Chachic's Book Nook

Review and Giveaway: All’s Fair in Blog and War by Chrissie Peria

10 Comments

I heard about All’s Fair in Blog and War as soon as it came out. While I’ve never met Chrissie Peria in person, we share some common friends (she’s good friends with my flatmates as well as fellow Filipino book blogger Chris of Ficsation). Plus, she wrote her novella for Mina V. Esguerra’s romance class so Mina is another person who is actively promoting this title. I was planning to read All’s Fair in Blog and War sooner or later because I was curious about the premise and I think the cover is pretty cute. I just decided to bump it up the TBR pile because of all the recommendations floating around.

All's Fair in Blog and WarHere’s the summary from Goodreads:

Five Cuevas @fivetravels
Three guesses to where I’m going next. Starts with an M. Ends with a U. Has a lechon named after it. #travel

Travel blogger Five thinks she has hit the jackpot when the Macau Tourism Board invites her over for an all-expense-paid blogger tour in exchange for blogging about Macau. But while she happily signs up for the trip, she didn’t sign up to be travel buddies with the infuriating Jesse. Will her dream vacation turn into a nightmare junket? Or will falling in love be on the itinerary?

It’s always fun to read about bloggers even if they don’t blog about books. The last novella that I read that had a blogger main character was All’s Fair in Love and Chocolate by Laura Florand (funny that the two titles are so similar). I really enjoyed the blogging aspect of Five’s life because I could relate to it – how her blog shapes her vacation plans and how it’s more than just a hobby for her. That’s how I feel about my blog as well, a niche blog can take over your life like that. She’s a lot luckier than me though because look at how she won a contest to visit Macau to blog about it! Would love to have a similar huge blog-related experience. I was also interested in reading more about the tourist attractions in Macau because I’ve never been there. From what I heard from friends, I always thought there wouldn’t be a lot to do in Macau if you’re not into gambling but looks like I made the wrong assumption because Jesse and Five found more than enough things to occupy their time. As a foodie, I also enjoyed hearing details about what kind of dishes and snacks are available in Macau. This novella made me want to have an egg tart! Good thing they’re pretty common here in Singapore. One other thing that Five and I had in common was this:

I knew I was early, so I found a comfortable spot and pulled out a well-worn copy of Pride and Prejudice. I always revert to Austen when I’m in between books. P&P has always been my favorite, so it was the book I decided to pack for this trip.

That little snippet was while she was waiting at the airport. I always bring a book (or my Kindle) with me whenever I travel so I can’t even count the number of times I’ve read books in airports. And Pride and Prejudice is also my favorite Austen. *P&P high five* While I think that All’s Fair in Blog and War is a light and fun read, I also felt like it would have been better if it was a little longer. I’m not sure if word count was a factor that had to be considered for the romance class which produced this novella, but I would have liked to see more character development, more tension or kilig (swoon-worthy) moments between the two main characters. Other than that, I found this an enjoyable read. Recommended for contemporary romance readers who would like to try Filipino fiction. This is the kind of book that you can finish in one sitting, maybe while waiting to check in or board or even during a flight. For a more interactive experience, readers can follow the characters on Instagram: fivetravels, and Twitter: @5travels and @wanderingcamera.

Macau postcard from Anj

What a coincidence, I received a postcard from Macau today!

All right, giveaway time! Chrissie was generous enough to provide codes for free copies for the Smashwords edition of All’s Fair in Blog and War. To join the giveaway, leave a comment letting us know what country in Asia are you most interested in visiting? Aside from Macau, I’d love to go to Cambodia, Vietnam and South Korea. Giveaway ends July 19 and three winners will be chosen randomly. Open internationally to anyone who has a Smashwords account. Oy, if you don’t win, the book is only USD 0.99 so feel free to grab your own copy.

Giveaway has ended and winners have been notified.

Other reviews:
One More Page

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

10 thoughts on “Review and Giveaway: All’s Fair in Blog and War by Chrissie Peria

  1. China! because I want to see where my grandfather grew up. and Japan and South Korea, and Cambodia, and Vietnam. :)) Haha, I just want to see the world 😀

    *taking a break and missing traveling 😦 *

  2. I’ve always wanted to go to Bhutan and stay there for a week. Cambodia and Laos are also on my list 🙂

  3. This sounds like a fun read! I’ve never heard of Macau before *hides head in shame* and I don’t know enough about Asia to pick a ‘dream’ destination – I shall have to remedy this! P&P is a good in between book, but since I’ve started blogging I don’t seem to have need of one, I hear of so many awesome books these days that my read pile is almost too high.

  4. I’d like to go to Japan and leave the airport for once (dream would be to go with my best friend who is Japanese), and I would also like to go to Vietnam. And Bhutan (with my mom, who has looked into it a couple of years ago. She said they restrict the number of tourists per year and they must spend a certain amount per day! I wonder if those restrictions are still in place).

  5. Macau and Japan are part of my bucket list. My mom and I would also love to go to Singapore.

  6. easy choices. cambodia, south korea and vietnam.

    cambodia because i was supposed to go to siem reap with my friends this september but i failed to book a ticket during the seat sale. 😦 then blame korean dramas for my love of anything south korean. haha! and vietnam because i wanna explore the country and taste authentic vietnamese pho.

  7. I actually want to go to Singapore. I haven’t set foot there before. I really , really want to go! I want to go back to Indonesia and visit the provinces because the last time I was there, I was stuck in the city and had no place else to go but the malls. Also, Vietnam to try authentic pho, Thailand for some trekking and Japan! There’s so much to see in Japan 🙂

  8. Sounds fun. And that is really coincidental about the title similarities! I should say the Philippines, but I really want to go to Japan. Don’t hate me. 😛

  9. This book sounds super cute! I’ll have to check it out when I’m back in the market to buy books 😉

  10. Pingback: #ArmchairBEA 2014: Beyond the Borders / Recommending Filipino Fiction | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

