Chachic's Book Nook

Giveaway: Cover (Story) Girl by Chris Mariano

9 Comments

Cover Story Girl wallpaper

Last July 30, 2013, my friend Chris Mariano published Cover (Story) Girl, a contemporary Filipino romance written in English about what happens when an assistant museum curator meets a Korean tourist with a secret or two. The novella features Boracay Island and Aklan prominently. It also contains about 40,200 words, including a glossary for Tagalog and Aklanon terms mentioned in the story. It was published independently.

From the Amazon page:

1) She has amnesia.
2) She’s on the run from herfather’s creditors.
3) She’s enjoying herlast days on earth.

Ever since Jang Min Hee walked into Gio’ssmall museum,she’s given him one excuse after another about why she’s vacationing atscenic Boracay Island. Rarely has Gio’s neat and organized world been shaken like this. Soon he finds himselfscrambling overrocks, hiding in dressing rooms, and dragging her out of bars. But howcan Gio tell what’strue from what isn’t? Their worlds are getting unraveled – one story at a time.

About the Author:
Cover (Story) Girl is Chris Mariano’s first published romance work, but her speculative fiction and poetry have appeared in Fully Booked’s Philippine Graphic/Fiction Awards Prose Anthology, Philippine Speculative Fiction Volume 7, TAYO Literary Magazine, and Ideomancer. When she’s not writing,she supports Eskritoryo Pilipinas, an organization that encourages kids to appreciate Filipino literature and culture. Chris divides her time between Manila and Aklan. Boracay is a two-hour trip from their home in Kalibo. She’s also a fan of Korean telenovelas, which is why common K-drama plot devices are referenced in the story. She’s already working on her next novella, also set in Aklan.

Follow Chris through Twitter or her blog.

Download links for wallpapers, in case you want them:
1280 x 960
1440 x 900
1600 x 900

Now for the giveaway! Five lucky winners will get an ebook edition of Cover (Story) Girl just by leaving a comment with an answer to this question: who would you want to go on a beach vacation with? Giveaway ends on August 24, I’ll randomly pick the winners the next day. Open internationally to anyone who has a Smashwords account.

Giveaway is closed. Winners have been contacted.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

9 thoughts on “Giveaway: Cover (Story) Girl by Chris Mariano

  1. Hmm who would I want to go on a beach vacation with? That’s a toughy becuase I love the ocean but I don’t ike getting tan. If I were to go on this sort of vacation, I ‘d go on one with my kid brother. He LOVES the beach. he loves swimming and he doesn’t mind the sun at all!

    Yay for another give away 🙂 I knew you were going to give-away more stuff from local writers but I didn’t expect someone from my own province! This is so exciting. I’m a bit disappointed with myself because for not knowing who Chris Mariano is. I should definitely look into this now. Thanks, Chachic!

  2. For a trip to the beach, I can take some of my high school friends or my college friends but they’re a bit of a hassle and honestly, some of them are even bitchy so not them… I can take my sister but it would take years for her to make the plans and even longer for the plan to actually push through…
    So, my first choice would definitely be my teammates!Why, you say? Well, because…

    – they’re suckers for travel! I hate crowded beach and that would mean I go for an isolated beach, hence hard to reach beach. These guys, given the proper timing and scheduling (we do have work and other lives, you know) would not hesitate to go on a trip
    – they’re adventurous and not afraid to try anything new. If we’re going for an isolated beach, we might have to take a 12hour bus ride and a 2 hour boat ride out on the pacific ocean and camp out somewhere with no proper hotel and bathroom so they fit right in (actually done this with a couple of girls from this group)
    – they are not afraid to get burned under the sun and also would take loads amount of sunscreen with them
    – they can cook and grill things! Nuff said
    – they can take care of themselves
    – they like clean, wholesome fun

    Going to the beach with these guys would be a blast! And it’s not just going to the beach, they’re good pretty much anywhere specially where there’s food!! They are the best travel buddies I’ve had these past couple of years and I kinda miss being with all of them! I really hope we can all go together somewhere again soon. =)

    I’m excited!!I’ve taken book recommendations from you and you introduced Mina Esguerra’s books to me so I’m thrilled to hear a new local writer. Also, I’ve never entered a contest before so yey!!

  3. Oooh, Giveaway! It was from you that I won Mina Esguerra’s Fairy Tale Fail from, way back when. And Chrissie Peria’s All’s Fair in Blog and War was a fun read. I also have Love Your Frenemies lined-up this month. Sooo, hooray for local contemporary lit!

    Now, regarding your question, I am not generally an outdoorsy person. I am the indoorsy type. Hihi. But the beach, I can take, rather than say, the woods (e.g. camping). I am guessing I should pick a real person/s not fictional ones? Haha! I’d probably take my whole family: mom, sisters, aunts, uncles and my cousins because they are a hilarious weird bunch when put together. It would make for good entertainment. 🙂 Besides we never really had a “family trip”. It’s always been in pairs and trios, or with friends.

    Congratulations to Chris! And Thank you Chachic for this giveaway and for being a great supporter of local lit! 😀

  4. Hmm.. I would like to bring my best friend who is in New York now and working really hard there. It would be a good bonding for me and her, really catching up with things and have a nice relaxing beach vacation.. enjoying, sun, sand and the sea plus other goodies. It would be a good vacation for me and her. Finally a R and R.. it is good to see and talk with her everyday on skype but we know we need still a lot fo catching up and bonding to do too.

    Congratulations, Chris for the lovely book and thank you Chachic for this wonderful giveaway!

  5. My immediate thought was to go with my college orgmates, Roy, Kai, and Alvin. Roy – because he can cook, and he can carry our bags. Kai, because she is very handy with bringing toiletries, and she’s so organized, she’ll probably plan the trip. Alvin because, well, someone else has to drive.

  6. Hmm… Real person: My cousin. I know she wouldn’t hesitate to pee on me if I got stung by a jellyfish. Haha. This is a REAL concern!

    Fictional person: The Beast Lord? Jonah Griggs? Brigan?? I’ll take them allllllll! 🙂

  7. I’m definitely going to the beach with anyone from my barkada from high school 🙂 They’re my favorite bunch of people to go to the beach with because we’re all game for water adventure, or any kind for that matter. The beach would be another good place for us to bond in and spend some quality time with each other at 🙂

  8. Thank you everyone for joining and to you, Chachic, for hosting! I’ve sent the book as a Smashwords gift to the winners and hope that you all enjoy 🙂

  9. Pingback: Cover Reveal: Cover Story Girl by Chris Mariano | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

