Chachic's Book Nook

Top Ten Books Set in Make-Believe Worlds

18 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is top ten books in a setting of your choice. I had such a difficult time deciding what setting to choose for my own list. Some of the settings that I considered (and eventually dropped): the Philippines or even Asia in general, Australia, Europe. While trying to think of titles that I want to include, I finally decided to feature books set in places that I want to visit. I wanted to include contemporary novels set in countries that I’ve never been to but then fantasy titles started to take over my list. So here’s my final topic for this week: top ten books set in make-believe worlds that I would love to go to. You know how sometimes the setting of the book is described in such a vivid manner that it paints a bright picture in your mind? Like you dove into the book and you’re right there with the characters. Or sometimes the setting itself feels like a character because it’s so alive. I’m a fan of such settings. Here are some that I loved:

Trese graphic novel series by Budjette Tan and KaJo Baldisimo – The series is set in my home country but in a city that is filled with magical creatures from Filipino myths and legends. I think it’s usually classified as horror, because the MC battles with hostile beings on a daily basis, but I think of it more as urban fantasy.

Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews – Yeah, yeah, I know I keep mentioning this series but I can’t help it. A world that crashes back and forth between magic and technology is fascinating.

His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman – I like how there was our own world in this story and it was connected to an alternate universe. I don’t remember the details because I haven’t reread this in ages.

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman – Dragons! Enough said.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor – I’ve always wanted to go to Prague and hey if demons and angels happen to linger in that place then that’s just an added bonus.

Sevenwaters series by Juliet Marillier – I liked how the setting was such a significant aspect of the story and we witness how the characters love and respect their land, which gets passed on from one generation to another.

A Face Like Glass by Frances Hardinge – Caverna is such an intriguing place because of its people who all have to wear faces like they were clothes (instead of being able to express their emotions). And also because of its craftsmen who can create such exotic delicacies.

Graceling by Kristin Cashore – I think I mostly want to visit this world because I’d like to know what Grace I’d have and what color my eyes would be, assuming I’d be lucky (or unfortunate, depending on who’s talking) enough to have a Grace.

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater – Why wouldn’t I want to meet killer horses that eat humans? The setting in this book was so atmospheric, I just wanted to be in that place.

Samaria series by Sharon Shinn – I was taken aback at how much I liked the world of Samaria, where angels and humans co-existed. I was so curious about this world and I like how each book gave readers a better understanding of what it’s like.

I could keep going but let’s stick with these ten for now. What about you, what are your favorite settings in books? Did you participate in Top Ten Tuesday this week? I’d be interested in hearing what topic you chose.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Books Set in Make-Believe Worlds

  1. LOOOOOOOVVVVVEEEE Scorpio Races. Will have to check out some of those other worlds. Love this list.

  2. You have some interesting sounding books on this list I’ve never heard of. I’ll have to check them out. I love the Kate Daniels books, too. It wouldn’t be too much fun to love there, but it would be nice to visit.

  3. No Harry Potter? Haha :p Not the timeframe of the books though – maybe after Harry and Co. have saved the world. 🙂

    There are quite a bit of worlds that seem interesting, before you think about the conflicts and danger that you would always be in. I should check out some of these books!

    • I love so many fantasy settings that I forgot to include Harry Potter in this list! That’s another good one. 😛 Part of the fun is saving the world and it would be good to meet Harry, Ron and Hermione while they’re young.

      Hope you get to read some of these other titles, let me know what you think when you get to do so.

  4. I loved the His Dark Materials series. Good choice!

    My TTT.

  5. Daughter of Smoke and Bone and Sevenwaters could’ve been on some of my lists as well. I loved the setting of Scorpio Races, but I don’t know. Blood-thirsty wild horses? You could never go to the beach, and that would be frightening.

    I would love to read the Trese graphic novels sometime.

    • Glad you agree with some of my choices. I don’t know, it might be worth risking the killer horses if you have Sean Kendrick by your side. LOL. I just think it was lovely how the locals loved their land in spite of how difficult it is to live there.

      I believe some of the issues for the first Trese book are available in Amazon. Would love for you to check it out!

  6. Great list! I am such a fan of Kate Daniels. I have Magic Rises waiting for me at home!

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

