Chachic's Book Nook

Postcard Love: Singapore Philatelic Museum

5 Comments

Postcard Love Logo

We have a long weekend in Singapore now and I’m hoping that I will be able to work on some reviews. In the meantime, I thought it would be nice to put up a post about the Singapore Philatelic Museum, which I visited the weekend before last. I’ve been wanting to visit the place and didn’t get the chance to do so until my mom came here for a short vacation and said that she wanted to go to a museum. While I did have a small stamp collection when I was a child, I’m mostly interested in this museum because of its connection with postcards. If nothing else, I knew that the museum shop would probably have an interesting selection of postcards for sale.

Singapore Philatelic Museum

Singapore Philatelic Museum

What is a stamp?

Description of a stamp

SPM stamps

Various stamps

SPM mailboxes

Different mailboxes

SPM postcards

Description of postcards

SPM old postcard

An old school postcard

Like I predicted, there were some wonderful postcards in the museum shop and I had a hard time deciding which ones I should get. If you send a postcard from the museum, you just have to pay a certain fee and it gets this special Singapore Philatelic Museum stamp:

SPM stamp

I finally decided to grab these reprinted vintage postcards because I think they look cool. All of them are pictures taken in Singapore back in the day. I wish we had something similar to these back home in Manila.

SPM vintage postcards

It was a fun visit, my only complaint is that while they have a lot of old stamps for sale for collectors, they don’t have any philatelic stamps that can be readily used to send postcards. I’ve asked in several post offices and it seems like philatelic stamps in Singapore are only used for collections and they can only be bought in certain Singpost branches. This makes me a little sad since I used philatelic stamps in Manila whenever I sent postcards, I think those stamps added to the charm of sending snail mail.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

5 thoughts on “Postcard Love: Singapore Philatelic Museum

  1. Those postcards look absolutely amazing! I love collecting postcards, and the vintage-looking (or actual vintage) ones are my favorite kind. This museum seems like a fun place to visit!

    • Alexa, I know you have a fondness for postcards too. You should visit this place when you’re in Singapore in September! If you don’t manage to squeeze it into your itinerary, I’ll give you some of those vintage postcards. 🙂

  2. Hi Chachic! Where is the Singapore Philatelic Museum? I’m going to Singapore next month and I’m hoping to buy an SG postcard 🙂 The vintage postcards seem fantastic. How much were they? My hotel will be beside Funan mall, near the cathedral. 🙂

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

