Want Books: The Distance Between Us

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I’m sorry for the lack of posts this week, I was swamped with work and was just too tired to do on blog stuff whenever I got back to the flat. And today, I went out with my flatmates for a breakfast buffet and to watch the Phantom of the Opera. So you know, been busy in general. I have been reading good books though – I recently finished Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein (which Michelle and I read together for Novel Gossip), Vessel by Sarah Beth Durst (being discussed for YAckers) and And All the Stars by Andrea K. Höst. Aside from that, I have been getting some excellent recommendations from friends such as The Distance Between Us by Kasie West. I saw Nomes review it on her blog and I knew right away that I would want to read this. It helps that I like the romantic cover – the sun shining behind the girl, how they’re wearing matching red clothes, holding hands and whoa there, missy, you have your leg in between his. LOL.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

The Distance Between UsSeventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers studies the rich like her own personal science experiment, and after years of observation she’s pretty sure they’re only good for one thing—spending money on useless stuff, like the porcelain dolls in her mother’s shop.

So when Xander Spence walks into the store to pick up a doll for his grandmother, it only takes one glance for Caymen to figure out he’s oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and that he’s one of the first people who actually gets her, she’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. Because if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But Xander keeps coming around, despite her best efforts to scare him off. And much to her dismay, she’s beginning to enjoy his company.

She knows her mom can’t find out — she wouldn’t approve. She’d much rather Caymen hang out with the local rocker who hasn’t been raised by money. But just when Xander’s attention and loyalty are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn’t a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she’d ever realized. And that Xander’s not the only one she should’ve been worried about.

This looks like a good one! I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I’ll enjoy reading this as much as Nomes did. What about you, what book is at the top of your wishlist? Also, what book has kept you occupied the past few days?

6 thoughts on “Want Books: The Distance Between Us

    • It looks like such a fun read, right? I’m always in the mood for contemporary novels, no matter what time of the year it is. And you know how tropical countries are, it’s perpetually summer over here anyway. 😛

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

