Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: Wildlife

4 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I really enjoyed reading Fiona Wood’s debut novel Six Impossible Things back in 2011. Her second book Wildlife has been released recently and I’m really curious about it. It has a blurb from one of my favorite authors, Melina Marchetta: “A beautifully crafted novel with achingly real characters that I couldn’t get out of my head.” I’ve also seen reviews from Aussie book bloggers – Nomes, Mandee and Reynje – and they all made me want to read the book more. There are times when Aussie books pop up in bookstores here in Singapore so I asked around for Wildlife when I dropped by two bookstores yesterday but unfortunately, it’s not available over here.

WildlifeHere’s the summary from Goodreads:

Boarding for a term in the wilderness, sixteen-year-old Sibylla expects the gruesome outdoor education program – but friendship complications, and love that goes wrong? They’re extra-curricula.

Enter Lou from Six Impossible Things – the reluctant new girl for this term in the great outdoors. Fragile behind an implacable mask, she is grieving a death that occurred almost a year ago. Despite herself, Lou becomes intrigued by the unfolding drama between her housemates Sibylla and Holly, and has to decide whether to end her self-imposed detachment and join the fray.

And as Sibylla confronts a tangle of betrayal, she needs to renegotiate everything she thought she knew about surviving in the wild.

I was thinking of giving in and trying Fishpond for the first time. I wanted to get Wildlife and Girl Defective by Simmone Howell but the latter is out of stock. I’ll probably wait for that to become available before ordering. How about you, what book is at the tip of your wishlist? Hope you’re all having a good weekend so far.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

4 thoughts on “Want Books: Wildlife

  1. This sounds pretty darn good! I’ve seen it on a couple of blogs, and been curious about it. I’ve got a good track record with Aussie YA and I think this would definitely appeal to me 🙂

    • Alexa, I’m not sure if you should read Six Impossible Things before reading this one – I think they’re loosely connected. I need to find my copy, someone borrowed it back home but I can’t remember who it was.

  2. I want this one as well, Chachic! I haven’t read Six Impossible Things, but this one appeals to me more (though I’d read that as well). I know that a character from Six Impossible Things is in Wildlife, but I don’t think you have to read them in a particular order. I could be wrong though!

    • Yeah, there’s one character from Six Impossible Things but I don’t think you have to read that before reading Wildlife. I remember Six Impossible Things had a younger YA vibe and Wildlife feels like it has an older feel, based on the reviews that I’m seeing.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

