Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: Medair

7 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I’m sure most of you have noticed that I’ve been posting more about contemporary novels than fantasy lately. Even my recent Want Books posts have all featured either YA or adult contemporary books. The last fantasy novel that I read was House of Shadows by Rachel Neumeier and I really need to work on a review for that because I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Looks like I haven’t reviewed a fantasy novel since A Face Like Glass last March! Well, that’s a bit sad. I’ve read a couple of fantasy titles for YAckers discussions, such as Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson and The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly, but I wasn’t able to review them on the blog.

While I do have a number of fantasy titles in my bookshelf and in my Kindle now, it wouldn’t hurt to add more to the pile. Funny that I mentioned Rachel Neumeier earlier because she highly recommends the Medair duology by Andrea K. Höst. I haven’t read anything by this author yet but I do have And All the Stars and Stray on my Kindle. I’ve been hearing good things about her books from other book bloggers as well.

MedairHere’s the summary from Goodreads:

Medair an Rynstar returned too late to drive back the Ibisian invasion. Centuries too late.

When friend and enemy have become the same thing, what use are the weapons Medair planned to use to protect her Empire? There is no magic, no artefact, no enchanted trinket which can undo the past.

But no matter how Medair wishes to hide from the consequences of her failure, there are those who will not allow her the luxury of denying the present. Her war is already lost, but she carries weapons which could change the course of new battles.

With the skirmishes of war beginning, and hunters in near pursuit, it is her conscience Medair cannot escape. Whose side should she be on? What is she really running from?

Looks pretty interesting to me. I’ve heard that once I’ve read one of Andrea K. Höst’s novels, I’d want to read the rest. I’ll do my best to read at least one of them this year! What about you, what book is at the top of your wishlist? Would you happen to have other fantasy recommendations that you think I’ll love?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

7 thoughts on “Want Books: Medair

  1. I’m not a huge fantasy reader but I’d suggest Kristin Cashore without reservation! 🙂

  2. I need to read more fantasy this summer, too. I look forward to hearing what you think of Andrea Host. Seems like I’ve seen her name around a lot.

    • Summer for you is until end of August? Good thing we’ve been reading fantasy novels for YAckers lately, otherwise I wouldn’t have been reading fantasy at all. I’ll let you know what I think of Andrea Host’s work when I get the chance to read them.

  3. Pingback: Retro Friday: Medair by Andrea K. Höst | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

