Chachic's Book Nook

Blood Lines by Eileen Wilks

Leave a comment

Blood LinesBlood Lines is the third book in the World of the Lupi urban fantasy series by Eileen Wilks. The first two books are Tempting Danger and Mortal Danger. The series has to be read in order. It follows Lily Yu, a third generation Chinese immigrant in the States, working as a cop. The story in the books also revolves around Lily’s connection with Rule Turner, the heir of Nokolai, one of the dominant lupi clans in the world. I like reading about how they’re both changing and adapting to their lives. They’re both strong-willed and well-respected in their own circles and it’s fun to see both of them give way to the other person when the occasion calls for it. There’s also a strong need for both of them to protect each other, which is a difficult task considering the adventures that they get into. As I’ve mentioned in my reviews of the first two books, the series also highlights the complex relationships that both Lily and Rule have with their families. One of my favorite characters in the series is Lily’s grandmother, Li Lei Yu, and it’s such a delight to come across scenes that include her. In this installment, friends also play significant roles in the book’s plot. Cullen Seaborne and Cynna Weaver are as much a part of this story as Lily and Rule are. The former is Rule’s fellow lupus, who is a talented sorcerer while the latter is Lily’s co-worker who also has her own magical abilities. It may sound confusing to keep track of so many characters but keep in mind that this is already the third book and there has been enough time to introduce other characters and let readers get to know them.

I feel like the writing in the series keeps improving as I go along, which makes me look forward to the most recently published books. Eileen Wilks continues to build upon the world that she created, adding more layers to the setting that was initially introduced. There’s more information about the lupi as well as other magical beings in the world. Even though the characters are based in the United States, I like how the setting encompasses the rest of the world – e.g. not just the American lupi clans are represented in the books. Most of my downtime this past weekend was spent reading as much as I can of this series. I finished the first book before the weekend started and it’s Monday night and I’m currently in the middle of the fourth book. At this point, I feel like I’m just coming up for air so I can talk about the books. It’s challenging to keep these reviews spoiler-free (I haven’t mentioned details in the first two books that can be considered spoilers and I didn’t even include the synopsis for each) but I want more readers to give this series a try. I don’t know if I’m just in the right mood for a new urban fantasy series to follow but I find the World of the Lupi engaging. Maybe I can just write about the series as a whole after I finish reading all the novels that have been released. When I read a series as quickly as I’ve been doing with this one, the plots in each book start to blur together and it all becomes just one big story arc in my mind. Besides, I would rather dive straight into the next book rather than pause and gather my thoughts so I could write a review for the one that I just finished. It’s funny because when I finished the first book, I said there were too many books in the series. I have a feeling I’ll be able to finish all of them soon.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

