ve read Elizabeth Hoyt’s books but I never reviewed them on the blog. I’ve read and reviewed Deanna Raybourn (link: https://chachic.wordpress.com/2011/12/31/silent-in-the-grave-by-deanna-raybourn/) but I haven’t finished the whole series. I’ve seen Pearl in the Sand before but I was worried it would be too preachy for my tastes, thanks for the clarification. I’ll add it to my wishlist. 🙂

      • my memory of Chinese history is still kind of fresh since I only finished the class like a week ago, hah. I think I even have this little picture of how the fashion throughout the dynasties have changed o.o

        Yes she does! DEVIL IN WINTER=BEST HISTORICAL EVERRRR. >:D Did you like Hoyt’s books? I’ve only read the Prince trilogy but The Raven Prince was my favorite<3

        Gasp, Deanna Raybourn<333 she's a recent favorite 🙂 I was reading the second book in the series but dream thieves took me away xD and nope, Pearl in the Sand is not preachy at all! It does refer to religion obviously but the author never comes off as "this is how it's done." It's a sweet romance.

      • LOL I wouldn’t mind seeing pictures of how the fashion changed throughout the dynasties. Sigh, I wish I could recall more of my college classes. Maybe I’ll remember some of them if I ever got the chance to go through my notes.

        I did enjoy reading Hoyt’s books, I read the Prince trilogy as well. If I ever reread them, I’ll try and review them on the blog. But my copies are back home in Manila.

        The Dream Thieves! All you YAckers are raving about it. Okay, I’ll keep Pearl in the Sand in mind although I have no idea when I’ll get to read it. There are way too many books in the TBR pile.

  2. Chinese bodice ripper! Whoa. Made me head to Amazon to check out what else she’s written!

    One of my favorite historicals is Lauren Willig’s The Mischief of the Mistletoe, though it’s a low heat kind of book. 🙂 I also read a lot of Julia Quinn — does that count?

    • LOL I wouldn’t know if it’s a bodice ripper because I haven’t read the books. Let me know what you think of her writing if you get to read it before I do.

      Julia Quinn definitely counts as historical romance. I read some of her books before I started the blog and I remember enjoying them.

  3. A Chinese historical sounds like one to look up! Gillian Bradshaw writes historicals, almost always with a strong romantic component, though the romance is never the only thing going on. She’s hands-down my favorite historical author. Classical Greek and Rome, mostly.

  4. Asian historical romance? I want this book too.

  5. Wait. PAUSE. ASIAN HISTORICAL ROMANCE? I think I may need to read this one. I’d recommend Lisa Kleypas, Julie Garwood and Julia Quinn for starters, if you’re starting out with historical romance.

  6. Dear Author has a load of reviews about Jeannie Lin books. I’ve bought Buttefly Swords but haven’t gotten around to it yet.
    http://dearauthor.com/tag/tang-dynasty/

    • Thanks for the heads up, Estara! Let me know what you think of Butterfly Swords if you get to read it before I do (which is likely since I haven’t even purchased it yet :P)

  7. I think i just picked up a free novella by this author called CAPTURING THE SILKEN THIEF . I think it’s still free: http://www.amazon.com/Capturing-the-Silken-Thief-ebook/dp/B006VD5EI8/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1378253615&sr=1-1&keywords=capturing+the+silken+thief

    You should give this one a go to see if you like her stuff ( I haven’t read it yet either 🙂

    • Michelle! I have that on my Kindle as well. I grabbed it as soon as I found out it was free. 🙂 Haven’t had a chance to read it either. Looks pretty interesting though.

  8. Pingback: Want Books: Pearl in the Sand | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Late to the party LOL. I have this, and a few of her other books too. Problem is, as someone who’s watched a lot of Chinese historical dramas, I find the scenarios a bit too much like, well, Western regency/historical romances that were transplanted to a Chinese setting. There’s even one that practically screams George Bernard Shaw and Pygmalion.

    Bah. My standard for a good Chinese historical drama will always be Princess Returning Pearl (old-ish TV show from the 90s, though there was a remake a few years back). Xp

    • I’ve read this and I don’t think it feels like a Western romance transplanted to a Chinese setting – although the male MC is Caucasian. Sadly, I didn’t enjoy reading it as much as I expected. Let me know what you think when you get to read one of Jeannie Lin’s books.

      • I think it’s more the shorts she’s written for the “Harlequin:Undone!” imprint that feel more like regency romances in Asian setting. I’ve read a few of those. Oh, and My Fair Concubine is definitely My Fair Lady in China. :p

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

