Chachic's Book Nook

MT Masking Tape Expo Singapore

7 Comments

I know this isn’t book-related but since you guys don’t seem to mind whenever I put up random stuff here in the blog, I thought it would be a good idea to talk about MT Masking Tape Expo in Singapore. Besides, I’ve mentioned washi tape several times here and it looks like other people have enjoyed seeing my updates. I know I’m not the only book blogger or reader who has a washi tape collection. To those who don’t know what washi tape is, basically it’s masking tape printed with different designs, making it ideal for crafts. MT Masking Tape is a well-known washi tape brand and there is an ongoing expo (combination exhibit and pop-up store) here in Singapore. To be honest, I was pleasantly surprised to discover that there was such a thing as a washi tape expo. Friday was the opening day and I decided to drop by after work.

MT expo SG 1

A giant MT lantern and taped walls and floor

MT expo SG 2

MT expo SG 3

Cute paper lanterns

MT expo SG 4

I really, really wanted to get the limited edition animal MT design but it was out of stock. Sold out in just one morning.

MT expo SG 5

So many rolls to choose from!

MT expo SG 6

Scandinavian series

MT expo SG 7

Look at this dancing bear design, reminds me of the Queen’s Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner

I spent quite a while browsing through all the rolls, trying to decide what to get. It was similar to how I usually am inside a bookstore. I resisted the urge to get all the designs that I wanted and ended up with the following stash:

MT expo SG haul

I only grabbed 4 rolls

MT expo SG haul 2

And here are my MT collection as of the moment:

MT collection July 2013

MT tapes are so cute, aren’t they? If you’re in Singapore, you should drop by and check out the expo. If you aren’t, I hope you still enjoyed going through this post. Hope you’re all having a great weekend!

___________________________________________

Edited to add (July 30, 2013): The Singapore limited edition designs have been restocked! I dropped by again to grab some of them. Each person can only purchase 3 limited edition rolls. The three that I got are: a Singapore Zoo-inspired design, Peranakan tiles, stars and moon (based on the Singapore flag). The roll on the right-most is a free one that I got from playing with the gacha gacha machines.

MT SG limited edition washi tape

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

7 thoughts on “MT Masking Tape Expo Singapore

  1. It must be so hard to keep yourself from buying all those lovely designs! I hope a crafts store would pop up some place near 😛

    • Yes, I wanted to buy ALL THE WASHI TAPE rolls there! Sigh, if only I can afford to do so. I really like MT designs, it’s my favorite washi tape brand. I think it’s great that they have collaborations with artists and that they have country-themed limited edition designs whenever they have an expo. It would have been nice if prices were discounted during the expo but they probably thought there wasn’t a need for that since people kept buying anyway.

      You mean a craft store in Manila? I hope so too! Although I have no idea if it would be a big hit over there. More and more Filipinos are buying washi tape though.

  2. These masking tapes that you purchased are so cute! It seems pretty darn fitting that an expo with them should come to Singapore, as you’re probably one of the people I know who really loves these washi tapes. I think they’re really cute!

    • Alexa, I should take a picture of my whole collection and put it up here sometime. It’s a good thing I found out about the expo right before it started! Although I feel a bit embarrassed at how many rolls I ended up getting during the entire time the expo was held. You should grab some washi tape for the postcards that you send. 🙂

  3. Hi, do you know of a place in Singapore where I can still purchase some of those MT Singapore limited edition tapes? I know it’s been quite a while since the event 🙂

    Thanks

  4. Pingback: MT Masking Tape Store for SG50 | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

