Top Ten Books At The Top Of My Summer TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday2

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is about books at the top of my TBR pile for this summer. Singapore, like the Philippines, only has two seasons: hot and hotter. Just kidding! Regardless of the season or my location, I thought it would be fun to participate in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday to help me prioritize the books in my TBR pile.

Eleanor and Park USI'll Be ThereSugar RushNowhere But HomePaper Chains

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell – I’ve been planning to read this ever since I finished Attachments. I should read it before Fangirl comes out.

I’ll Be There by Holly Goldberg Sloan – I’ve had my copy of this book for a while now and I’ve heard nothing but good things about it so I should really bump it up.

Sugar Rush by Donna Kauffman – A contemporary romance with a main protagonist who has a cupcake store – of course I’d want to read this sooner rather than later! Cupcakes are ♥.

Nowhere But Home by Liza Palmer – Seeing Me Naked was a really good read for me and I think I need more of Liza Palmer in my life.

Paper Chains by Nicola Moriarty – Yes to more Aussie literature!

For Darkness Shows the StarsMonstrous BeautyThe Beacon at AlexandriaMadam Will You TalkRose Under Fire - UK

For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund – I still haven’t read anything written by Diana Peterfreund. I should remedy that situation. Or maybe I can start with Secret Society Girl?

Monstrous Beauty by Elizabeth Fama – My copy has been patiently waiting for the past few months, I should give it some attention. I think this will be a good choice when I’m in the mood for some fantasy.

The Beacon at Alexandria – Really curious about this historical fiction title since it comes highly recommended by Rachel Neumeier.

Madam, Will You Talk? by Mary Stewart – I still have a couple of unread Mary Stewart novels in my TBR pile but this is a priority since we’re planning to read it for Novel Gossip.

Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein – The UK edition is out! Another title that we’re planning to read for Novel Gossip because it would be good to have moral support while reading this.

There are five contemporary titles in my list, two fantasy novels and three historical fiction ones. Let’s see if I can stick to my plan of reading all of these in the coming months. What about you, what books are you planning to read soon? What are the books at the top of your TBR pile?

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Books At The Top Of My Summer TBR List

    • Found out about the Cupcake Club books from Laura Florand. Sugar Rush looks interesting, I’m definitely going to try and read it soon. Will let you know how it goes, maybe you can bump it up if it’s good.

    • I know, I keep hearing that it’s a bittersweet story. I hope I get to read it soon. I like how Rainbow Rowell’s books are so different from each other.

  1. wow, thanks! kind of cool to see Mary Stewart on that list – I’m so delighted to find newly discovered Mary Stewart fans. (I know, you discovered her a while ago, but it still seems recently to me and she isn’t getting any younger… 97 now I think!). Also Elizabeth Fama, whom I’m hoping to meet next week!

    • I’m a new Mary Stewart fan considering how long she’s been writing. πŸ˜› I’m really curious about her Arthurian novels, I should find a way to get those. I remember looking them up in Book Depository and I just put off buying them because I was waiting for a sale. Would it be okay if I try just one book first or would it be better if I get them all together?

      • Her Arthurian ones have their own internal integrity, being written in the days before cliffhangers in a series became a trendy thing. Unfortunately the series deteriorates (IMHO!) toward the end.. Start with The Crystal Cave and then read The Hollow Hills. I loved them when I first read them.

      • Okay, good to know that the books can stand on their own. Maybe I’ll get just The Crystal Cave and see if I end up liking it. It’s sad that the series deteriorates though, it would have been nice if it was consistently good.

  2. I also want to read Eleanor & Park! And thanks for introducing me to Sugar Rush. Cupcakes really are love.

    • Have you read Attachments? It’s an adult novel, not YA like Eleanor and Park. I really enjoyed reading it. Planning to read Sugar Rush soon – hopefully, I can review it when I’m done.

    • It’s a retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion, right? I really should bump it up because I don’t think I’ve read a negative review of it. It would be a good introduction to Diana Peterfreund’s writing.

  3. Ooh, this is a great list! I’d love to make one but I don’t want to put any pressure on myself – I’m such a wuss! I can’t wait to hear what you think of Eleanor and Park and I’ll Be There.

    • Holly, I don’t want to pressure myself either. This will serve mostly as a guide to what I can prioritize, I’ll probably look at it when I can’t decide what to read next. I’ve had my copy of I’ll Be There for a while no! I really should bump it up. And who knows, Eleanor and Park may be chosen as the next YAckers read.

  4. I’m in a better (nostalgic) place to read Eleanor and Park now so I’m finally putting it on my TBR. And like you, I want to read it before Fangirl haha. Love the other recs, especially I’ll Be There, Sugar Rush, and Nowhere But Home. I might have to add The Chocolate Touch to that, too!

    • I haven’t been in the mood to read Eleanor and Park recently so I keep putting it off even though I really enjoyed Attachments. But Fangirl will be released soon so I think it’s a good idea to give Rainbow Rowell’s YA a try. I’m glad you like some of the titles in my list, hope you get to read them too.

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Books On My Fall 2013 TBR List | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

