Retro Friday: Tempting Danger by Eileen Wilks

Retro Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Angie over at Angieville and focuses on reviewing books from the past. This can be an old favorite, an under-the-radar book you think deserves more attention, something woefully out of print, etc.

I have been meaning to read more urban fantasy because I want to find a series to follow aside from Kate Daniels. I’ve read the first three Mercy Thompson books and the first two October Daye novels but felt no need to continue with both series. I know so many friends love those two series and it makes me a bit sad that I wasn’t able to connect with them like I wanted. I might change my mind later on and give those two a try again but for now, I’m interested in discovering new-to-me series. The World of Lupi books by Eileen Wilks come highly recommended by Estara, she says it’s a must read for urban fantasy fans. It’s funny because I started the first book and immediate thought that it feels like a mix of both Mercy Thompson (werewolf hierarchy, culture and history) and October Daye (both MCs are investigating murders and they have special skills that come in handy for the situation).

Tempting DangerHere’s the summary from Goodreads:

Lily Yu is a San Diego police detective investigating a series of grisly murders that appear to be the work of a werewolf. To hunt down the killer, she must infiltrate the clans. Only one man can help her – a were named Rule Turner, a prince of the lupi, whose charismatic presence disturbs Lily. Rule has his own reasons for helping the investigation – reasons he doesn’t want to share with Lily. Logic and honor demand she keep her distance, but the attraction between them is immediate and devastating-and beyond human reason. Now, in a race to fend off evil, Lily finds herself in uncharted territory, tested as never before, and at her back a man who she’s not sure she can trust.

Lily Yu is a third generation immigrant in the US and I think it’s awesome that this series has an Asian female protagonist. There are no lengthy introductions about the world at the start of the novel, readers are just thrown into it and we learn more details as we go along. I did find the pace a bit slow but first books tend to be like that, to serve as an introduction to the series. I felt like there was more speculation, more thinking on Lily’s part rather than action. It’s a minor quibble because I was still engaged and kept reading to find out more. I found myself curious about this world and how magic is structured in it. The lupi seem like they have a rich culture and history, that isn’t well-known to outsiders. I look forward to learning more about them. Of course, I was also interested in the attraction between Lily and Rule. I wanted to find out how both of them will react to this unexpected connection between them.

Both Lily and Rule are complicated people and we get to know them a little in this first installment. However, I feel like we’ve barely scratched the surface and there’s a lot of room for more character development and worldbuilding. I like how the story isn’t just focused on the two MCs, we also get to know their friends and family. Families are very important to both of them. I’m a fan of Lily’s traditionally Chinese grandma, would love to know more about her. While Tempting Danger can stand well on its own, I am curious enough about the characters and the world to continue with the rest of the series. There’s obviously more in store for Lily and Rule. I just find it a bit surprising that there are already nine books that have been released with more in the pipeline. I’m not sure if one couple’s story arc that takes that long will be able to hold my attention. I haven’t read the summaries for the latter books because I don’t want to see spoilers. I know there can be a lot that can happen by also focusing on secondary characters, all those friends and family that are significant in Lily and Rule’s lives. I guess we’ll just have to see how it goes. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that this series will work for me! I’ve already started the second book. I recommend Tempting Danger to urban fantasy fans, specifically the Mercy Thompson and October Daye series. I find it a bit surprising that Eileen Wilks isn’t more well-known.

28 thoughts on “Retro Friday: Tempting Danger by Eileen Wilks

  1. Too bad you didn’t fall for the Mercy Thompson series, but I’m with you on not really connecting to the October Daye series — hard to explain why one series sings for you and another just sits there, isn’t it? I personally think you should immediately read two more in this Lupoi series and let us know how you think it’s going! But I like the way that family is emphasized in this one — I’ll add it to my wishlist and pick it up one of these days.

    • I read up until the third book – that was when something traumatic happened to Mercy. I thought I’d step away from the series for a while to get over it and then I never felt the need to go back. I actually have the paperback of the fourth book. I feel bad because I see so many blogging friends rave about the series. Same with October Daye – I was waiting for it to grip me but it never did. Which is why I’m taking advantage of my interest level in the World of Lupi series while it’s still present – I bought the second book and I’ve started reading it. I think family is a big thing for Rule because of the pack while Lily has Chinese roots.

    • Considering how much I agree with the reviews you’ve posted on GR and on your site, I think you’d enjoy Lily and Rule’s world, too. Family is, to me, the distinguishing difference between this and other paranormal fantasy series. Friends are important, too, but family (and building family as it turns out) which you love sometimes and just have to deal with sometimes, that’s what grounds this series in reality and makes me believe that something like this could conceivably happen under those historical and magical circumstances.

      • Aww I’m touched that you agree with my reviews. Thanks again for recommending this. Like I said, I never would have found out about the series if you didn’t push me to read it.

        Yes, I really like how there’s a spotlight on family relationships in this series. I like the complex dynamics and I can relate to how closely-knit their families are. It would be interesting to see how Lily and Rule (and their relationship) would be affected by their families. Like you said, it’s difficult to find a balance in handling your family – you love them but they can also be very annoying.

      • Of the books we’ve both read, I do, Chachic ^^ – but actually I was talking to Rachel here ^^. I’m subscribing to her feed and it’s amazing how often we have similar impressions (just that I didn’t think to articulate them :P) about the books we’ve both read.

      • That’s where I miss LJ, you can really see who is replying to whom with ease. Of course in long discussions that means the reply boxes get progressively thinner and longer, heh. I like that you have nested replies at all, a lot of WordPress installations don’t bother.

  2. Pingback: Mortal Danger by Eileen Wilks | Chachic's Book Nook

  3. Pingback: Blood Lines by Eileen Wilks | Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Pingback: Diving Into a Series | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Shoot That Book: Ritual Magic | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Review: Tempting Danger by Eileen Wilks | Girl meets Books

  7. Hi Chachic. I read the feature you and Angie did on this book and was so interested in the summary of the book and the apparent enjoyment you experienced reading the book so I went ahead and gave it a try. It was amazing. I haven’t read the other PR series that you’ve mentioned but I do adore and worship Nalini Singh’s Psy-Changeling series and since I’ve finished all 12 books of that series so far, I was really looking for a new series that I would enjoy reading. And I may have found that in the World of the Lupi.

    I did my own review and would be really happy if you could drop by: Tempting Danger: A Review

    Thanks again and more power.

    • Hi Camille! I’m so glad both Angie and I managed to convince you to start the series! I tried reading the first few books of Nalini Singh’s Psy-Changeling series and I liked them but didn’t feel the need to read the rest. I also liked her Guild Hunter books but I think I only read the first two. I think it’s great that you loved Tempting Danger! You’ll probably enjoy the rest of the series. 🙂 I’ll check out your review in a bit.

      You should also give the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews a try because that’s my favorite urban fantasy series. That series is the reason why I want to read more urban fantasy.

  8. Pingback: Audio Review: Tempting Danger by Eileen Wilks | One Book Two

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

