Chachic's Book Nook

Book Haul: Ebooks Galore

10 Comments

I haven’t done a book haul post in months, my last one was in June. I thought it would be a good idea to put up a blog update on books that I’ve acquired since then. I’ve noticed that I’ve gotten more ebooks than physical books recently but let’s start with two packages that I’ve received:

A Corner of White package

I won a giveaway that my friend Brandy hosted on her blog. I chose A Corner of White by Jaclyn Moriarty because I’m excited to read it. I’ve been hearing good things about this book and I like that it has a whimsical cover. I have the NetGalley edition of this but the formatting is a bit off so I would prefer reading the hardcover.

The Chocolate Touch package

I can’t get over how generous Laura Florand is, she was nice enough to send me a signed copy of The Chocolate Touch! It’s been weeks (or has it been months?) since I finished reading the galley of this and I still need to work on a review. Let me just say that I loved it – the Amour et Chocolat series really is one of my favorite discoveries this year.

Moving on to ebooks. I bought a couple of titles based on several recommendations:
Protecting Whats HisHis Risk to TakeOfficer Off LimitsConfidence Tricks
Protecting What’s His by Tessa Bailey
His Risk to Take by Tessa Bailey
Officer Off Limits by Tessa Bailey
Confidence Tricks by Tamara Morgan

Wowza, how smexy are those Tessa Bailey covers? Her Line of Duty series was recommended by both Mandi of Smexy Books and Mina V. Esguerra. I’ve read all three and I liked Officer Off Limits the best. I’m so behind on reviews so I’m not sure if I’ll ever get the chance to review these. Confidence Tricks was recommended by Laura Florand – the premise reminds me a little of Fate’s Edge.

These two titles were available for free on Amazon so I grabbed them as soon as I could:
Her Favorite TemptationThe Other Side of Us
Her Favorite Temptation by Sarah Mayberry
The Other Side of Us by Sarah Mayberry

Some galleys that I received for review / got approval on NetGalley for:
Snow-KissedWell-PlayedThe Corrupt ComteStay With MeWild ChildThe Heiress EffectLife in Outer SpaceMaking It Last
Snow-Kissed by Laura Florand
Well-Played by Katrina Ramos Atienza
The Corrupt Comte by Edie Harris
Stay With Me by Elyssa Patrick
Wild Child by Molly O’Keefe
The Heiress Effect by Courtney Milan
Life in Outer Space by Melissa Keil
Making It Last by Ruthie Knox

Last but not the least, even my current read is in ebook format:
The Distance Between Us
That’s a lot of ebooks! And most of them are romances. I think that says something about the kind of reading mood that I’ve been in. I do want to read more fantasy but it’s just that it’s so easy to get into contemporary romances. Anyway, Sunday is almost over in my part of the world. How was your weekend? What are the books that you’ve bought or received lately?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

10 thoughts on “Book Haul: Ebooks Galore

  1. So glad you picked up the Tessa Bailey books! I haven’t squeed that much about another author in so long.

  2. Wonderful list. I too go the COLORS OF MADELINE off Netgalley but haven’t been able to read it cause the formatting is so BAD.

    And I’m loving the signed CHOCOLATE TOUCH! (of course!) You should put your review up girl!

    I saw Laura’s recommendation of CONFIDENCE TRICKS too so you’ll have to let me know what you think of it, I was thinking of buying it too. Although did you get THE HEIRESS EFFECT off Netgalley??! I had no idea she posted her books up there! I’ll have to go check it out.

    Great list of books — you’re like me, too many shinys to resist!

    • Right? I have no idea why the formatting for A Corner of White was like that. I tried reading it as well but was too bothered by the formatting to continue.

      I’ll work on my Chocolate Touch review, I promise. Maybe i should reread it to refresh my memory. 😀

      Like I mentioned on Twitter, I got The Heiress Effect on NetGalley but I haven’t had a chance to read the book before that. Will definitely let you know when I get to read Confidence Tricks – looks promising, noh?

      I didn’t even realize I added so many ebooks to my pile until I started putting this list together!

  3. I’ve been in the mood to read a ton of romances as well, so I totally understand. I’ve found that I’m starting to fall in love with historical romances again, as it’s been ages since I’ve read one. I love getting addicted to a genre all over again!

    • I should read more historical romances, I’m more into contemps lately. I just find them so easy to read (although not as easy to review). I’ve always been a fan of romances in the books that I read.

  4. I kind of just want to bond with my Kindle lately because it feels like I read faster there than reading an actual book. But then I feel like I have too many print books that I need to make a dent with them. Then sometimes I end up getting the ebook version of the print book I’m reading just so I can still read it. Haha. Oh these choices.

    I also have Life in Outer Space and Well-Played. 😀 I’m really looking forward to Well-Played, because it’s another one of those local contemporary romances. Hee. Can’t wait for my classmates to release theirs (because mine’s taking too long to revise right now ^^; ).

    • Hahaha I know exactly what you mean. I worry about the same things – I’d read more on my Kindle and then realize that I have way too many print books. I’m starting to think that maybe I shouldn’t have tried too hard to bring as many books as I can when I moved here. It’s more convenient for me to read on my Kindle during my commute because it’s easier to balance holding a Kindle (trains are always packed so I never get a seat in the mornings) and the Kindle is smaller than physical books so it can fit in my purse.

      Me too, looking forward to Well-Played because it’s a Pinoy contemp romance. Hehe I was wondering when you will be publishing your romance class novella! I will be watching out for that.

  5. You’ve hauled a lot of books lately, even if they’re mainly ebooks. I find myself prefering ebooks this summer. I think they’re easier to hold (I’m so lazy!) and read at night and on the go for sure. But my print books are piling up, so I need to read some of those soon. I really wish the ebook came with the purchase of a print copy. Now THAT would be ideal. Excited to hear what you think of some of these, even if it’s not through a review.

    • Yep, I agree! It would be great if there was a package that let us get BOTH the print and ebook editions of books. That would make life a lot easier. I’d buy that all the time. It’s just so easy to read ebooks but the downside is, it’s much more fun to buy physical books.

      Which ones are you curious about?

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

