Book Haul: Royal Mail and USPS Air Mail

In spite of the haze in Singapore reaching hazardous levels, I still had a great day because I received two packages today! I got the first one in the office, which is always a good thing as it brightens up my work day.

Royal Mail from EWein

Royal Mail package from Scotland

Wondering what’s inside?

Rose Under Fire UK signature

UK edition of Rose Under Fire, signed by EWein and includes a rose doodle

It’s the UK edition of Rose Under Fire, Elizabeth Wein’s latest novel! If you’ve been following my blog for some time, you’d know that I’m a HUGE fan of EWein’s writing. Code Name Verity was released last year and it soared to my list of favorite books in 2012. I’ve urged other readers to pick up the books in the Lion Hunter series because I think they’re amazing. I was beyond happy when EWein offered to send me a signed copy. Thank you so much for this, EWein! πŸ˜€

Mail is usually delivered on Tuesdays and Thursdays so I checked the mail slot for our flat and was pleasantly surprised to see a package waiting for me. My good friend Heidi of Bunbury in the Stacks recently asked for my address because she said she wanted to send me a postcard. Lo and behold, she sends signed books instead!

Air Mail from Heidi

It’s a surprise package from the US!

I really gasped and said “OMG!” when I saw what was inside Heidi’s package. SO thoughtful and generous of her to think of sending these books to me:

Package from Heidi

Rose Under Fire US edition

Signed ARC of the US edition of Rose Under Fire

The Winter Sea signed

Susanna Kearsley’s handwriting is lovely!

Thanks, Heidi, for sending me these! I remember we were chatting on Twitter about how we were curious about The Winter Sea and that it’s a good introduction to Susanna Kearsley’s writing. Looking forward to giving it a try. It doesn’t hurt that the book has such a good cover. And that’s TWO copies of Rose Under Fire! And Maggie is sending me a signed copy of Code Name Verity. I feel like such a spoiled EWein fan now.

Rose Under Fire UK and US

The UK and US editions, side by side. Aren’t they pretty?

I’m continually amazed at how kind authors and fellow bloggers are. It makes me so happy to be a part of this community. Seriously, Thursday is my favorite day this week because of these beautiful books. I can’t wait to read them.

23 thoughts on “Book Haul: Royal Mail and USPS Air Mail

    • Based on the feedback that I’ve been getting, it does look like Rose Under Fire is just as amazing as Code Name Verity. Although I’ve heard that they’re different. Will let you know if I get to read it first. Were you able to grab a copy at BEA?

    • I found it funny that both packages arrived on the same day too. And I was thinking that you knew that two copies of Rose Under Fire were on their way to me since you signed both. πŸ˜›

      • well, of course I was fooling myself into thinking that mine might arrive first! But I had promised you one and I wasn’t going to go back on that just because you were also going to get the American ARC!

      • Thank you for still sending me the UK edition even though you knew I’d be getting the US ARC! I’m thrilled to have copies of both. One can never have enough copies of a favorite author’s books.

  1. I love that you got copies from both me and EW on the same day! I love that she’s always having people in her lines getting books signed for you. I figured if I was going to send you one book, I may as well send two since I was going to see Susanna Kearsley anyway! πŸ™‚

    I really hope you enjoy, excited to read all of these myself. Here’s hoping the haze dies down…

    • I know, I was so surprised that two packages came for me that day and that they contained the same title! I’m so excited to read both the books that you sent. You probably got a signed copy of The Winter Sea for yourself, right? πŸ˜€ Did you get any other titles? Thanks again for sending me books, Heidi. I rarely get signed copies over here so it feels like such a treat whenever I receive them. πŸ˜€

    • I really didn’t expect to get two signed copies. It was so funny that they arrived on the same day. YAY, thanks again for both CNV and Magic Rises. So excited to get those. πŸ˜€

  2. Pingback: Book Haul: Ebooks Galore | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

